Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

WD Trade and Investment Activities

WD collaborates with federal, provincial and industry partners to assist small and medium-sized enterprises prepare for and participate in international business, improve trade corridors of importance to Western Canada, as well as enhance the capacity of the region to attract and retain Foreign Direct Investment (FDI). The department works with not-for-profit organizations to achieve its Trade and Investment objectives. Types of Trade and Investment initiatives supported by WD include: Grant and Contribution (G&C) projects, North American Platform Program (NAPP), Procurement and Industrial Regional Benefits initiatives, Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridor initiatives and Trade and Investment Research and Advocacy. These initiatives are described in more detail in the following paragraphs:

G&C Projects – Transfer payments are made in support of projects undertaken within the two Program Activity Architecture (PAA) sub-activities of Market and Trade Development and FDI under the authority of the Western Diversification Program (WDP). Sixty projects in the department's database were coded as Market and Trade Development and three projects were coded as FDI.

The department's role in FDI has generally been more selective given the role played by the provinces and regional and municipal economic development organizations in attracting FDI to their area. The department, however, has provided funding to provincial, municipal and industry organizations to carry out investment missions, including hosting foreign delegations visiting Western Canada as well as participating in investment missions abroad. While only a few of the department's G&C projects have been coded to FDI, many of the projects coded to Market and Trade Development also had a strong FDI component to them.

The following table represents investments in these 63 projects from the 2007–08 to 2011–12 fiscal years.

Grants and Contributions Projects 2007–08 to 2011–12
WDP Initiatives Number of Projects Approved
WD Assistance
Total Funding WD %
Conference Support Payments 2 $33,283 $657,774 5%
Western Economic Partnership Agreements (WEPA) Round III (2008–12) 16 $11,532,671 $42,883,021 27%
Western Diversification Program 41 $26,685,504 $49,968,439 53%
WEPA Round II (2003–08) 4 $1,185,382 $1,936,776 61%
Grand Total 63 $39,436,840 $95,446,010 41%

Source: WD Project Gateway Database

Some examples of the types of activities funded include:

  • Global market engagement activities, including international business advisory services, international marketing strategies and promotional activities, trade shows, as well as trade and investment missions (e.g., supporting BC’s Four Host First Nations mission to Beijing, (WD support of $59,000 in 2008–09);
     
  • Efforts to increase FDI into Western Canada, such as developing a program to attract and engage foreign investment during the 2010 Olympics (WD support of $805,000 in 2009–10); and
     
  • International science and technology partnership activities, such as supporting an advanced malting and brewing laboratory and testing centre in Manitoba (WD support of $279,000 in 2009–10).

The following figure shows the number and amount of funding approved for G&C projects in the area of Trade and Investment by region and year. WD's support for Trade and Investment peaked in 2009–10, largely as a result of the 2010 Olympics, as well as support for several large WEPA projects.

Text Description, Figure 1: Trade and Investment (G&C) Project Approvals

This figure shows the total number and value of Trade and Investment (G&C) project approvals. The figure also shows the regional breakdown amount in dollars.

North American Platform Program (NAPP) – Since 2003, the department has participated in two federal partnership programs to enhance Canada's relationship with the United States and Mexico and promote increased Trade and Investment with these countries. From 2003–08, the department contributed $5 million to the United States Enhanced Representation Initiative (ERI) and implemented 75 international business development projects (totaling $1 million) to support western Canadian companies pursuing opportunities in the United States. These successes led WD in 2008 to contribute another $3.75 million over five years (until 2013) to ERI's successor, the North American Platform Program (NAPP). NAPP builds on the results from ERI and provided a coordinated federal approach to advancing Canada's advocacy, trade and investment and science and technology interests with the United States and Mexico. A 2012 evaluation of NAPP conducted by DFATD found that the NAPP partnership facilitated the participation of thousands of Canadian businesses, industry and government representatives from across the country in activities and events that show-cased Canadian capacity. In addition, the NAPP partnership contributed to an increased awareness of Canadian interests and capacities and the training offered under NAPP to partners was highly valued and appears to have contributed to enhanced staff capacity and performance.

Procurement and Industrial and Regional Benefits (IRB) – The department plays an important role in supporting western Canadian firms to access Government of Canada IRB opportunities, particularly in the aerospace and defence sectors through its Advocacy sub-program activity. Departmental-supported initiatives under this priority have included trade shows, trade missions and market/product development projects. The Government of Canada's IRB Policy is part of the government's overall procurement process for major defence and security purchases and supports long-term industrial development across Canada by leveraging opportunities for small and medium-sized enterprises related to new major investments in military equipment. An evaluation of the department's advocacy function is scheduled for 2015–16 and will cover IRBs in more detail. The current evaluation focussed on IRB-related G&C projects that are linked to Trade and Investment and encourage western Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises to access the global supply chains of major international aerospace and defence companies.

Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridors Initiative – The department has supported Western Canada's gateway and corridors – notably, the Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridor Initiative (APGCI) and the Mid-Continent Trade and Transportation Corridor – to improve the region's ability to participate in global value chains by facilitating the shipment of goods to and from Western Canada to Asia Pacific and the United States and Mexico. The APGCI is a horizontal federal initiative that encompasses strategic investments and related policy measures to create a world-class transportation network that facilitates shipments between Canada and Asia Pacific, while the Mid-Continent Trade and Transportation Corridor links Western Canada through a connecting road and rail system to the American Midwest, Southwest and Mexico. The department has participated in several APGCI and related federal committees to advocate for Western Canada’s interests, including the Interdepartmental ADM Gateways and Corridors Committee and the Interdepartmental APGCI Steering Committee.

Through the APGCI, WD received $4.4 million to carry out two major initiatives: a) $4 million in 2006–08 to support the Fraser River Port Authority to dredge the Fraser River to maintain a competitive shipping channel; and b) $400,000 to carry out research initiatives to consult with western stakeholders about the economic potential and opportunities of the APGCI. Examples of the research initiatives include the following:

  • North Asian Posts’ Study Tour of western Canadian science and technology capabilities;
     
  • Western Canada’s Gateway Economy – the Asia-Pacific Foundation of Canada undertook a scan of successful international gateways and developed case studies to identify features that make them successful;
     
  • Assessment of community economic needs – Saskatchewan and Manitoba organized stakeholder engagement sessions to identify gaps/needs to support communities to do business in Asia;
     
  • China International Fair for Investment and Trade – WD developed promotional materials to encourage foreign investment into Western Canada; and
     
  • Leading the Way – WD undertook case studies of successful Canadian companies in Asia to encourage other Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises to pursue opportunities in Asia.

Research and Advocacy – To provide further understanding around Western Canada’s participation in international markets, the department provides support to pan-western, multi-regional and regional Trade and Investment research initiatives. This activity also contributes to the department’s program activity (and related outcomes) in Policy, Advocacy and Coordination. Recent reports have examined North America’s trade and global value chains; trends in foreign direct investment in Canada; barriers to trade across the United States border; and ways to support Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises to pursue international markets. Additionally, in 2006, the department developed an investment marketing tool, “Western Canada: Where the Spirit of Innovation Finds a World of Opportunity” to attract foreign investment to Western Canada.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Activités de deo liées au commerce et à l'investissement

DEO collabore avec des partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et sectoriels afin d'aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à se préparer au commerce international et à y prendre part, d'améliorer les corridors commerciaux importants pour l'Ouest du Canada et de renforcer les capacités de la région à attirer des investissements étrangers directs (IED). Le Ministère travaille avec des organismes sans but lucratif afin d'atteindre ses objectifs en matière de commerce et d'investissement. Parmi les initiatives liées au commerce et à l'investissement financées par DEO, mentionnons les projets de subventions et contributions (S et C), le Programme de la plateforme nord américaine (PPNA), les approvisionnements et les Retombées industrielles et régionales (RIR), l'Initiative de la Porte et du Corridor de l'Asie Pacifique, ainsi que les activités de recherche et de représentation en matière de commerce et d'investissement. Ces initiatives sont décrites ci dessous :

Projets de S et C – Des paiements de transfert sont versés pour soutenir les projets entrepris dans le cadre des deux sous activités de l'Architecture des activités de programme (AAP), soit Développement des marchés et du commerce et Investissements étrangers directs, relevant du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest (PDEO). En tout, 60 projets découlaient de la sous-activité Développement des marchés et du commerce et 3 découlaient de la sous-activité Investissements étrangers directs.

Le rôle du Ministère en matière d'IED s'est révélé plus sélectif, compte tenu de la contribution importante des organisations de développement économique provinciales, régionales et municipales pour attirer les IED dans leur région. Cependant, le Ministère a versé une aide financière à des organisations provinciales, municipales et sectorielles afin d'organiser des missions d'investissements comprenant l'accueil de délégations étrangères dans l'Ouest du Canada et la participation à des missions à l'étranger. Même si seulement quelques projets de S et C relevaient de la sous activité Investissements étrangers directs, bon nombre des projets lancés dans le cadre de la sous activité Développement des marchés et du commerce comprenaient une solide composante d'IED.

Le tableau suivant présente les investissements réalisés dans ces 63 projets de 2007–2008 à 2011–2012.

Projets de subventions et contributions 2007–2008 à 2011–2012
Initiatives du PDEO Nbre de projets Financement approuvé par DEO Financement total Pour centage de DEO
Soutien aux conférences 2 33 283 $ 657 774 $ 5 %
Ententes de partenariat pour le développement économique de l'Ouest (EPDEO) ronde III (2008 2012) 16 11 532 671 $ 42 883 021 $ 27 %
Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest 41 26 685 504 $ $49 968 439 $ 53 %
EPDEO ronde II (2003 2008) 4 1 185 382 $ 1 936 776 $ 61 %
Total 63 39 436 840 $ 95 446 010 $ 41 %

Source : Base de données du Portail de projets de DEO

Voici quelques exemples des types d'activités :

  • Les activités de mobilisation relatives aux marchés mondiaux, comprenant les services de consultation sur le commerce international, les stratégies de marketing internationales et les activités de représentation, les salons professionnels, ainsi que les missions de commerce et d’investissement (p. ex. soutien à la mission des quatre Premières Nations hôtes de la C.–B. à Beijing – financement de DEO de 59 000 $ en 2008–2009);
     
  • Les activités visant à accroître les IED dans l’Ouest du Canada, comme l’élaboration d’un programme dont le but était d’attirer des investissements étrangers lors des Jeux olympiques de 2010 (financement de DEO de 805 000 $ en 2009–2010);
     
  • Les activités entourant la formation de partenariats technologiques et scientifiques internationaux, comme le soutien à un laboratoire de maltage et de brassage et d’un centre d’essais au Manitoba (financement de DEO de 279 000 $ en 2009–2010).

Les chiffres suivants indiquent le nombre de projets de S et C approuvés et la valeur du financement consenti dans le domaine du commerce et de l'investissement, par région et par année. Le soutien de DEO au commerce et à l'investissement a connu un sommet en 2009 2010, en grande partie attribuable aux Jeux olympiques de 2010 et à plusieurs grands projets du PDEO.

Version textuelle, Figure 1 : Approbations des projets liés au commerce et à l’investissement (S et C)

Dans ce tableau figurent le nombre et la valeur des approbations des projets liés au commerce et à l’investissement (S et C); y figure également la ventilation par région (montant en dollars).

Programme de la plateforme nord-américaine (PPNA) - Depuis 2003, DEO a participé à deux programmes de partenariat fédéraux visant à tisser des liens entre le Canada et les États–Unis et à promouvoir le commerce et l’investissement entre les deux pays. Entre 2003 et 2008, DEO a versé 5 millions de dollars pour l’Initiative de représentation accrue (IRA) des États-Unis et a lancé 75 projets de développement du commerce international (totalisant 1 million de dollars) afin d’aider les entreprises de l’Ouest du Canada à exploiter des débouchés sur le marché américain. Ces succès ont incité DEO, en 2008, à investir encore 3,75 millions de dollars sur cinq ans (jusqu’en 2013) dans le programme succédant à l’IRA, le Programme de la plateforme nord–américaine (PPNA). Le PPNA repose sur les résultats de l’IRA et propose une approche fédérale coordonnée pour faire progresser les intérêts canadiens en matière de représentation, de commerce et d’investissement et de sciences et de technologies aux États–Unis et au Mexique. Une évaluation du PPNA de 2012 menée par le MAECD a révélé que les partenariats du PPNA ont favorisé la participation de milliers d’entreprises, d’industries et de représentants du gouvernement canadien, de tout le pays, à des activités et des événements mettant en valeur les forces du Canada. En outre, les partenariats du PPNA ont contribué à mieux faire connaître les intérêts et les capacités du Canada. La formation offerte aux partenaires dans le cadre du PPNA a été très appréciée et semble avoir permis aux employés de renforcer leurs capacités et d’améliorer leur rendement.

Approvisionnements et Retombées industrielles régionales (RIR) - Le Ministère joue un rôle important pour aider les entreprises de l’Ouest du Canada à accéder au marché des RIR du gouvernement du Canada, plus particulièrement dans les secteurs de l’aérospatiale et de la défense, par le truchement de son activité de programme Représentation. Les initiatives mises de l’avant par le Ministère dans le cadre de cette priorité comprennent notamment des foires et des missions commerciales, ainsi que des projets de développement de marchés et de produits. La Politique des RIR du gouvernement du Canada fait partie du processus d’acquisition général s’appliquant aux achats importants dans les domaines de la défense et de la sécurité et soutient le développement industriel à long terme du Canada en exploitant les débouchés découlant des nouveaux investissements dans l’équipement militaire, dont peuvent se prévaloir les PME. Une évaluation de la fonction de représentation du Ministère est prévue pour 2015–2016 et portera sur les RIR de façon plus détaillée. L’évaluation actuelle portait sur les projets de S et C en matière de RIR associés au commerce et à l’investissement et ayant pour but d’aider les petites et moyennes entreprises de l’Ouest canadien à accéder aux chaînes d’approvisionnement mondiales des grandes sociétés internationales du secteur de la défense et de l’aérospatiale.

Initiative de la Porte et du Corridor de l’Asie-Pacifique - Le Ministère a soutenu les portes d’entrée et corridors commerciaux dans l’Ouest du Canada, notamment l’Initiative de la Porte d’entrée et du Corridor de l’Asie-Pacifique (IPCAP) et le Corridor de commerce au centre du continent, afin d’aider la région à participer aux chaînes de valeur mondiales en facilitant le transport des biens entre l’Ouest du Canada et l’Asie-Pacifique et les États-Unis et le Mexique. L’IPCAP est une initiative fédérale horizontale qui comprend des investissements stratégiques et des mesures connexes visant à créer un réseau de transport de calibre mondial qui facilite l’expédition de biens entre le Canada et l’Asie–Pacifique, alors que le Corridor de commerce au centre du continent relie l’Ouest du Canada aux régions de l’Ouest et du Sud des États–Unis et au Mexique grâce à un réseau de routes et de chemins de fer. Le Ministère a participé aux travaux de plusieurs comités de l’IPCAP et d’autres comités fédéraux afin de défendre les intérêts de l’Ouest du Canada, notamment le comité interministériel des SMA sur les portes d’entrée et corridors et le comité directeur interministériel de l’IPCAP.

Par le truchement de l’IPCAP, DEO a reçu 4,4 millions de dollars pour entreprendre deux grandes initiatives : a) 4 millions de dollars en 2006–2008 destinés aux autorités portuaires du fleuve Fraser afin de draguer le fleuve pour assurer la compétitivité de cette voie de navigation commerciale; et b) 400 000 $ pour effectuer des recherches et consulter les intervenants de l’Ouest sur le potentiel économique et les débouchés de l’IPCAP. Voici quelques exemples des projets de recherches menés :

  • Voyage d’étude North Asian Posts des installations scientifiques et technologiques de l’Ouest canadien;
     
  • Économie de la porte d’entrée de l’Ouest du Canada – la Fondation Asie Pacifique du Canada a entrepris une analyse des portes d’entrée internationales les plus efficaces et mené des études de cas pour dégager les caractéristiques de leur succès;
     
  • Évaluation des besoins économiques communautaires – la Saskatchewan et le Manitoba ont organisé des séances de mobilisation avec des intervenants afin de cerner les lacunes ou les besoins à combler pour aider les collectivités à faire des affaires en Asie;
     
  • Foire internationale de Chine sur les investissements et le commerce – DEO a élaboré des documents promotionnels pour favoriser les investissements étrangers dans l’Ouest du Canada;
     
  • Leading the Way – DEO a effectué des études de cas d’entreprises canadiennes qui connaissent du succès en Asie afin d’encourager d’autres PME canadiennes à suivre leur exemple.

Recherche et représentation - Afin de mieux comprendre la participation de l’Ouest du Canada au sein des marchés internationaux, le Ministère soutient plusieurs projets de recherche sur le commerce et l’investissement dans cette région. Cette activité contribue également à l’activité de programme Politiques, représentation et coordination (et à ses résultats connexes). De récents rapports ont examiné les chaînes de valeur mondiales et le commerce d’intégration de l’Amérique du Nord, les tendances en matière d’IED au Canada, les obstacles au commerce avec les États-Unis et les façons d’aider les PME canadiennes à pénétrer les marchés internationaux. En outre, en 2006, le Ministère a créé un outil de marketing des investissements intitulé L’Ouest canadien – là où l’esprit d’innovation rencontre un monde de possibilités pour attirer des investissements étrangers dans l’Ouest du Canada.