Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Executive Summary

Introduction

Western Economic Diversification (WD), as the federal department with the mandate for developing and diversifying the western Canadian economy, plays a key role in supporting western Canadians to participate in international markets given Trade and Investment's important contribution to economic growth. In recognition of these critical linkages, international trade and foreign direct investment have been a strategic priority for the department since 2007–08. Under the departmental Program Activity Architecture (PAA) from 2010–11 to 2012–13, WD's Trade and Investment activities have fallen under the Business Development program activity, and under the two sub-activities of Market and Trade Development as well as Foreign Direct Investment.

The department collaborates with federal, provincial and industry partners to assist small and medium-sized enterprises to prepare for and participate in international business, improve trade corridors of importance to Western Canada and enhance the capacity of the region to attract and retain foreign direct investment (FDI). The department works directly with not-for-profit organizations to achieve its Trade and Investment objectives. Types of Trade and Investment initiatives supported by WD include: Grants and Contributions (Gs&Cs) projects, the North American Platform Program (NAPP), Procurement and Industrial and Regional Benefits (IRBs), Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridor initiatives, as well as Research and Advocacy.

The purpose of this project was to conduct an evaluation of the department's Trade and Investment activities in accordance with the Treasury Board Policy on Evaluation, focused on relevance and performance. The evaluation covered the time period from 2007–08 to 2011–12.

Method of Study

This project was undertaken in two phases. The first phase focused on the development of a Terms of Reference and a detailed evaluation work plan. The field research undertaken in the second phase of the project included a detailed document and literature review, project and database analyses, as well as interviews with 42 key informants, comprising WD management and staff and other federal, provincial, and regional government representatives. A client survey was conducted of 79 participants, comprising project recipients, project beneficiaries, project proponents that did not receive funding and organizations that did not apply for funding. Case studies were conducted of eight projects and focus group sessions were held in Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton and Vancouver, involving 37 participants.

Major Findings

Relevance: Continued need for Trade and Investment Activities

  • Evidence from the evaluation indicates that stakeholders lack an understanding of the department's role in Trade and Investment. There is a need for the department to improve its coordination and collaboration with stakeholders in order to increase awareness of the departmental mandate with respect to Trade and Investment.
     
  • Key informants and project recipients identified the need for projects that help small and medium-sized enterprises access new and emerging markets (e.g., export-readiness training, marketing to increase awareness of western Canadian capabilities and matchmaking services) and support for technology commercialization. Interviewees indicated that the need for support has increased and the nature of the need has changed over the past few years.
     
  • Key informants perceived the department to be somewhat effective in identifying and responding to emerging needs and markets. The department's response was categorized as being reactive rather than taking a strategic and proactive approach to project funding. Gaps identified in the support provided include a lack of training and advice for small and medium-sized enterprises to help them acquire the necessary skills to engage in trade and attract investment, direct support for small and medium-sized enterprises, as well as support for specific costs related to Trade and Investment (e.g., travel and accommodation).
     
  • Other organizations in Western Canada offer support for Trade and Investment activities including federal, provincial, regional and industry partners. Taken together, the services of these organizations are viewed as somewhat effective in meeting regional needs.
     
  • On average, there was 18 percent likelihood that projects would have been implemented without assistance from the department. Most projects (67 percent) that applied for but were not approved for funding from the department did not go ahead.

Relevance: Alignment with Departmental and Federal government priorities

  • Since 2007–08, WD's Report on Plans and Priorities identify Trade and Investment as a priority. Through this priority, the department contributes to the Government of Canada's Global Commerce Strategy and the National Policy Framework for Gateways and Corridors. The department's Trade and Investment activities also align with the Government of Canada's 2013 Economic Action Plan.

Relevance: Consistency with Federal Roles and Responsibilities

  • The literature reviews done for the evaluation indicate that governments are in a unique position to help firms overcome trade barriers by providing access to networks in both the public and private sectors. Most key informants and almost all project proponents agreed that funding Trade and Investment activities is an appropriate role for the department, since it is consistent with the department's mandate to support economic diversification and growth in Western Canada.

Performance: Achievement of Expected Outcomes

  • Key informants perceived that the department's Trade and Investment activities overall have been somewhat successful in meeting identified needs for support. Successful projects include those that support small and medium-sized enterprise participation at trade shows and in market exploration, promote western Canadian capabilities to potential foreign buyers or investors and build international partnerships and networks.
     
  • Project recipients perceived their projects as successful in achieving their objectives, particularly with respect to increasing the interest of participating companies in expanding their business internationally. Focus group participants and respondents in the case studies agreed that the department had been successful in identifying and meeting the needs for specific projects.
     
  • Although some projects are still underway, the Trade and Investment projects from the past five years have made good progress towards achieving their performance indicator targets. On an aggregate basis, 14 of the 21 indicators associated with two or more Trade and Investment projects have already been met and some are very close to being met.
     
  • On the achievement of immediate outcomes from WD's Trade and Investment projects, key informants provided high ratings for outcomes related to the effectiveness of projects focused on developing new partnerships and networks and for projects focused on increasing awareness of Western Canada in priority markets.
     
  • Other impacts generated by the department's Trade and Investment activities include the growth of emerging regional sectors, strengthened business relationships and economic spin-offs from the projects.
     
  • Most WD funded projects led to further projects and investments, such as new investments or export deals and the continuation of projects and partnerships beyond the department's funding. Beneficiaries (project participants) reported their businesses to be successful in achieving their objectives, particularly in terms of expanding their networks and exploring potential opportunities.
     
  • Key factors that contributed to the success of projects included: resources to link businesses to international markets (e.g., consultants and key decision makers at events), support and financial assistance from WD or from other government departments and provincial and industry sources. Factors that most commonly constrained or impeded the success of the projects included a limited time frame to meet targets, a lack of capacity amongst client organizations and project beneficiaries, limited financial resources and buy in from municipal and industry partners, as well as a lack of investor and buyer awareness of the region.

Performance: Demonstration of Efficiency and Economy

  • Key informants and project recipients agreed that the objectives, target groups and activities of funded projects were well-defined and well-delivered. Some representatives were critical of the approval process, noting unclear and ambiguous processes for funding decisions and inconsistencies across regions with respect to the types and the costs of projects funded. Although many were satisfied with WD's support, several proponents noted the approval process was too slow and there was a lack of clear communication around guidelines and requirements.
     
  • Departmental expenditures on Trade and Investment totaled $38.2 million and the total operating expenditure totaled $7.0 million over the period of the evaluation. This shows that it cost the department $1.0 to administer $5.4 in Trade and Investment transfer payments. These numbers highlight the relatively small operating cost in relation to the breadth and depth of Trade and Investment projects undertaken and the results realized. WD representatives somewhat agreed that the processes are in place to allocate and coordinate resources across the department, adding that better coordination and communication would be helpful.
     
  • Key informants and project proponents viewed departmental funding as a catalyst for other sources of funds. Overall, each department dollar was matched by $1.4 from other contributors. An evaluation of Atlantic Canada Opportunity Agency's (ACOA) Trade and Investment program sub-activity conducted in 2010 indicated that on average, $0.99 was invested by other sources for every $1.00 invested by ACOA. The department's leverage ratio compares favorably to that of ACOA.
     
  • A number of suggestions were offered for improvement. These include streamlining project approval and funding disbursement processes, clarifying and communicating what support is available and the eligibility criteria, improving internal governance structures and enhancing collaboration with federal, provincial, regional and industry partners. Other suggestions included the need to have better consistency and allocation of funds across regions, to be more proactive in seeking out partnerships and projects, to support small and medium-sized enterprises directly and to align programming to other regional development agencies with respect to Trade and Investment support to create a level playing field across the country.

Recommendations

The following recommendations are based on evidence gathered and conclusions discussed in this study:

Recommendation #1: The department should develop a consistent approach and provide clarity on Trade and Investment project costs and activities in all regions.

Recommendation #2: The department should work on increasing awareness of its Trade and Investment mandate through enhanced collaboration and coordination with federal, provincial and industry stakeholders.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Résumé

Introduction

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO), en tant que ministère fédéral ayant comme mandat le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest du pays, joue un rôle essentiel en aidant les Canadiens de l'Ouest à accroître leur présence sur les marchés internationaux, compte tenu de l'importante contribution du commerce et de l'investissement à la croissance économique. Le commerce international et les investissements étrangers directs, deux composantes importantes de ce rôle, sont des priorités stratégiques du Ministère depuis 2007–2008. Dans le cadre de l'Architecture d'activités de programmes (AAP) de 2010–2011 à 2012-2013, les activités liées au commerce et à l'investissement de DEO relevaient de l'activité de programme Expansion des entreprises et des deux sous activités Développement des marchés et du commerce et Investissement étranger direct.

Le Ministère collabore avec des partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et sectoriels afin d'aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à se préparer au commerce international et à y prendre part, d'améliorer les corridors commerciaux importants pour l'Ouest du Canada et de renforcer les capacités de la région à attirer et à conserver des investissements étrangers directs (IED). Le Ministère travaille en étroite collaboration avec des organismes sans but lucratif afin d'atteindre ses objectifs en matière de commerce et d'investissement. Parmi les initiatives liées au commerce et à l'investissement financées par DEO, mentionnons les projets de subventions et contributions (S et C), le Programme de la plateforme nord américaine (PPNA), les approvisionnements et les Retombées industrielles et régionales (RIR), l'Initiative de la Porte et du Corridor de l'Asie Pacifique, ainsi que les activités de recherche et de représentation.

Le but du projet était d'effectuer une évaluation des activités de DEO liées au commerce et à l'investissement, conformément à la Politique sur l'évaluation du Conseil du Trésor, axée sur la pertinence et le rendement. L'évaluation couvrait la période de 2007–2008 à 2011–2012.

Méthode

Le projet a été mené en deux étapes. La première visait l'élaboration d'un cadre de référence et d'un plan de travail détaillé. Le travail de recherche sur le terrain, entrepris dans le cadre de la seconde étape, comprenait un examen exhaustif de la documentation, une analyse des projets et de la base de données, ainsi que des entrevues auprès de 42 personnes-ressources, soit des employés et des membres de la direction de DEO et d'autres représentants des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, et des autorités régionales. Un sondage a été mené auprès de 79 participants, notamment des promoteurs de projets ayant obtenu un financement et leurs bénéficiaires, mais également des promoteurs à qui un financement a été refusé et des organisations qui n'ont pas demandé de financement. Huit projets ont fait l'objet d'une étude de cas et des groupes de discussion ont été organisés à Winnipeg, à Saskatoon, à Edmonton et à Vancouver, avec 37 participants.

Principales Constatations

Pertinence : Besoin continu à l'égard des activités liées au commerce et à l'investissement

  • Les faits tirés de l’évaluation révèlent que les intervenants comprennent mal le rôle du Ministère en matière de commerce et d’investissement. Le Ministère doit améliorer sa collaboration avec les intervenants afin de mieux faire connaître son mandat en ce qui a trait au commerce et à l’investissement.
     
  • Les personnes-ressources et les promoteurs de projets financés ont souligné la nécessité de lancer des projets qui aident les petites et moyennes entreprises à accéder à des marchés nouveaux et émergents (p. ex. formation sur la préparation à l’exportation, marketing pour mieux faire connaître les forces de l’Ouest canadien et services de jumelage) et qui appuient la commercialisation des technologies. Les répondants ont indiqué que les besoins à l’égard de cette forme d’aide deviennent de plus en plus pressants et que la nature des besoins a évolué au cours des dernières années.
     
  • Les personnes-ressources jugent que le Ministère est assez efficace pour ce qui est de cerner les besoins et les marchés émergents. Le Ministère a tendance à agir « en réaction » aux événements, plutôt qu’à adopter une approche stratégique et proactive au financement de projets. Parmi les lacunes dégagées relativement au soutien fourni, notons le manque de formation et de conseils pour les petites et moyennes entreprises qui leur permettraient d’acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour participer aux activités commerciales et attirer des investissements, l’absence de soutien direct aux petites et moyennes entreprises et le financement insuffisant de certains coûts particuliers liés au commerce et à l’investissement (p. ex. déplacements et hébergement).
     
  • D’autres organisations de l’Ouest du Canada offrent une aide liée au commerce et à l’investissement, notamment les partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux, régionaux et sectoriels. L’ensemble des services offerts par ces organisations est jugé assez efficace pour répondre aux besoins régionaux.
     
  • La probabilité que les projets soient mis en œuvre sans l’aide du Ministère était de 18 %, en moyenne. La plupart des projets (67 %) qui ont fait l’objet d’une demande de financement, finalement refusée, ne sont pas allés de l’avant.

Pertinence – Harmonisation avec les priorités du Ministère et du gouvernement fédéral

  • Depuis 2007–2008, le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de DEO réitère le caractère prioritaire du commerce et de l’investissement. Le Ministère contribue ainsi à la Stratégie commerciale mondiale et au Cadre de politique national sur les portes et corridors du gouvernement du Canada. Les activités du Ministère relatives au commerce et à l’investissement sont également conformes au Plan d’action économique de 2013 du gouvernement du Canada.

Pertinence – Conformité aux rôles et responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral

  • L’étude de la documentation effectuée dans le cadre de cette évaluation indique que les gouvernements sont particulièrement bien placés pour aider les entreprises à surmonter les obstacles au commerce en leur donnant accès aux réseaux des secteurs privé et public. La plupart des personnes-ressources et presque tous les promoteurs de projets s’entendent pour dire que le financement des activités liées au commerce et à l’investissement constitue un rôle approprié pour le Ministère, puisqu’elle est conforme à son mandat de soutenir la diversification économique et la croissance dans l’Ouest du Canada.

Rendement – Atteinte des résultats escomptés

  • Selon les personnes-ressources, les activités du Ministère en matière de commerce et d’investissement se sont révélées assez efficaces pour répondre aux besoins cernés. Les projets efficaces sont ceux qui appuient la participation des petites et moyennes entreprises aux salons professionnels et aux activités d’exploration du marché, la promotion des capacités de l’Ouest canadien auprès des investisseurs ou des acheteurs étrangers potentiels et l’établissement de partenariats et de réseaux sur la scène internationale.
     
  • Les promoteurs de projets financés ont jugé leurs projets efficaces pour atteindre leurs objectifs, plus particulièrement pour ce qui est d'inciter les entreprises à développer leurs activités à l'étranger. Les participants aux groupes de discussion et les répondants des études de cas conviennent que le Ministère a réussi à cerner les besoins à l'égard de projets particuliers, et à y répondre.
     
  • Même si certains projets sont toujours en cours, les projets liés au commerce et à l'investissement des cinq dernières années sont en bonne voie d'atteindre leurs cibles fixées en matière de rendement. Sur une base cumulative, 14 des 21 indicateurs associés à au moins deux projets liés au commerce et à l'investissement ont déjà été atteints, et certains sont presque atteints.
     
  • Quant à l'atteinte des résultats immédiats des projets de DEO en matière de commerce et d'investissement, les personnes-ressources ont accordé de bonnes notes aux résultats liés à l'efficacité des projets axés sur la formation de nouveaux partenariats et réseaux et des projets axés sur une meilleure connaissance des marchés prioritaires de l'Ouest canadien.
     
  • Parmi les autres répercussions des activités du Ministère en matière de commerce et d’investissement, notons la croissance des secteurs régionaux émergents, le renforcement des relations d’affaires et les retombées économiques dérivées des projets.
     
  • La plupart des projets financés par DEO ont mené à d’autres projets et investissements, notamment de nouveaux investissements ou de nouvelles ententes d’exportation, ainsi qu’au maintien de projets et de partenariats qui ne requièrent plus l’aide financière du Ministère. Les bénéficiaires (participants aux projets) ont mentionné que leur entreprise a atteint ses objectifs, plus particulièrement en ce qui a trait à l’élargissement des réseaux et à l’exploration de nouveaux débouchés.
     
  • Les principaux facteurs qui ont contribué au succès des projets sont les suivants : ressources visant à rapprocher les entreprises des marchés internationaux (p. ex. consultants et décideurs clés présents lors de certains événements), soutien et aide financière de DEO ou d’autres ministères fédéraux, des provinces et de l’industrie. Les facteurs qui ont le plus souvent freiné ou limité le succès des projets sont des échéanciers trop serrés pour atteindre les cibles fixées, les capacités déficientes des organisations clientes et des bénéficiaires des projets, des ressources financières limitées, le ralliement insuffisant des partenaires municipaux et de l’industrie, ainsi que la méconnaissance de la région par les investisseurs et acheteurs.

Rendement – Efficience et économie

  • Les personnes-ressources et les promoteurs de projets financés s'entendent pour dire que les objectifs et les groupes cibles des projets financés étaient bien définis et les activités bien exécutées. Certains représentants ont émis des critiques relativement au processus d'approbation, notamment en ce qui a trait au caractère imprécis et ambigu de certains processus menant à la décision de financer ou non un projet et aux incohérences entre les régions quant aux types et aux coûts des projets financés. Même si certains sont satisfaits du soutien de DEO, plusieurs promoteurs ont souligné que le processus d'approbation était trop lent et que les communications au sujet des directives et exigences manquaient de précision.
     
  • Les dépenses du Ministère liées au commerce et à l’investissement totalisaient 38,2 millions de dollars et les dépenses opérationnelles ont totalisé 7,0 millions de dollars au cours de la période de l’évaluation. Cela révèle qu’il en coûte au Ministère 1 $ pour administrer 5,4 $ en paiements de transfert pour des activités liées au commerce et à l’investissement. On constate ainsi que les coûts d’exploitation sont relativement faibles par rapport à la portée et à l’étendue des projets liés au commerce et à l’investissement entrepris, et aux résultats obtenus. Les représentants de DEO sont assez d’accord pour dire qu’il existe des processus pour allouer et coordonner les ressources à l’échelle du Ministère, mais qu’une amélioration des communications et de la coordination serait souhaitable.
     
  • Les personnes-ressources et les promoteurs considèrent le financement du Ministère comme un catalyseur permettant de dégager d’autres sources de financement. En général, à chaque dollar investi par le Ministère correspondait 1,4 $ provenant d’autres sources. Une évaluation des sous–activités de programme Commerce et Investissement de l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique (APECA) menée en 2010 révèle qu’en moyenne 0,99 $ ont été investis par d’autres sources pour chaque dollar investi par l’APECA. Le ratio de contrepartie du Ministère se compare avantageusement à celui de l’APECA.
     
  • Plusieurs améliorations ont été proposées, notamment la simplification des processus d'approbation de projets et de remboursement du financement, la clarification et la communication des mesures de soutien offertes et des critères d'admissibilité, l'amélioration des structures de gouvernance interne et de la collaboration avec des partenaires de l'industrie, de même qu'avec les instances fédérales, régionales et provinciales. On a également proposé certaines améliorations quant à l'uniformisation et à l'allocation des fonds entre les régions et recommandé d'adopter une approche plus proactive pour former des partenariats et lancer des projets, de soutenir les petites et moyennes entreprises directement et d'harmoniser les programmes à ceux d'autres agences de développement régional en ce qui a trait au commerce et à l'investissement, de façon à établir des bases communes à l'échelle du pays.

Recommendations

Les recommandations qui suivent découlent des données recueillies et des conclusions de l'étude :

Recommandation 1 : Le Ministère devrait adopter une approche cohérente et fournir des précisions quant aux coûts et aux activités des projets liés au commerce et à l'investissement, dans toutes les régions.

Recommandation 2 : Le Ministère devrait s'attacher à mieux faire connaître son mandat lié au commerce et à l'investissement grâce à une plus grande collaboration et coordination avec les intervenants fédéraux, provinciaux et sectoriels.