Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Relevance

Continued Need for Programming

Females represent an important yet still under-represented segment of entrepreneurs. Of all small and medium-sized enterprises in Canada in 2007, approximately 16 percent were majority female owned and almost half had one or more female owners.8 These proportions were largely unchanged from 2001. Economically,“majority women-owned small and medium-sized enterprises represented over $117 billion per annum of economic activity in Canada.9 In this context, programming that accommodates the needs and motives of women entrepreneurs supports economic development.

Western Canadians value and respect entrepreneurship and small business:10 1) over 70 percent believe the economy is powered by entrepreneurs; 2) over 76 percent believe governments undervalue the contribution of entrepreneurs and small business in Canada; 3) over 97 percent believe small business is somewhat/very important to Canada’s future; and 4) over 93 percent believe small business is vital to their community. When given a list of institutions, western Canadians indicated the highest respect for farmers and small business.11

Most research confirms that targeted programming effectively serves the needs of women entrepreneurs. Supporters of targeted programming highlight differences in needs of male and female entrepreneurs. A Canadian study involving the Woman’s Enterprise Initiative (WEI) concluded that further research into targeted programming is needed but “until then, gender-specific programs appear to mediate potential gender bias in SME training and policy interventions.12 More recently, another Canadian study13 of 212 clients of the Centre of Women in Business in Nova Scotia found that clients prefer women-focused small business training centres to other business advisory agencies because the targeted services meet their unique needs and motives. The 212 participants in the study were well educated, growth and export oriented, and from a wide range of industries, contradicting assumptions that women-focused small business programming attracts low yield businesses and marginalized clients. Furthermore, a recent evaluation that included Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency’s Women in Business Initiative reported substantial evidence in support of the targetted programming approach.14 Most key informants perceive a strong need for programming that specifically targets women entrepreneurs. They argue that women continue to face challenges in accessing capital and growing their business, technical knowledge and skills, or confidence to expand their business. The WEI supports well established, trusted and credible organizations that are well-positioned to support women entrepreneurs and promote women in business. Most clients confirm the strong, continued need for targeted programming. Although critics claim targeted programming attracts low yield businesses and marginalized clients, WEI clients tend to have some post-secondary education and at least five years of experience in business management.

Evidence opposing targeted programming. There is little published research on the effectiveness of non-targetted programming in meeting the needs of female entrepreneurs. Furthermore, the little research that does exist may be biased in terms of, for example, sample selection.15 Some respondents were of the opinion that the need for targeted services has diminished because all entrepreneurs have the same needs, and new entrepreneurs face similar challenges regardless of their gender (e.g., lack of capital, difficulties accessing capital, lack of formal education and business knowledge, confidence to grow their business and economy). Furthermore, gender is unlikely to be a factor in the decision-making process for traditional lenders. Key informants who were strongly opposed to targeted programming claimed that treating women differently is unnecessary, and to some extent offensive, and may disadvantage them in a business world that is comprised of both men and women that can be intimidating regardless of gender. Furthermore, targeted programming makes partnership and collaboration with other organizations difficult.

Women’s Enterprise Initiative fills an important programming gap in western Canada. Seventy percent of key informants, including representatives of other sources of funding, recognize the uniqueness of the WEI in increasing the profile of women entrepreneurs, influencing public perception, and encouraging other women to start or grow their businesses. Although there are a number of organizations in Western Canada that offer programs with similar objectives to the WEI and many that provide similar services (e.g., loans, business consultations and information), they are often tailored to a distinct target group (e.g., youth, Aboriginal and French speaking entrepreneurs). Over half of all key informants noted that, in the absence of the WEI, there would be a significant lack of targeted programming for women including training, seminars, advisory services and financial assistance.

Clients stated that the program offers much needed counselling, mentoring and training services to women in a comfortable and supportive environment, as well as vital financial assistance. Many clients noted that it was financial, emotional and motivational support that they needed the most when starting and growing their businesses. In the absence of the WEI, clients perceived major program gaps in business support services, female-focused training programs and services and financial assistance for women entrepreneurs. Apart from financing, WEI services were the only business services received by 74 percent of clients. More than half (53 percent) of clients who received loans considered the prospects of obtaining financing elsewhere very unlikely.

About two-thirds of businesses that were not approved for a loan under the WEI reported obtaining financing from other sources; half obtained loans through commercial lenders or federal agencies. However, the majority of the respondents indicated that they reduced the scope of their business operation or delayed the establishment or development of their business because they did not receive WEI funding.

The focus of lending and services differs across regions and groups. The focus groups highlighted some regional differences in lending and services. In British Columbia, the Women’s Enterprise Centre has adopted a more traditional role in its lending activities, as it uses the same criteria as other funders such as banks. Becoming more risk averse, the WEI organization in British Columbia does not accept loan applications for riskier business ventures. Furthermore, women request more training opportunities to help them run and grow their businesses. Conversely, in Alberta, the organization has tried to reduce its lending activities and focus more on networking and promoting business and contract connections in an effort to encourage growth. The WEI organization in Saskatchewan has reported increased demands for services and loans for a variety of reasons. Saskatchewan takes advantage of partnerships with other organizations, participating in joint loans and extending loan referrals. However, Saskatchewan reports less participants in WEConnect16 compared to other regions. This lower WEConnect participation rate is also evident for the WEI organization in Manitoba. Despite this, Manitoba supports more start-up businesses and promotes business growth with the ‘My Gold Mine’ program for financial acumen training.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Alignment with Departmental and Federal Government Priorities

The WEI supports the department’s strategic outcome of developing and diversifying the western Canadian economy by creating a competitive, diversified business sector in western Canada. The program’s Performance Measurement Strategy states that the program aligns with the federal priorities as outlined in the Government of Canada’s Advantage Canada: Building a Strong Economy for Canadians document.17

Consistency with Federal Roles and Responsibilities

Government plays a key role in optimizing conditions for Canadian businesses and organizations to develop and grow. Growth-oriented start-up businesses create jobs and new industries, thereby increasing the prosperity and living standards of Canadians.

Over 90 percent of key informants indicated that the WEI is consistent with federal government roles and responsibilities. The Department’s mandate for economic diversification in Western Canada promotes equal economic opportunities for men and women and support for entrepreneurs. The objectives and activities of the WEI are perceived as consistent with the federal government’s agenda in Western Canada, although a few department representatives were unsure if the WEI remains a departmental priority. A few key informants indicated that the WEI is not consistent with federal roles and responsibilities because there is no clear need for such programming. They noted that the role of government is to foster diversification and not to support one group or special interest groups.

 


[8] Industry Canada. "Small Business Financing Profiles". October, 2010.

[9] The Canadian Taskforce for Women's Business Growth. "Action Strategies to Support Women's Enterprise Development".

[10] Canadian Federation of Independent Business, Hewlett-Packard (Canada) Co. and Intel of Canada, Ltd. "Perspectives on small business in Canada". This publication summarized results of two public opinion polls conducted in April and May of 2011: 1) online survey of 2028 Canadian adults; 2) online survey of 1160 Canadians who are business owners or senior employees in small businesses.

[11] Respondents were given the following list of institutions and asked: "how much respect do you have for each of the following in Canada". Institutions included: banks, education system, farmers, government, healthcare system, labour unions, large companies, legal system, small business. Institutions were rated on a 10-point scale (0 being lowest and 10 being highest).

[12] Orser B., Riding AL. "Gender-based Small Business Programming: The Case of the Women's Enterprise Initiative". Journal of Small Business and Enterpreneurship 19, 2 (2006): 143-166.

[13] Orson B., Elliott C., Finlay-Thompson S. "Women-focused small business programming: Client motives and perspectives". (2012). International Journal of Gender and Entrepreneurship, 4(3). In print.

[14] Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency. 2010. "Evaluation of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency's Entrepreneurship and Business Skills Development Program Sub-activity". This evaluation included several initiatives that support business skills development including the Women in Business Initiative.

[15] Orson B., Elliott C., Finlay-Thompson S. "Women-focused small business programming: Client motives and perspectives". (2012). International Journal of Gender and Entrepreneurship, 4(3). In print.

[16] WEConnect was part of the Access to Supply Chains Program delivered by the WEI organizations and funded by the department. The Access to Supply Chains Program was a certification and global supply chain access program. providing women entrepreneurs with in-depth business development services targeted towards accessing global supply chains, diversity certification and access to a database of companies looking to employ diverse suppliers.

[17] Advantage Canada is an economic plan published by the federal government. Accessed at: http://www.fin.gc.ca/ec2006/pdf/plane.pdf

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Pertinence

Le programme répond-il à un besoin continu?

Les femmes représentent une proportion importante des entrepreneurs, mais elles sont encore sous-représentées. En 2007, environ 16 % des petites et moyennes entreprises du Canada étaient contrôlées majoritairement par des femmes, et près de 50 % comptaient au moins une femme parmi les propriétaires8.Ces proportions sont restées pratiquement inchangées par rapport à 2001. Sur le plan économique, plus de 117 milliards de dollars par année d’activité économique au Canada sont attribuables aux petites et moyennes entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes 9. Dans ce contexte, un programme adapté aux besoins et aux motivations des entrepreneures appuie la croissance économique.

Les habitants de l'Ouest du Canada valorisent et respectent l'entrepreneuriat et les petites entreprises :101) plus de 70 % estiment que les entrepreneurs sont le moteur de l’économie canadienne; 2) plus de 76 % croient que les gouvernements sous-estiment la contribution des entrepreneurs et des petites entreprises au Canada; 3) plus de 97 % sont d’avis que les petites entreprises sont grandement ou moyennement importantes pour l’avenir du Canada; 4) plus de 93 % pensent que les petites entreprises sont vitales pour leur collectivité. Lorsqu’il s’agit de désigner les groupes et institutions les plus respectés, les habitants de l’Ouest du Canada placent les agriculteurs et les petites entreprises en tête de liste11.

La majorité des travaux de recherche confirme que les programmes ciblés répondent efficacement aux besoins des entrepreneures. Les partisans des programmes ciblés font valoir les besoins différents des hommes et des femmes à la tête d’entreprises. Les auteurs d’une étude canadienne portant sur l’IFE ont conclu qu’il fallait pousser plus loin les recherches sur les programmes ciblés, mais que [traduction] « pour le moment, les programmes sexospécifiques semblent neutraliser le sexisme potentiel dans la formation et les interventions stratégiques visant les PME »12. Dans le cadre d'une autre étude canadienne plus récente 13 on a consulté 212 clientes du Centre for Women in Business de la Nouvelle-Écosse et conclu que les clientes préfèrent les centres de formation pour les petites entreprises axés sur les femmes aux autres organismes fournissant des conseils aux entreprises, parce que les services offerts sont adaptés aux besoins et aux motivations uniques des femmes. Les 212 participantes à l’étude étaient instruites, provenaient d’une variété d’industries et leur entreprise était axée sur la croissance et les exportations, ce qui contredit l’hypothèse selon laquelle les programmes visant les petites entreprises axés sur les femmes attirent les entreprises à faible rendement et les clientes marginalisées. De plus, une évaluation récente portant entre autres sur l’Initiative Femmes en affaires de l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique (APECA) fait état d’un vaste lot de données à l’appui des programmes ciblés14. La plupart des intervenants clés sont d'avis que les programmes visant précisément les entrepreneures sont grandement nécessaires. Selon eux, les femmes se heurtent encore à des obstacles lorsqu'il s'agit d'avoir accès au capital et de faire croître leur entreprise. Ces difficultés ont trait au savoir et aux compétences techniques et à la confiance. L'IFE offre du soutien à des organismes bien établis, dignes de confiance et crédibles qui sont bien placés pour appuyer les entrepreneures et promouvoir l'entrepreneuriat féminin. La plupart des clientes confirment que les programmes ciblés ont toujours leur raison d'être. Même si certains prétendent que ce type de programmes attire les entreprises à faible rendement et les clientes marginalisées, les clientes de l'IFE ont généralement fait des études postsecondaires et possèdent pour la plupart au moins cinq années d'expérience dans la gestion d'entreprise.

Données à l’encontre des programmes ciblés. Peu de travaux de recherche publiés traitent de l'efficacité avec laquelle les programmes non ciblés répondent aux besoins des entrepreneures. De plus, les quelques travaux de recherche qui existent peuvent manquer d'objectivité, par exemple, au titre de l'échantillonnage15. Certains répondants estiment que les services ciblés sont moins nécessaires qu'avant, parce que tous les entrepreneurs ont les mêmes besoins et que tous les nouveaux entrepreneurs, hommes et femmes, se heurtent aux mêmes obstacles (manque de capital, difficultés d'accès au capital, faible niveau de scolarité et manque de connaissances en affaires, confiance pour faire croître leur entreprise, économie, etc.). De plus, il est peu probable que le sexe soit un facteur que les prêteurs traditionnels prennent en considération dans le processus de prise de décision. Les intervenants clés qui s'opposent fermement aux programmes ciblés affirment qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de traiter les femmes différemment et que cela risque même, dans une certaine mesure, d'être offensant et de leur nuire car, dans le milieu des affaires, elles côtoieront des gens, tant des hommes que des femmes, qui peuvent être intimidants. Enfin, les programmes ciblés rendent difficiles l'établissement de partenariats et la collaboration avec d'autres organismes.

L'Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs comble un vide important dans l'offre de programmes dans l'Ouest canadien. Une proportion de 70 % des intervenants clés, dont des représentants d’autres sources de financement, reconnaissent le caractère unique de l’IFE en ce sens qu’elle augmente la visibilité des entrepreneures, influe sur la perception du public et encourage d’autres femmes à démarrer ou à faire croître leur entreprise. Même si un certain nombre d’organismes dans l’Ouest canadien offrent des programmes ayant des objectifs semblables à ceux de l’IFE et si beaucoup d’organismes fournissent des services semblables (prêts, conseils aux entreprises, information), ces programmes et services sont souvent adaptés aux besoins d’un groupe particulier (p. ex. les jeunes, les Autochtones, les entrepreneurs francophones). Plus de 50 % des intervenants clés ont fait observer que sans l’IFE, il y aurait un vide énorme dans l’offre de programmes destinés aux femmes, notamment sur le plan de la formation, des séminaires, des services de conseils et de l’aide financière.

Selon les clientes, le programme offre aux femmes, dans un environnement accueillant et positif, des services fort utiles de conseils, de mentorat et de formation ainsi qu’une aide financière indispensable. De nombreuses clientes ont dit que ce dont elles avaient le plus besoin pour démarrer ou faire croître leur entreprise était un soutien financier, un soutien moral et de la motivation. Sans l’IFE, les clientes estiment qu’il y aurait des lacunes importantes dans l’offre de programmes de soutien aux entreprises, de programmes de formation et de services destinés aux femmes, et de mesures d’aide financière aux entrepreneures. Outre le financement, les services offerts dans le cadre de l’IFE sont les seuls services aux entreprises dont ont bénéficié 74 % des clientes. Plus de la moitié (53 %) des clientes ayant obtenu un prêt estiment qu’il est très improbable qu’elles puissent obtenir du financement d’autres sources.

Environ les deux tiers des entreprises dont la demande de prêt n’a pas été approuvée dans le cadre de l’IFE ont dit avoir pu obtenir du financement d’autres sources. La moitié d’entre elles se sont vu accorder un prêt par un prêteur commercial ou un organisme fédéral. Toutefois, la majorité des répondantes ont affirmé avoir dû réduire leurs activités ou reporter le démarrage ou l’expansion de leur entreprise parce qu’elles n’ont pas obtenu de financement de l’IFE.

L'objectif des prêts et des services diffère d'une région et d'un groupe à l'autre.Les participants aux groupes de discussion ont soulevé des différences régionales au titre des prêts et des services. En Colombie–Britannique, le Women’s Enterprise Centre mène ses activités de prêt de manière plus traditionnelle en appliquant les mêmes critères que d’autres prêteurs, dont les banques. Devenant plus prudent face aux risques, l’organisme de l’IFE en Colombie–Britannique n’accepte pas les demandes de prêts associées à des entreprises à risque. Par ailleurs, les femmes sollicitent davantage de formation pour les aider à diriger leur entreprise et à lui faire prendre de l’expansion. Inversement, en Alberta, l’organisme a tenté de réduire ses activités de prêt et de se concentrer davantage sur le réseautage et la promotion des liens commerciaux et contractuels, dans l’espoir de stimuler la croissance. L’organisme de l’IFE de la Saskatchewan a rapporté une hausse des demandes de services et de prêts attribuable à diverses raisons. La Saskatchewan tire profit des partenariats avec d’autres organismes, en participant à des prêts conjoints et en recommandant l’octroi de prêts. Cependant, la Saskatchewan compte moins de participants à WEConnect16 que d’autres régions. Ce taux de participation inférieur se remarque aussi chez l’organisme de l’IFE du Manitoba. Malgré cela, le Manitoba aide plus d’entreprises à démarrer et encourage la croissance des entreprises au moyen du programme de formation financière spécialisée My Gold Mine.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Harmonisation avec les priorités du Ministère et du gouvernement fédéral

En aidant à diversifier le secteur des entreprises et à en accroître la compétitivité, l’IFE appuie le résultat stratégique du Ministère qui consiste à développer et à diversifier l’économie de l’Ouest canadien. Selon la stratégie de mesure du rendement du programme, l’IFE cadre avec les priorités du gouvernement fédéral telles qu’elles sont énoncées dans le document Avantage Canada : Bâtir une économie forte pour les Canadiens publié par le gouvernement du Canada17.

Conformité aux rôles et aux responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral

Le gouvernement joue un rôle clé dans l'optimisation des conditions propices au démarrage et à l'expansion d'entreprises et d'organismes au Canada. Les jeunes entreprises axées sur la croissance créent des emplois et de nouvelles industries, ce qui augmente la prospérité et le niveau de vie des Canadiens.

Plus de 90 % des intervenants clés estiment que l'IFE cadre avec les rôles et les responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral. Le mandat du Ministère à l'égard de la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien favorise l'égalité économique entre les hommes et les femmes et le soutien de l'entrepreneuriat. Les objectifs et les activités de l'IFE sont perçus comme étant conformes au plan d'action du gouvernement dans l'Ouest canadien, bien que quelques représentants du Ministère ne soient plus certains que l'IFE soit encore une priorité ministérielle. Quelques intervenants clés ont dit que l'IFE ne cadre pas avec les rôles et les responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral, parce qu'il n'y a pas de besoin clair à l'égard d'un tel programme. Ces intervenants affirment que le rôle du gouvernement consiste à favoriser la diversification et non pas à soutenir un ou des groupes en particulier.

 


[8] Source : Industrie Canada, « Profils de financement des petites entreprises », octobre 2010.

[9] Source : Groupe de travail canadien pour la croissance des entreprises appartenant à des femmes,. Stratégies visant à appuyer le développement des entreprises appartenant à des femmes.

[10] Fédération canadienne de l’entreprise indépendante, Hewlett-Packard (Canada) Co. et Intel of Canada, Ltd. Perspectives sur les PME du Canada. Cette publication fait la synthèse des résultats de deux sondages d’opinion réalisés en avril et en mai 2011, soit un sondage en ligne auprès de 2 028 adultes canadiens et un sondage en ligne auprès de 1 160 Canadiens propriétaires d’une petite entreprise ou cadres supérieurs dans une petite entreprise.

[11] On a posé la question suivante aux participants : « Quel est votre niveau de respect pour chacun des groupes suivants au Canada? » Les groupes et institutions mentionnés étaient les banques, le système d’éducation, les agriculteurs, le gouvernement, le système de soins de santé, les syndicats, les grandes entreprises, le système judiciaire et les petites entreprises. Les participants devaient attribuer à chacun des groupes une note comprise entre 0 et 10 (0 étant le degré de respect le plus faible et 10, le degré de respect le plus élevé).

[12] B. Orser et A.L. Riding. « Gender-based Small Business Programming: The Case of the Women’s Enterprise Initiative », Journal of Small Business and Enterpreneurship, vol.19, no 2 (2006), p. 143-166.

[13] B. Orson, C. Elliott et S. Finlay-Thompson. « Women-focused small business programming: Client motives and perspectives », International Journal of Gender and Entrepreneurship, vol. 4, no 3 (2012). Format papier.

[14] Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique. Évaluation de la sous-activité de programme Entrepreneurship et perfectionnement des compétences en affaires de l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique, 2010. Cette évaluation portait sur plusieurs initiatives favorisant le perfectionnement des compétences en affaires, dont l’Initiative Femmes en affaires.

[15] B. Orson, C. Elliott et S. Finlay-Thompson. « Women-focused small business programming: Client motives and perspectives », International Journal of Gender and Entrepreneurship, vol. 4, no 3 (2012). Format papier.

[16] WEConnect s’inscrivait dans le programme d’accès aux chaînes d’approvisionnement exécuté par les organismes de l’IFE et financé par le Ministère. Ce programme en était un de certification et d’accès aux chaînes d’approvisionnement mondiales. Il procurait aux entrepreneures des services approfondis de création d’entreprises visant l’accès aux chaînes d’approvisionnement mondiales, la certification de la diversité et l’accès à une base de données des entreprises cherchant à recruter divers fournisseurs.

[17] Avantage Canada est un plan économique publié par le gouvernement fédéral. Il est accessible à http://www.fin.gc.ca/ec2006/pdf/planf.pdf.