Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Introduction

Acknowledgement

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) would like to thank all of the key informants and survey participants who generously gave of their time and knowledge to take part in the Evaluation of the Women’s Enterprise Initiative (WEI). Without their participation and their insights, this report would not have been possible. The evaluators acknowledge the work done by Ference Weicker & Company Ltd. (the consultants) in collecting key informant and survey data.

Background

Although women entrepreneurs have played an increasingly important role in Canada’s economy over the past three decades, they continue to encounter significant financial and service barriers when growing their businesses. In response to identified gaps faced by female entrepreneurs, WD established the WEI in 1995 to support the development and growth of female-led businesses and, ultimately, economic equality between men and women.

The initiative established not-for-profit WEI organizations in each of the four western provinces. Each organization is led by its own board of directors. The organizations are incorporated and receive annual non-repayable contributions from WD to offset general operating costs and engage in two broad categories of activities:

1) Services: Deliver business, advisory, training and information services to women who are interested in starting or expanding a business. The businesses must be owned and controlled by women; and

2) Loans: Provide loans of up to $150,000 to women starting, or already leading, their own businesses. Loans are approved by the board of directors of the organizations or their delegates.

The organizations are members of, and partner with other members of, the department’s Western Canada Business Service Network. Through partnerships with Network members as well as other associations, each organization offers resources tailored to the particular needs of women in its region. Offices are located in Kelowna, Calgary, Edmonton, Saskatoon, Regina and Winnipeg.

The most recent five-year funding agreement expired March 31, 2010, and the funding agreements have been renewed on an annual basis since then. The department’s A-base funding supports WEI organizations. Approved operating funding per organization, from program inception to March 31, 2013, is summarized below.

 Year  Annual Operating Funding
per Organization
Total Operating Fund,
All Organizations, 1995–2013
1995–00 $850,000 $17,000,000
2000–05 $875,000 $17,500,000
2005–10 $975,000 $19,500,000
2010–11 $975,000 $3,900,000
2011–12 $975,000 $3,900,000
2012–13 $975,000 $3,900,000
Total $16,425,000 $65,700,000

Between the program’s inception and March 31, 2012, WD has supplied WEI organizations with over $17.4 million in loan funds to provide conditionally repayable loans to female entrepreneurs. Loan funds per organization are outlined below.

Province Loan Fund Provided to organization
(1995-2012)
British Columbia $4,209,140
Alberta $5,000,000
Saskatchewan $5,000,000
Manitoba $3,278,756
Total $17,487,896

The value of the loan funds had grown to over $20.1 million by March 31, 2012.

Until 2009, the operating funding for the WEI was under the Western Diversification Program authority while the loan funding was provided under the WEI program authority. To facilitate evaluation, the operating and loan funding were consolidated under the WEI program authority in 2009. Currently, the WEI organizations are accountable to government through terms that have been set out in their contribution agreements with WD. Full eligibility and governance information is outlined in the Terms and Conditions of the WEI.3

Evaluation Context

The WEI Performance Measurement Framework formed the basis for the evaluation that spanned fiscal years 2008–09 to 2012–13. The WEI has undergone two evaluations in 1998 and 2004, two impact assessments in 2002 and 2008, and an audit in 2008. There were also two evaluations of the Western Diversification Program, in 2003 and 2008, which included the operating component of the WEI. The 2008 impact assessment confirmed that the program was achieving its intended outcomes and the 2008 audit results concluded that there was an appropriate level of oversight for the program. The fact that the program has been well-studied and has undergone no major changes within the past five years suggests the evaluation is low risk and the design, methods and evidence were calibrated accordingly.

Evaluation Scope and Objectives

The evaluation of WEI is guided by the 2009 Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) on Evaluation and the Standard on Evaluation for the Government of Canada. As required by the TBS Policy on Evaluation, all direct program spending must be evaluated every five years. The evaluation of the WEI Program was identified in the Department of Western Economic Diversification 2011–16 multi-year departmental evaluation plan.

The objective of the evaluation is to report to Senior Management and TBS on the relevance and performance of the WEI as identified in the 2009 TBS Policy on Evaluation. The evaluation also assessed the extent to which the WEI strengthened women-led small or medium-sized enterprises and contributed to developing and diversifying the western Canadian economy.

Evaluation Issues
Relevance
  • Is there a continued need for the WEI?
  • Is the WEI aligned to departmental and federal government priorities?
  • Is the WEI consistent with federal roles and responsibilities?
Performance
Achievement of Intended Outcomes

Outputs
To what extent has the program achieved intended outputs in terms of provision of business loans and delivery of business services?

Outcomes
To what extent has the program achieved intended outcomes of:

  • Increasing small/medium enterprise competitiveness and productivity
     
  • Increasing investment to targeted western Canadian firms
     
  • Strengthening women owned and controlled small/medium sized enterprises in Western Canada with improved capacity to remain competitive in the global marketplace
     
  • Increasing self-employment and business development among women
     
  • Establishing and growing women-owned and controlled businesses
     
  • Greater economic equality between men and women
     
  • Developing and diversifying the western Canadian economy

Success Factors
What factors facilitated or impeded the achievement of program outcomes?

Unexpected Outcomes
Were there unintended positive and/or negative outcomes from the department’s involvement in innovation?

Demonstration of Efficiency and Economy
  • Is the WEI achieving its intended outcomes in the most economical manner?
     
  • Is the WEI undertaking activities and delivering products in the most efficient manner?

 


[3] Terms and Conditions for the WEI Contribution Program: http://www.wd.gc.ca/eng/11984.asp.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Introduction

Remerciements

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) tient à remercier tous les intervenants clés et les participants au sondage qui ont généreusement donné de leur temps et transmis leurs connaissances dans le cadre de l’évaluation de l’Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs. Sans leur participation et leurs observations, le présent rapport n’aurait pas pu voir le jour. Les évaluateurs remercient également les experts-conseils de Ference Weicker & Company Ltd. qui ont interviewé les intervenants clés et réalisé le sondage.

Contexte

Les femmes chefs d’entreprise jouent un rôle de plus en plus important dans l’économie canadienne depuis les 30 dernières années. Cependant, elles ont encore beaucoup de difficulté à obtenir le financement et les services nécessaires pour faire croître leur entreprise. Pour combler ces lacunes, DEO a créé l’Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs (IFE) en 1995 afin de soutenir la création et l’expansion d’entreprises dirigées par des femmes et, en fin de compte, de favoriser l’égalité économique entre les hommes et les femmes.

Dans le cadre de l'IFE, des organismes sans but lucratif ont été mis en place dans les quatre provinces de l'Ouest. Chaque organisme est dirigé par son propre conseil d'administration. Les organismes sont constitués en société et reçoivent des contributions annuelles non remboursables de DEO pour couvrir les frais généraux de fonctionnement et leur permettre de mener à bien deux types d'activités :

1) Services : dispenser des services d'affaires, de conseils, de formation et d'information aux femmes qui souhaitent démarrer ou élargir une entreprise. Les entreprises bénéficiant de ces services doivent être contrôlées intégralement ou majoritairement par des femmes.

2) Prêts : accorder des prêts pouvant aller jusqu'à 150 000 $ aux femmes qui souhaitent démarrer, ou qui exploitent déjà, une entreprise. Les prêts sont approuvés par les conseils d'administration des organismes ou ses délégués.

Ces organismes sont membres du Réseau de services aux entreprises de l'Ouest canadien du Ministère et forment des partenariats avec d'autres membres du Réseau. Grâce à ces partenariats et à des alliances avec d'autres associations, chaque organisme peut offrir des ressources adaptées aux besoins particuliers des femmes de la région. Les bureaux sont situés à Kelowna, à Calgary, à Edmonton, à Saskatoon, à Regina et à Winnipeg.

La plus récente entente de financement quinquennale est arrivée à terme le 31 mars 2010 et, depuis, les ententes de financement sont renouvelées sur une base annuelle. Les services votés du Ministère permettent de soutenir les organismes de l'IFE. Les fonds d'exploitation approuvés par organisme depuis la création du programme jusqu'au 31 mars 2013 sont indiqués dans le tableau ci-après.

 Year  Annual Fonds d'exploitation,
par organisme, par année
Total des fonds d'exploitation,
tous les organismes, de 1995 à 2013
1995–2000 850 000 $ 17 000 000 $
2000–2005 875 000 $ 17 500 000 $
2005–2010 975 000 $ 19 500 000 $
2010–2011 975 000 $ 3 900 000 $
2011–2012 975 000 $ 3 900 000 $
2012–2013 975 000 $ 3 900 000 $
Total 16 425 000 $ 65 700 000 $

Entre la date de mise sur pied du programme et le 31 mars 2012, DEO a versé aux organismes de l'IFE plus de 17,4 millions de dollars sous la forme de fonds de prêts leur permettant de consentir des prêts à remboursement conditionnel à des entrepreneures. Voici les montants de ces fonds de prêts :

Province Fonds de prêts, par organisme
(de 1995 à 2012)
Colombie Britannique 4 209 140 $
Alberta 5 000 000 $
Saskatchewan 5 000 000 $
Manitoba 3 278 756 $
Total 17 487 896 $

La valeur totale des fonds de prêts se chiffrait à plus de 20,1 millions de dollars au 31 mars 2012.

Jusqu'en 2009, les fonds d'exploitation de l'IFE provenaient des autorisations du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest, alors que les fonds de prêts étaient puisés à même les autorisations de l'IFE. Pour faciliter l'évaluation, les fonds d'exploitation et les fonds de prêts ont été regroupés sous les autorisations de l'IFE en 2009. À l'heure actuelle, les organismes de l'IFE doivent rendre des comptes au gouvernement selon les modalités précisées dans l'entente de contribution conclue avec DEO. L'information complète concernant l'admissibilité et la gouvernance figure dans les modalités de l'IFE3.

Contexte de l'évaluation

Le cadre de mesure du rendement de l'IFE a servi de base à l'évaluation, laquelle couvre les exercices 2008–2009 à 2012– 2013. L'IFE a déjà fait l'objet de deux évaluations, en 1998 et en 2004, de deux évaluations des répercussions, en 2002 et 2008, et d'une vérification en 2008. En outre, les deux évaluations du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest, en 2003 et 2008, englobaient le volet exploitation de l'IFE. L'évaluation des répercussions de 2008 a confirmé que le programme atteignait les résultats escomptés, et la vérification de 2008 a révélé que le programme faisait l'objet d'une surveillance adéquate. Le fait que le programme a été bien étudié et n'a subi aucun changement important au cours des cinq dernières années porte à croire que l'évaluation présente un risque faible, et la conception de l'évaluation, les méthodes utilisées et les données ont été calibrées en conséquence.

Portée et objectifs de l'évaluation

L’évaluation de l’IFE se conforme à la Politique sur l’évaluation de 2009 du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) du Canada, et à la Norme d’évaluation pour le gouvernement du Canada. Comme l’exige la Politique sur l’évaluation du SCT, la totalité des dépenses de programmes directes doivent être évaluées tous les cinq ans. L’évaluation de l’IFE figurait au plan d’évaluation pluriannuel (2011-2016) de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada.

L’évaluation avait pour objectif de rendre compte à la direction et au SCT de la pertinence et du rendement de l’IFE, comme le veut la Politique sur l’évaluation de 2009 du SCT. Elle a aussi permis d’établir dans quelle mesure l’IFE a aidé les petites et moyennes entreprises exploitées par des femmes à prendre de la vigueur, et contribué au développement et à la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest du Canada.

Questions d'évaluation
Pertinence
  • L’IFE répond-elle à un besoin continu?
  • L’IFE est-elle conforme aux priorités du Ministère et du gouvernement fédéral?
  • L’IFE cadre-t-elle avec les rôles et les responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral?
Rendement
Atteinte des résultats escomptés

Extrants
Dans quelle mesure le programme a-t-il produit les extrants escomptés sur le plan des prêts et des services fournis aux entreprises?

Résultats
Dans quelle mesure le programme a-t-il atteint les objectifs escomptés, à savoir :

  • augmentation de la compétitivité et de la productivité des petites et moyennes entreprises;
     
  • intensification des investissements dans des entreprises ciblées de l'Ouest canadien;
     
  • renforcement des petites et moyennes entreprises contrôlées en totalité ou en majorité par des femmes dans l'Ouest canadien pour qu'elles aient la capacité de demeurer concurrentielles sur les marchés internationaux;
     
  • augmentation du nombre de travailleuses autonomes et du nombre de nouvelles entreprises dirigées par des femmes;
     
  • création et expansion d'entreprises contrôlées intégralement ou majoritairement par des femmes;
     
  • plus grande égalité économique entre les hommes et les femmes;
     
  • développement et diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien.

Facteurs de réussite
Quels sont les facteurs qui ont facilité ou freiné l'atteinte des résultats du programme?

Unexpected Outcomes
Le soutien du Ministère à l'innovation a-t-il eu des résultats inattendus (positifs ou négatifs)?

Efficience et économie
  • L'IFE produit-elle les résultats escomptés de la façon la plus économique possible?
     
  • Dans le cadre de l'IFE, l'efficience avec laquelle les activités sont réalisées et les produits fournis est-elle optimale?

 


[3] Modalités du programme de contribution appelé Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs : http://www.wd.gc.ca/fra/11984.asp.