Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Trends and Statistical Overview

Highlights, Challenges and Trends

  • WD has identified no significant multi-year trends pertaining to the types of request or the processing of requests received under the Access to Information Act.
     
  • WD identified only one challenge pertaining to administering its obligations under the Access to Information Act in 2012–2013. Specifically, attending quarterly Treasury Board Secretariat ATIP Coordinators and Practitioners meetings/workshops due to the significant cost of travelling to attend such meetings. The vast majority of the Government of Canada’s ATIP community is located in the National Capital Region (NCR). Most regional development agency’s ATIP offices, however, are located outside the NCR and travel costs associated to participate in these meeting are significantly higher. Currently, teleconference or video conferencing options are not available for the Practitioners’ meetings, which provide valuable information for this legislative requirement.
     
  • The ATIP Unit reviewed and provided advice on three evaluation related documents prior to information being posted to WD’s public web site, as well has provided advice and guidance concerning the department’s social media initiatives. This is down from 24 audit and evaluation reviews conducted in 2011–2012.
     
  • WD continues to share it policy, procedures, best practices and staff awareness materials with other regional development agencies, the Small Agency Administrator’s Network, and various other departments, including Veterans Affairs Canada and the Canadian Human Rights Commission in 2011–2012.
     
  • WD recognized Right to Know Week (September 24-28, 2012) via e-mail to all staff as a news bulletin on the department’s intranet site.

Statistical Overview

The following information provides additional context where appropriate to the statistical details found in Annex B – "Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act".

A.   Request Related Information

In 2012–2013, WD received 14 formal requests for information under to the Access to Information Act. This is a 27 percent increase from the previous fiscal year. The department also carried forward four requests from the 2011–2012 fiscal year, for a total of 18 requests.

The breakdown of the sources of new requests received in 2012–2013 is as follows:

  • 7 or 50% from the general public;
  • 4 or 29% from the media; and
  • 3 or 21% from business.

The accompanying chart compares the source of new requests between 2012–2013 and 2012–2013.

In addition, WD also received one request as a result of the posting of summaries of closed access requests.

Text version: Comparison of Requests by Source – 2012-2013 vs. 2011-2012.

Comparison of Requests by Source – 2012-2013 vs. 2011-2012

B.   Extensions of Time Limits and Consultations

Section 9 of the Act provides for the extension of the statutory time limits if the request is for a large volume of records or necessitates a search through a large volume of records and meeting the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the department; also, if consultations are necessary.

In 2012–2013, WD required one extension due to interference with departmental operations, as well as five requests required extensions to complete necessary consultations. Consultations were required on one additional request; however, the consultations were completed quickly and WD was able to respond within the original 30 days without taking an extension.

The accompanying table breaks down the six requests noted above, including the number of the days each request was extended by reason for extension, the total days allowed to respond with the extension, and the actual response time.

    Reason for the Extension and Number of Days Taken Actual Response Time (Days)
Search 3rd Party Consultation Allowed Taken
1 0 0 75 105 398
2 0 60 75 105 105
3 0 60 30 90 65
4 30 0 0 60 57
5 0 45 0 75 42
6 0 45 0 75 56

C.   Disposition, Completion Times and Method of Access

WD completed 75% of its requests within 30 days. The accompanying table analyzes the disposition and completion times for the 18 requested completed within this reporting period.

Disposition of Requests Completion Times
1-15 Days 16-30-Days 31-60 Days 61-120 Days 365+ Days
All disclosed   4      
Disclosed in part   4 3 2 1
All exempted   1      
No records exist 1        
Request abandoned 2        

Of the requests completed during the reporting period, four requests totalling 1,135 pages were disclosed in their entirety. Of the 10 requests disclosed in part, 1,889 pages were processed and 1,814 pages disclosed.

WD provided records responding to four requests electronically and 10 in paper format.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

D.   Exemptions and Exclusions Invoked

Of the 18 requests closed in 2012–2013, exemptions were applied pursuant to the Act on 11 requests. If three different exemptions were applied to a request, one exemption under each relevant section would be reported for a total of three; however, the same exemption claimed several times in the same request is captured only once in the statistics.

The accompanying table compares the number of exemptions applied during 2012–2013 and 2011–2012 fiscal years.

Exemption
Invoked
Subsection 2012–2013 2011–2012
13(1) (c) 1 0
14 (a)
(b)
1
1
0
16(2)   0 0
16.1(1) (a) 1 0
18   0 0
19(1)   6 1
20(1) (b)
(c)
(d)
9
4
4
2
1
0
21(1) (a)
(b)
(c)
(d)
7
4
4
3
2
1
1
0
23   3 1
26   1 1

Sections 20(1) and 21(1) of the Act were the most utilized exemption during the reporting period. Section 20(1) was applied to nine requests, and Section 21(1) was applied to eight requested.

The Act does not apply to certain materials such as published material pursuant to Section 68 or confidences of the Queen’s Privy Council pursuant to Section 69. WD did not invoke Section 68, but did invoke Section 69(1) on one request during the 2012–2013 reporting period.

E.   Other Government Department Consultations

WD was consulted by other federal departments on 24 occasions and twice by provincial government departments in 2012–2013, for a total of 26 consultations. This was a 53 percent increase from 2012–2013.

  • Of these consultations from other federal departments, three were courtesy notices; however, WD reviews this information carefully to ensure the information being disclosed about the department is accurate.
     
  • WD recommended full disclosure of information pertaining to our department on 18 consultation requests.
     
  • WD recommended partial disclosure of information pertaining to our department on four consultation requests.
     
  • WD also recommended consultations with other government organizations or third parties on two consultation requests.
     
  • WD reviewed 583 pages in total.
     
  • WD responded to all 26 consultations within 15 days.

F.   Complaints and Investigations

WD received no complaints pursuant to the Access to Information Act in 2012–2013, and there were no appeals or applications submitted to the Federal Court.

G.   Fees and Operational Costs Associated with Administering the Act

Access to Information fees collected during the reporting period totalled $103.80. These fees include application fees for 14 requests and $33.80 for reproduction costs. During the same period, WD waived reproduction fees totalling $496.40. (Note: The reproduction fees, both fees collected and waived, reported here are the actual fees; fees reported in the Statistical Report are rounded up due to reporting limitations of the report.)

WD’s cost for administrating the Access to Information Act is estimated as follows:

  • the ATIP Unit salary costs, including a portion of the ATIP Coordinator’s and Deputy ATIP Coordinator’s salaries, and 60 percent of the ATIP Officer’s salary (a total of .79 FTE/year);
     
  • goods and services, including professional services contracts and ATIP unit travel and training costs;
     
  • administrative operation and maintenance costs, which includes non-salary expenses associated with the processing of access requests, and ATIP case management system licensing and upgrades; and
     
  • additional salary-related costs, which incorporate estimated costs for other departmental officials to retrieve, review and make recommendations concerning records responding to access requests and translation of staff awareness materials and privacy-related documents.
ATIP Unit Salaries $61,600
Goods and Services $13,681
Total ATIP Unit Costs $74,681
Additional salary-related costs $13,152
TOTAL DEPARTMENTAL COSTS $87,896

The additional costs included above, which are not all captured in the Statistical Report, provide a more complete picture of the overall cost to the department to administer all aspects of its activities related to the Access to Information Act.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Survol des tendances et des données statistiques

Points saillants, défis et tendances

  • DEO n’a dégagé aucune tendance pluriannuelle importante en ce qui a trait aux types de demandes ou au traitement des demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.
     
  • En 2012-2013, DEO n’a cerné qu’un seul défi concernant l’administration de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Plus précisément, il est difficile d’assister aux réunions ou aux ateliers trimestriels à l’intention des coordonnateurs et des praticiens de l’AIPRP du SCT en raison des frais de déplacement considérables. La grande majorité des employés de l’AIPRP au gouvernement fédéral oeuvrent dans la région de la capitale nationale (RCN). Par contre, la plupart des bureaux des agences de développement régional sont situés à l’extérieur de la RCN et les frais associés à la participation aux réunions sont beaucoup plus élevés. Pour l’instant, les réunions des praticiens, qui permettent de transmettre de l’information utile au respect des exigences prévues par la loi, ne peuvent se tenir par téléconférence ou par vidéoconférence.
     
  • La Section de l’AIPRP a examiné trois documents liés à des vérifications et à des évaluations, fourni des conseils à leur sujet avant que l’information ne soit affichée sur le site Web public de DEO et donné des avis et une orientation concernant les initiatives ministérielles reposant sur les médias sociaux. Cela est inférieur aux 24 examens de vérification et d’évaluation réalisés en 2011–2012.
     
  • DEO a continué de communiquer ses politiques, ses procédures, ses pratiques exemplaires et ses documents de sensibilisation des employés à d’autres organismes de développement régional et au Réseau des administrateurs de petits organismes, ainsi qu’à divers autres ministères, notamment Anciens combattants Canada et la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.
     
  • DEO a envoyé un courriel à tous les employés pour souligner la Semaine canadienne du droit à l’information (du 24 au 28 septembre 2012) et a affiché un bulletin de nouvelles à ce sujet sur son site intranet.

Survol des données statistiques

Les renseignements qui suivent fournissent de l'information contextuelle, le cas échéant, qui s'ajoute aux détails statistiques figurant dans l'annexe B – Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

A.   Renseignements liés aux demandes

En 2012–2013, DEO a reçu 14 demandes officielles d'information en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Il s'agit d'une augmentation de 27 p. 100 par rapport à l'exercice précédent. Le Ministère a également reporté quatre demandes qui avaient été présentées en 2011–2012, pour un total de 18 demandes.

Voici la répartition des sources des nouvelles demandes reçues en 2012–2013 :

  • 7 demandes ou 50 p. 100 provenant du public en général;
  • 4 demandes ou 29 p. 100 provenant des médias;
  • 3 demandes ou 21 p. 100 provenant des entreprises.

Le tableau ci-contre compare la source des nouvelles demandes de 2012–2013 à celle des demandes de 2011–2012.

En outre, DEO a reçu une demande à la suite de l'affichage des sommaires des demandes d'accès complétées.

Version textuelle : Source des demandes reçues en 2012-2013 par rapport à 2011-2012.

Source des demandes reçues en 2012-2013 par rapport à 2011-2012.

B.   Prorogations des délais et consultations

L’article 9 de la Loi prévoit la prorogation du délai prévu par la Loi si des consultations sont nécessaires, si la demande porte sur un important volume de documents ou si le traitement de la demande dans le délai prévu entrave de manière déraisonnable le fonctionnement du Ministère et aussi s’il faut mener des consultations.

En 2012–2013, DEO a eu recours à une prorogation en raison d’entrave au fonctionnement du Ministère, et cinq demandes ont fait l’objet d’une demande de prorogation pour accorder au Ministère le temps de procéder aux consultations nécessaires. Cependant, les consultations se sont déroulées rapidement et DEO a pu répondre en respectant le délai initial de 30 jours sans recourir à une prorogation.

Le tableau ci-dessous donne la répartition des six demandes mentionnées précédemment ainsi que le nombre de jours de prorogation, le nombre total de jours accordés pour répondre en tenant compte de la prorogation, et le temps de réponse réel.

    Raison de la prorogation et nombre de jours requis Temps de réponse réel (jours)
Recherche Tierce partie Consultations Accordé Réel
1 0 0 75 105 398
2 0 60 75 105 105
3 0 60 30 90 65
4 30 0 0 60 57
5 0 45 0 75 42
6 0 45 0 75 56

C.   Disposition, délais d'achèvement et méthode d'accès

DEO a conclu 75 p. 100 de ses demandes dans un délai de 30 jours. Le tableau ci-dessous présente une analyse de la disposition et du délai de traitement des 18 demandes conclues au cours de la période visée par le rapport.

Disposition des demandes Completion Times
1 à 15 jours 16 à 30 jours 31 à 60 jours 61 à 120 jours Plus de 365 jours
Communication totale   4      
Communication partielle   4 3 2 1
Tous exemptés   1      
Tous exclus 1        
Demande abandonnée 2        

Sur le nombre de demandes d’accès complétées pendant la période visée par le rapport, quatre demandes totalisant 1 135 pages ont donné lieu à la communication de toute l’information demandée. Des trois demandes qui ont donné lieu à la communication d’une partie de l’information, 1 889 pages d’information ont été traitées et 1 814 pages ont été divulguées.

DEO a fourni des dossiers pour répondre par voie électronique à quatre demandes d’information, et sur papier pour répondre à 10 demandes.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

D.   Exemptions and Exclusions Invoked

Des exceptions ont été invoquées en vertu de la Loi pour 11 des 18 demandes conclues en 2012–2013. Si trois exceptions différentes sont invoquées pour une demande, une exception en vertu de chaque article pertinent est indiquée pour un total de trois exceptions; cependant, si une même exception est invoquée plusieurs fois pour la même demande, elle n’est entrée qu’une seule fois dans les données statistiques.

Le tableau ci-dessous donne le nombre d'exceptions invoquées au cours de l'exercice de 2012–2013 comparativement au nombre de 2011–2012.

Exceptions
invoquées
Paragraphe 2012–2013 2011–2012
13(1) (c) 1 0
14 (a)
(b)
1
1
0
16(2)   0 0
16.1(1) (a) 1 0
18   0 0
19(1)   6 1
20(1) (b)
(c)
(d)
9
4
4
2
1
0
21(1) (a)
(b)
(c)
(d)
7
4
4
3
2
1
1
0
23   3 1
26   1 1

Les paragraphes 20(1) et 21(1) de la Loi sont les exceptions qui ont été le plus souvent utilisées pendant la période visée par le rapport. Le paragraphe 20(1) a été invoqué pour neuf demandes, le paragraphe 21(1) pour huit demandes.

La Loi ne s'applique pas à certains documents, comme ceux qui ont été publiés, aux termes de l'article 68, et les documents confidentiels du Conseil privé de la Reine, aux termes de l'article 69. DEO n'a pas invoqué l'article 68, mais a invoqué le paragraphe 69(1) pour une demande au cours de la période de rapport 2012–2013.

E.   Consultations par d'autres ministères

DEO a été consulté par d'autres ministères du gouvernement fédéral à 24 occasions et par des ministères des gouvernements provinciaux à 2 reprises en 2012–2013, pour un total de 26 consultations. Cela représente une augmentation de 53 p. 100 par rapport à 2011–2012.

  • Trois des consultations par d'autres ministères du gouvernement fédéral étaient des avis de courtoisie, cela dit, DEO examine attentivement les renseignements fournis afin de s'assurer que l'information divulguée au sujet du Ministère était exacte.
  • Pour 18 demandes de consultation, DEO a recommandé que toute l'information soit divulguée en ce qui concerne le Ministère.
  • Pour quatre demandes de consultation, DEO a recommandé la divulgation d'une partie de l'information concernant le Ministère.
  • DEO a recommandé des consultations avec d'autres organismes du gouvernement ou des tierces parties dans le cadre de deux demandes de consultation.
  • DEO a examiné 583 pages en tout.
  • DEO a répondu à l'ensemble des 26 demandes de consultation dans un délai de 15 jours.

F.   Plaintes et enquêtes

DEO n’a reçu aucune plainte en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2012–2013, et aucune demande d’appel ou autre n’a été présentée à la Cour fédérale.

G.   Frais et coûts opérationnels liés à l'administration de la Loi

Les frais d'accès à l'information recueillis durant la période visée par le rapport s'élèvent à 103,80 $. Cela comprend les frais de demande pour 14 demandes et 33,80 $ en frais de reproduction. Au cours de la même période, DEO a renoncé à des frais de reproduction totalisant 496,40 $. (Nota : Les frais de reproduction indiqués dans ce paragraphe, qu’il s’agisse des frais recueillis ou des frais auxquels le Ministère a renoncé, sont les frais réels facturés; les frais qui apparaissent dans le rapport statistique sont arrondis en raison des restrictions relatives à la présentation du rapport.)

Les coûts associés à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information par DEO sont estimés comme suit :

  • les coûts salariaux de la Section de l'AIPRP, y compris une partie des salaires du coordonnateur et du coordonnateur adjoint, et 60 p. 100 du salaire de l'agente de l'AIPRP (total de 0,79 ETP/année);
     
  • les biens et services, y compris les contrats de services professionnels et les frais de déplacement et de formation de la Section de l'AIPRP;
     
  • les coûts administratifs, de fonctionnement et d’entretien, qui comprennent les dépenses non salariales liées au traitement des demandes d’accès ainsi que l’obtention des licences et les mises à niveau pour le système de gestion de cas de l’AIPRP;
     
  • les coûts additionnels liés aux salaires, qui englobent les coûts approximatifs liés à la recherche et à l’examen, par d’autres fonctionnaires du Ministère, des documents permettant de répondre aux demandes d’accès, ainsi qu’à la formulation de recommandations à cet égard, et les coûts approximatifs liés à la traduction de documents de sensibilisation des employés et de documents liés à la vie privée.
Coûts salariaux de la Section de l’AIPRP 61 600 $
Biens et services 13 681 $
Coûts totaux pour la Section de l'AIPRP 74 681 $
Coûts additionnels liés aux salaires 13 152 $
TOTAL DES COÛTS MINISTÉRIELS 87 896 $

Les coûts additionnels indiqués ci-dessus, qui ne figurent pas tous dans le rapport statistique, fournissent un portrait plus exhaustif du coût global, pour le Ministère, de l’administration de tous les aspects de ses activités qui sont liés à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.