Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Submit an Application

The intake period for the Western Innovation Initiative is now closed.

How to Apply

The WINN Initiative will be delivered through a call for proposals process where applicants will have 30 days to submit their application. Saved applications that have not been submitted during an application period will not be accessible and cannot be submitted once the deadline has passed. 

Responses provided to the questions on your Application Form, as well as accompanying attachments, will form your business’ proposal for WINN funding. You should respond to these elements in a thorough, concise and clear manner, and ensure that all necessary attachments are included.

How WD Assesses Your Application

The WINN application process involves two stages of assessment.

Stage 1: Eligibility & Pre-Screening

Part one of the application will be used to assess eligibility based on the mandatory WINN criteria. Eligible applicants whose applications are supported by a current business plan, recent financial statements, and evidence of confirmation of other funding sources will be included in the competitive pre-screening process and will be evaluated against other proposals received during the intake period. The strongest proposals, based on assessment criteria, will be invited to complete part two of the WINN application form. Qualification for further assessment in stage two does not constitute an offer of funding.

For stage one, applicants must submit:

  • A completed WINN Initiative Application Form (Part One only);
  • Evidence of confirmation of all other funding sources;
  • Viable business plan (refer to the Applicant Guide for details);  and
  • Current financial statements.

In addition the following submission items are considered assets:

  • Independent market assessment; and
  • Evidence of market demand such as purchase orders, letters of intent, etc...

Stage 2: Detailed Assessment

Using Part Two of the application form, applicants advanced to Stage Two will be asked to submit additional project details focusing on the technology and IP strategy of the proposed project. This information will be required within a specified period of time.

The information provided in Part Two of the application form will be used in conjunction with the information already received in Part One to assess the full application and form the basis for funding decisions. As the assessment proceeds, WD may request additional information and supporting documentation from applicants, as well as establish deadlines for the provision of information. Verification of the information used to determine eligibility will also take place at this stage.

All applications will be evaluated on their ability to achieve WINN objectives and their relative strengths in the areas of market potential, management team, technology readiness, and financial capacity.

WINN Evaluators

National Research Council - Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP)

WD will engage the technical services of the National Research Council’s Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP) to conduct the technical assessment of proposals. IRAP will use its network of Industrial Technology Advisors for this purpose.

Ministerial Advisory Council

WD will establish a Ministerial Advisory Council comprised of experts in the field of technology commercialization, entrepreneurs, and others in related fields that will provide strategic advice on the suite of projects under consideration by the department. Members of this Council will be required to sign a confidentiality agreement and a conflict of interest agreement with WD.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Présenter une demande

La période de réception des demandes dans le cadre de l’Initiative d’innovation dans l’Ouest est maintenant terminée.

Comment présenter une demande

L'Initiative InnO sera lancée par un appel de propositions dans le cadre duquel les demandeurs disposeront de 30 jours pour présenter leur demande. Les demandes sauvegardées qui n'ont pas été présentées pendant ladite période de réception des demandes ne seront pas récupérables et ne pourront être présentées après l'expiration du délai. 

Les réponses aux questions du formulaire de demande de financement de l'Initiative InnO constituent la proposition de votre entreprise. Vous devez fournir des renseignements complets, concis et clairs en vous assurant de joindre à votre demande tous les documents connexes exigés.

Comment DEO évalue votre demande

Le processus d'évaluation des demandes se déroule en deux étapes.

Étape un : Admissibilité et évaluation préliminaire

La première partie de la demande servira à évaluer l'admissibilité selon les critères obligatoires de l'Initiative InnO. Les demandeurs admissibles dont la demande sera étayée par un plan d'affaires courant, des états financiers récents et une preuve de confirmation des autres sources de financement pourront participer au processus d'évaluation préliminaire pendant lequel leurs mérites seront évalués en fonction des autres projets présentés. Les demandeurs dont les projets s’avèrent être du plus grand mérite, en fonction des critères d’évaluation, seront invités à remplir la deuxième partie du formulaire de l'Initiative InnO. L'admission à une évaluation plus poussée à l'étape deux ne constitue pas une offre de financement.

Pour la première étape, les demandeurs doivent présenter :

  • un formulaire de demande de financement de l'Initiative InnO (première partie seulement) dûment rempli;
  • des confirmations officielles des autres sources de financement;
  • un plan d'affaires viable;
  • des états financiers courants;
  • une certification ou évaluation écrite de la technologie (si disponible);
  • une évaluation indépendante du marché (si disponible);
  • une preuve de la demande du marché, comme des bons de commande, des lettres d’intention, etc. (si disponible).

Étape deux : Évaluation détaillée

Les renseignements fournis dans la deuxième partie du formulaire seront ajoutés aux renseignements déjà reçus pour évaluer la demande et décider d'accorder ou non une aide financière. Au cours du processus d'évaluation, le Ministère pourra demander des renseignements supplémentaires avec documents à l'appui et exiger une réponse dans un délai donné. La vérification des renseignements servant à établir l'admissibilité des demandes sera également menée à cette étape.

Tous les projets seront évalués en fonction de leur capacité d'atteindre les objectifs de l'Initiative InnO et de leurs forces relatives dans les domaines suivants : potentiel de commercialisation; équipe de direction; niveau de maturité technologique; capacité financière.

Évaluateurs de l'Initiative InnO

Conseil national de recherches du Canada – Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (CNR-PARI)

DEO aura recours aux services techniques du Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI) du Conseil national de recherches du Canada pour l’évaluation technique des demandes. Le PARI utilisera son réseau de conseillers en technologie industrielle pour mener cette tâche.

Conseil consultatif ministériel

DEO créera un conseil consultatif ministériel formé d’experts en commercialisation de technologie, d’entrepreneurs et d’experts de secteurs connexes qui lui fournira des conseils stratégiques sur les projets évalués. Les membres du Conseil devront signer une entente de confidentialité et une entente concernant les conflits d’intérêts.