Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Management Response and Action Plan

Management Response

Western Economic Partnership Agreements (WEPA) were a multi-year federal-provincial decision-making tool designed to identify and invest in projects that strengthen economic activity. Through individual agreements signed with each provincial government in Western Canada, Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) and the respective provincial government provide a matching contribution, enabling significant investments in projects that support national economic priorities while responding to the unique opportunities within each province.

Although the 2011 evaluation of WEPA did not have any specific recommendations, WD has reviewed and is providing the following response to the key conclusions.

Relevance

1.  The need exists for economic development projects in western Canada.

AgreedWD agrees with the evaluation’s conclusion that economic development projects, like those that it has funded under WEPA, are still needed because they support critical areas of the economy. Many of the projects funded under WEPA could have been done within WD’s existing programs.

The Western Diversification Program provides ongoing capacity and flexibility to jointly fund initiatives with the provinces through eligible organizations. New programming will create additional opportunities for WD to work with provinces to engage new clients on projects focused on technology commercialization and international trade.

2.  The projects funded were aligned with departmental strategic outcomes and government-wide priorities, and were consistent with the priorities of the federal government.

AgreedWD agrees with the evaluation’s conclusion that projects funded were consistent with the federal government’s agenda in Western Canada and departmental priorities. WD believes that moving forward without a formal federal-provincial agreement will improve the ability of both WD and the provinces to more quickly to adjust to any changes in priorities required to address a specific economic reality.

Performance (Efficiency, Effectiveness and Economy)

3.  Although most of the projects are still ongoing, there has been significant progress made already towards meeting their objectives and generating expected impacts.

AgreedWD recognizes the importance of working with the provinces to advance economic development priorities and diversification objectives for western Canada. The solid foundation built over the past 22 years assures that, moving forward, WD will continue to work with the provinces to invest in projects that will support communities, jobs and growth in the West without the need for a formal federal-provincial agreement.
WD agrees that the 38 percent of projects which have been completed have demonstrated significant progress towards achieving their objectives. WD will continue to actively monitor and report on the remaining projects throughout their life cycle through regular department performance reporting processes.

4.  The WEPA decision making process had both some benefits and challenges.

AgreedWD recognizes the importance of working with the provinces to advance economic development priorities and diversification objectives for western Canada. WD believes the absence of a formal federal-provincial agreement will provide even greater flexibility while removing some of the administrative challenges such as complexity of the project approval process, a lack of coordination in performance reporting requirements and challenges in defining new joint priorities. Taking a more flexible approach will allow WD to continue to invest in collaborative projects; encourage cooperation with the provinces; and remove administrative challenges.

5.  The funded projects leveraged significant funds from other sources.

Agreed – Project proponents noted that departmental funding of projects signals government support, which helps to provide market credibility as well as attract additional private sector funding and participation. This will not change in the absence of a formal federal-provincial agreement.

WD will continue to invest in projects and no reduction in funding available is planned in any western province as a result of this decision. New programming will create additional opportunities for WD to work with provinces to engage new clients on projects focused on technology commercialization and international trade and a more explicit engagement of industry will also facilitate greater private sector investment, share the risk and increase the potential for long-term economic growth.

6.  Key informants provided a variety of suggestions for improvement.

Agreed - In launching of the new Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund, WD is piloting the use of an online application and a new Client Relationship Management program, which will improve the application and review processes and facilitate better communication. The lessons learned from this pilot will be applied to other departmental programs and address some of the suggestions made by key informants as part of the WEPA evaluation.

Conclusion:

Although the department has decided to not enter into formal federal-provincial agreements, WD will continue to work closely with the provinces and industry to invest in initiatives that support communities, jobs and growth in the West.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Réponse de la direction et plan d’action

Réponse de la direction

Les Ententes de partenariat pour le développement économique de l'Ouest (EPDEO) étaient des outils de prise de décisions fédéral-provincial pluriannuels qui servaient à identifier des projets dans lesquels investir pour renforcer l'activité économique. Dans le cadre de ces ententes, Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et chacune des provinces de l'Ouest canadien investissaient à parts égales dans des projets qui soutenaient les priorités économiques nationales tout en tenant compte des particularités régionales.

Bien que l'évaluation des EPDEO de 2011 ne proposait aucune recommandation particulière, DEO a analysé le rapport et a fourni les réponses suivantes aux principales conclusions.

Pertinence

1.  Il existe un besoin de mettre en œuvre des projets de développement économique dans l'Ouest canadien.

D'accordDEO pense également que des projets de développement économique comme ceux qu'il a financés dans le cadre des EPDEO sont toujours nécessaires parce qu'ils soutiennent des secteurs critiques de l'économie. Un grand nombre de ces projets auraient pu être menés dans le cadre des programmes actuels de DEO.

Le Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest détient les ressources et la souplesse nécessaires pour financer conjointement avec les provinces des initiatives proposées par des organisations admissibles. La création de nouveaux programmes offrira à DEO des occasions supplémentaires de travailler avec les provinces pour engager de nouveaux clients dans des projets axés sur la commercialisation de la technologie et le commerce international.

2.  Les projets financés correspondaient aux résultats stratégiques du Ministère et aux priorités ministérielles et fédérales.

D'accordDEO pense également que les projets financés correspondaient au programme du gouvernement fédéral dans l'Ouest canadien et aux priorités ministérielles. DEO pense que l'absence continue d'une entente fédérale provinciale officielle améliorera sa capacité et celle des provinces de s'adapter à l'évolution des priorités afin de mieux tenir compte des conditions économiques particulières.

Rendement (efficience, efficacité et économie)

3.  Bien que la plupart des projets soient encore en cours, les progrès accomplis vers l'atteinte de leurs objectifs et des résultats attendus sont déjà considérables.

D'accordDEO reconnaît l'importance de collaborer avec les provinces pour soutenir les priorités de développement économique et atteindre les objectifs de diversification dans l'Ouest canadien. Les fondations solides résultant de 22 années de travail aideront DEO à continuer de collaborer avec les provinces pour investir dans des projets qui stimulent la croissance des collectivités, la création d'emplois et la croissance économique dans l'Ouest canadien sans qu'il soit nécessaire de conclure une entente fédérale provinciale officielle.

DEO est également d'avis que les 38 p. 100 des projets qui ont été menés à terme sont en bonne voie d'atteindre leurs objectifs. Le Ministère continuera de surveiller les projets en cours et de rendre compte de leur progression tout au long de leur cycle de vie au moyen de ses mécanismes normaux de production de rapports de rendement.

4.  Le processus décisionnel des EPDEO présentait à la fois des avantages et des difficultés.

D'accordDEO reconnaît l'importance de travailler avec les provinces afin de promouvoir les priorités de développement économiques et les objectifs de diversification dans l'Ouest canadien. DEO estime que l'absence d'entente fédérale provinciale officielle crée une plus grande marge de manœuvre tout en éliminant certains irritants administratifs comme la complexité du processus d'approbation des projets, le manque de coordination des exigences de reddition de comptes sur le rendement et la difficulté de formuler de nouvelles priorités communes. Une approche plus souple lui permettra de continuer d'investir dans des projets concertés, d'encourager la collaboration entre les provinces et d'éliminer les irritants administratifs.

5.  Les projets financés ont obtenu un financement important d'autres sources.

D'accord – Les promoteurs de projets ont observé que l'obtention de fonds gouvernementaux accroît leur crédibilité sur le marché et encourage le secteur privé à financer leurs projets et à y participer. L'absence d'entente fédérale provinciale officielle ne modifiera pas cet état de chose.

DEO continuera d'investir dans des projets et cette décision n'entraînera aucune réduction des fonds disponibles dans l'une ou l'autre des provinces de l'Ouest. La création de nouveaux programmes offrira à DEO des occasions supplémentaires de travailler avec les provinces pour engager de nouveaux clients dans des projets axés sur la commercialisation de la technologie et le commerce international. De plus, un engagement plus explicite de l'industrie favorisera l'augmentation des investissements du secteur privé, un meilleur partage des risques et une plus forte croissance économique à long terme.

6.  Les principaux répondants ont suggéré diverses améliorations.

D'accord – Avec le lancement du nouveau Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire, DEO met à l'essai une application en ligne et un nouveau programme de gestion des relations avec les clients qui amélioreront le processus de présentation et d'évaluation des demandes et faciliteront la communication. Les leçons tirées de cette mise à l'essai seront appliquées à d'autres programmes du Ministère et donneront suite à certaines des suggestions des principaux répondants dans le cadre de l'évaluation des EPDEO.

Conclusion

Bien qu'il ait décidé de ne pas conclure d'ententes fédérales-provinciales officielles, DEO continuera de travailler en étroite collaboration avec les provinces et l'industrie pour investir dans des initiatives qui stimulent la croissance des collectivités, la création d'emplois et la croissance économique dans l'Ouest canadien.