Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Performance: Demonstration of Efficiency and Economy

Economy

For the most part, the programming was well-structured but process changes could have improved effectiveness.

For the most part, proponents believed the department was achieving its intended outcomes in an economical manner. Proponents, key informants and focus group participants commonly suggested the department could operate more economically by reducing paperwork and effort required for project development/application, project review/approval and for the accounting aspects of the reporting process. Focus group participants also questioned the purpose of the department's consultation component of the project development phase: to some proponents, it appeared to be an artificial exercise with an unclear goal.

Design of the programming

Most proponents approved of the design of the innovation programming, particularly its flexibility in comparison to other programs that have very specific and limited criteria. Some proponents felt the programming could be improved by decreasing approval times and allowing for the alteration of projects during the life-cycle. Approval times were somewhat long: 24% were within three months and 38% were more than six months (five of these were more than two years). Some practices that were working well for the department and some possible improvements included:

  • The open application process and early dialogue had some advantages. An open application process uses flexible application timelines which allow proponents to apply for funding at any time. The department currently follows an open application process which proponents consider a key programming success factor that allows for early dialogue with the department to shape the project. The department could improve the effectiveness of the early dialogue by clarifying departmental priorities and focus for proponents so they can align projects. One disadvantage of the open application process is that it can lead to a short window of time between project approval and March 31, the date at which the proponent is required to have spent their annual budget. Although proponents can request a reprofiling of funds from one fiscal year to the next, it is often not possible because the budget is fully committed for the upcoming year.
     
  • Partnerships with co-funders had advantages and disadvantages. The department currently partners with other funders. Key informants and focus group participants saw several advantages to partnering. Partnering allows the department to benefit from the sector-specific knowledge of those partners. This provides the department with a strong indication that the project will benefit the intended industrial sector and reduces the risk involved in funding innovation. Funding not-for-profit organizations in collaboration with co-funders brings industry stakeholders together in a non-competitive way. This creates synergies within and across sectors, moves sectors forward and permits greater coverage of industry than direct support to companies. Co-funders provide a good proxy for the relevance of a project. There are also some disadvantages. It may be unreasonable to expect co-funders to support truly leading edge innovative projects and that these proponents spend time pursuing additional funds instead of undertaking their projects. In order to match funding, proponents must find two aligning funding sources at the same time that have similar priorities and are willing to fund the same type of project.
     
  • Coordination of programming could enhance regional strengths. Focus groups participants felt that regional organizations that promote innovation could be coordinated with one another and that the department was well positioned to bring organizations together to coordinate priorities and build upon regional strengths.
     
  • Funding advances could have helped with cash flow problems. Many funding organizations provide up-front funding with year-end reconciliation. Because departmental funding is in the form of contributions rather than grants, eligible expenses are reimbursed, which can take several months and cause significant cash flow problems and hardship for proponents. The department can advance money, however the proponent must demonstrate need, which is difficult under the department's current set of requirements for advances. Only 31 (15%) of the 202 projects received any advance funding and the proportion appears to decrease over time with only 10% receiving advances since 2009. This raises questions as to the accessibility of advance funding.
     
  • Funding for ongoing operational costs. Thirteen key informants (proponents, staff, co-funders and non-recipients) indicated the department could provide ongoing funding for operational costs of program-based organizations. Focus group participants were divided on the benefit of ongoing funding: some felt it would create a dependence on departmental funding while others felt programs need ongoing funding for sustainabililty and there is no other source of funding.
     
  • Support for not-for-profit organizations versus companies. Eight key informants (proponents, staff, experts and co-funders) believed the department should support companies directly and three of the innovation experts emphasized that the farther away the intervention is from industry, the less the impact on industry. Some focus group participants agreed that greater outcomes would be achieved if the department supported companies directly. However, direct funding to the private sector is risky and a better option would be to provide funding through, for example, not-for-profit commercialization groups because these organizations have worked with the private sector and therefore: 1) are in a position to assess the risks and "weed out" potentially unsuccessful companies; and 2) understand the significant time and effort required in coaching, mentoring and training. Some focus group participants disagreed with direct department support to companies because it would overlap with other programs and department officers would require specific training to support companies effectively.

Efficiency

Administrative Efficiency

As a measure of administrative efficiency, the department's total dollars spent on transfer payments for innovation ($72.8 million) was compared to total operating expenses for innovation ($5.7 million)22. The comparison showed that it cost the department one dollar to award and manage $12.80 in innovation transfer payments. The department's efficiency compares favourably with other departments' grants and contributions programs reporting $3.6323, $6.1024 and $11.125 in transfer payments per one dollar cost to the department; however, these measures reflect a wide variety of factors and may not be directly comparable to the innovation programming.

The department's operating resources included 28 full time equivalent (FTE) staff in 2010-11, down from 33 FTE in 2009-10.

For the most part, proponents believed that the department was undertaking activities in an efficient manner. The two most common suggestions for improvements were: 1) improve the approval process in terms of the number of proposal iterations required, the unpredictability of approval, and timeliness to receive a decision; and 2) increased flexibility in departmental accounting and reporting processes.

On average, key informants also felt activities were undertaken in an efficient manner. Some proponents were operating under the incorrect perception that the department does not have programs. The proponents stated that, since the department does not have specific programs but funds specific projects instead, the department can be efficient, focused, directed, and clear in what they are asking for. Those key informants who provided a high efficiency rating credited departmental staff for facilitating an efficient process through the development of a strong working relationship early on in the process. Other interviewees provided two reasons for providing a lower efficiency rating: 1) the slow approval process that lacked transparency; and 2) onerous financial or performance reporting requirements.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Cost-Effectiveness

Although most projects required co-funders, there were three exceptions - two projects funded under the Western Economic Partnership Agreements and another funded under the Western Diversification Program. The Western Economic Partnership Agreements allow the department to fund entire projects. The third project, funded under the Western Diversification Program, funded equipment costs that could not be covered because of cost overruns during the construction of two facilities. The facilities were nearing completion but could not function as intended without the equipment. On average, the department funded 29% of project costs. Department funding was instrumental in attracting some funding from other sources (Table 5.1). Table 5.2 summarizes the department's contribution to the total project costs and the dollars contributed by other funders for each departmental dollar invested (dollars leveraged). Although leveraging varied by program, overall, each department dollar was matched by $2.50 from other contributors. A leveraging ratio of $2.50 compares favourably with the $1.44 leveraged by other innovation programming26.

Table 5.1 Collaborative Funding (Millions of dollars), April, 2007 to June 2011
Program Partner Funding Contribution ($, % of total cost)
Other
Federal
Provincial Municipal Other Total
Partner
Funding
WDP $79 (15%) $88 (16%) $1 (0%) $196 (36%) 67%
WEPA* $114 (38%) 57 (19%) 0 $70 (23%) 80%
Innovation Total $246 (23%) 203 (19%) 1(0%) $314 (29%) 71%
* Includes Western Economic Partnership Agreements round 2 and round 3.

 

Table 5.2 Departmental Contributions (Millions of dollars) and Leveraging Ratios, April, 2007 to June 2011
Program Total WD contribution (% of total cost) Total Cost Of Projects Dollars Leveraged Per
WD Dollar
WDP $176M (33%) $539M 2
WEPA* $59M (20%) $300M 4
Innovation Total $306M (29%) $1,070M 2.5
* Includes Western Economic Partnership Agreements round 2 and round 3.

Mapping Analysis Results

It is difficult to place the department's programming within the spectrum of all innovation programming in Canada, partly because there are approximately 500 federal and provincial programs that fund research, technology or firm development in Canada27 and partly because there is limited evaluation information on the programs. However, the mapping analysis found significant regional variation in both the number and focus of other programming open to proponents funded by the department. In British Columbia there were four notable innovation funding organizations focusing primarily on funding specific geographic areas of the province or specific sectors of technology. In Alberta, there were six funding organizations and the focus was on commercialization. In Saskatchewan there was three funding agencies and a strong sectoral focus on agricultural bioproducts. Manitoba has recently undergone a change towards consolidating its provincial support for innovation.

Best Practices and Possible Improvements

Bringing together the results from all lines of evidence collected under this evaluation yields the following list of best practices and opportunities for improvement.

  • Best Practices. Practices that seem to be working well for the department and its proponents include the open application process, the department's early dialogues with proponents and the department's partnerships with co-funders.
     
  • Possible Improvement: Program Delivery. Focus group participants and proponents suggested opportunities to simplify program delivery to save departmental resources and reduce client stress. The department can: review its requirements for funding advances to improve accessibility to proponents; reduce the time and paperwork involved in the application, approval and accounting/reporting processes; and provide proponents with clarification on departmental programming, priorities/focus and the purpose of the consultative process.
     
  • Possible Improvement: Programming Focus. The department can improve its innovation programming by focusing on priority areas while at the same time maintaining some of the flexibility that has allowed the department to fill funding gaps and accommodate regional variations and needs. Interviewees suggested possible areas of focus, such as whether to fund not-for-profit organizations and/or companies and whether to focus on research and/or commercialization. Commercialization likely requires a longer term, riskier approach than the current approach. In fact, in its own research, the department identified a funding gap in access to risk capital and a potential need for government involvement in technology commercialization for firms in Western Canada.28 Other literature cautions, however, that the issue is more complicated than just increasing access to risk capital. The innovation expert member of our steering committee highlighted research showing that commercialization is most likely to occur when there is a 3:1 ratio of private to public investment in research and development; the corresponding ratios of private:public investment in western Canada have changed little since 2002-2003 when they were: 1.13:1 (British Columbia), 0.73:1 (Alberta), 0.30:1 (Saskatchewan) and 0.45:1 (Manitoba).29
     
  • Possible Improvement: Performance measurement: the evaluation was hindered in assessing the success of projects by performance measurement problems. The most important departmental problems related to: 1) the overlap in sub-activities which prevented analysis by sub-activity; and 2) the widespread use of unique indicators, which concealed many of the important impacts of projects from departmental decision-makers. Arguably the best projects would be those that spanned more than one subactivity or activity; however, much of their impact is captured by unique indicators that cannot be aggregated for reporting purposes. The department is currently revamping its Program Activity Architecture and Performance Measurement Framework and the result will, ideally, produce performance information that is fully available to decision makers and reportable in performance reports.

 


[22] Source: 2010/11 Financial Statements, Note 12.

[23] Source: Industry Canada. February 2011. "Final Evaluation for the Northern Ontario Development Program".

[24] Source: Department of Canadian Heritage. May 2009. "Evaluation of Canadian Arts and Heritage Sustainability Program", page 38.

[25] Source: Department of Canadian Heritage. March 2010. "Summative Evaluation of the Exchanges Canada Program", page 50.

[26] Source: Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, January 2010. "Impact Evaluation of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency Innovation Program Sub-activity."

[27] PriceWaterhouseCoopers, "Response to R&D Review Panel Consultation Questions", February 2011.

[28] Rationale for Government Involvement in Technology Commercialization in Western Canada, April 2011.

[29] Alan Cornford, Stephen Murgatroyd. "Is Innovation Working in Western Canada? Challenges and Policy Choices". August 2005.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rendement : démonstration de l’efficience et de l’économie

Économie

En général, les programmes étaient bien structurés, mais des changements de processus auraient pu améliorer l'efficacité.

En général, les promoteurs étaient d'avis que le Ministère réalisait ses résultats prévus de manière économique. Les promoteurs, informateurs clés et participants des groupes de discussion ont fréquemment laissé entendre que le Ministère pourrait fonctionner d'une manière plus économique en allégeant les lourdeurs administratives et les efforts que supposent l'élaboration/présentation du projet, l'examen/approbation du projet, et les aspects de la reddition de comptes du processus de production des rapports. Les participants des groupes de discussion se sont aussi interrogés sur l'objectif de la composante de consultation qui fait partie de l'étape d'élaboration du projet; pour certains, il s'agissait d'un exercice artificiel dont le but restait imprécis.

Conception des programmes

La plupart des promoteurs approuvaient la conception des programmes d'innovation, particulièrement leur souplesse comparativement à d'autres programmes dotés de critères très précis et limités. Certains étaient d'avis que les programmes pouvaient être améliorés en réduisant les délais d'approbation des projets et en permettant de les modifier pendant leur cycle de vie. Les délais d'approbation étaient un peu longs : trois mois pour 24 % des projets et plus de six mois pour 38 % d'entre eux (plus de deux ans pour cinq de ceux là). Parmi les pratiques qui fonctionnaient bien pour le Ministère et quelques améliorations possibles figuraient les suivantes.

  • Le processus ouvert de demande et le dialogue initial avaient quelques avantages. Le processus ouvert de demande utilise des délais souples qui permettent aux promoteurs de soumettre une demande de financement n'importe quand. C'est ainsi que DEO procède actuellement, et les promoteurs estiment que c'est un facteur clé de la réussite des programmes, qui permet un dialogue avec le Ministère dès le début pour donner forme au projet. Le Ministère pourrait améliorer l'efficacité du dialogue initial en clarifiant ses priorités et enjeux afin que les promoteurs puissent harmoniser leurs projets. Un inconvénient du processus ouvert réside dans le fait qu'il peut donner lieu à un court laps de temps entre l'approbation du projet et le 31 mars, date à laquelle le promoteur est tenu d'avoir dépensé son budget annuel. Bien que les promoteurs puissent demander un report de fonds d'une année financière à la suivante, ce n'est souvent pas possible parce que le budget est pleinement engagé pour l'exercice suivant.
     
  • Les partenariats avec des cobailleurs de fonds avaient des avantages et des inconvénients. Actuellement, DEO s'associe avec d'autres bailleurs de fonds. Les informateurs clés et participants des groupes de discussion voyaient plusieurs avantages à ce partenariat. En effet, il permet au Ministère de profiter du savoir propre au secteur de ces partenaires, qui dispose ainsi d'une solide indication de l'avantage que représentera le projet pour le secteur industriel visé en plus de réduire le risque que constitue le financement de l'innovation. Financer des organismes sans but lucratif en collaboration avec d'autres bailleurs de fonds rassemble les intervenants de l'industrie dans un but non concurrentiel. Des synergies se créent à l'intérieur des secteurs et entre eux, les secteurs progressent, et ce cofinancement permet d'englober une plus grande partie de l'industrie qu'une aide directe aux entreprises. Les cobailleurs de fonds donnent une indication fiable de l'utilité d'un projet. Mais il y aussi des inconvénients. Il peut être déraisonnable de s'attendre à ce que des cobailleurs de fonds financent des projets novateurs véritablement d'avant garde et que ces promoteurs consacrent du temps à trouver des fonds supplémentaires plutôt que d'entreprendre leurs projets. Pour compléter leurs fonds, les promoteurs doivent trouver en même temps deux sources de financement harmonisées, ayant les mêmes priorités et disposées à financer le même genre de projet.
     
  • La coordination des programmes pourrait consolider les forces régionales. Les participants des groupes de discussion étaient d'avis que les organismes régionaux qui stimulent l'innovation pourraient profiter d'une coordination entre eux, et que le Ministère était bien placé pour les réunir afin de coordonner les priorités et de miser sur les forces régionales.
     
  • Le financement des coûts de fonctionnement continus. Beaucoup d'organismes de financement octroient un financement initial avec le rapprochement de fin d'année. Parce que le financement ministériel prend la forme de contributions plutôt que de subventions, les dépenses admissibles sont remboursées, ce qui peut prendre plusieurs mois et causer d'énormes problèmes de flux de trésorerie et des difficultés exceptionnelles pour les promoteurs. Le Ministère peut avancer des fonds, mais le promoteur doit prouver qu'il en a besoin, ce qui est difficile aux termes des exigences ministérielles actuelles pour l'avance de fonds. Seulement 31 (15 %) des 202 projets ont reçu une avance de fonds, et la proportion semble diminuer avec le temps, puisque seulement 10 % en ont reçu depuis 2009. L'accessibilité aux avances de fonds soulève donc des questions.
     
  • L'appui aux organismes sans but lucratif versus aux entreprises. Treize informateurs clés (promoteurs, employés, cobailleurs de fonds et non-bénéficiaires) ont indiqué que le Ministère pourrait fournir un financement continu pour les coûts de fonctionnement des organismes axés sur les programmes. Les participants des groupes de discussion étaient divisés sur la question du financement continu : certains étaient d'avis que cela créerait une dépendance à l'égard du financement ministériel alors que d'autres pensaient que les programmes ont besoin d'un financement continu pour assurer la durabilité et qu'il n'y a pas d'autres sources de financement.
     
  • L'appui aux organismes sans but lucratif versus aux entreprises. Huit informateurs clés (promoteurs, employés, experts et cobailleurs de fonds) estimaient que DEO devait appuyer directement les entreprises et trois experts de l'innovation ont rappelé que plus l'intervention est éloignée de l'industrie, moins il y a d'impact sur elle. Des participants des groupes de discussion convenaient que de meilleurs résultats seraient atteints si le Ministère appuyait directement les entreprises. Cependant, le financement direct des entreprises comporte des risques et une meilleure solution serait de fournir des fonds par l'entremise de groupes de commercialisation sans but lucratif par exemple parce que ces groupes ont déjà travaillé avec le secteur privé et qu'ils : 1) sont en mesure d'évaluer les risques et d'écarter les entreprises susceptibles d'échouer; et 2) comprennent qu'il faut investir beaucoup de temps et d'efforts pour l'accompagnement individuel, le mentorat et la formation. Des participants des groupes de discussion s'opposent à ce que le Ministère appuie directement les entreprises parce que cela ferait double emploi avec d'autres programmes et que les agents ministériels auraient besoin d'une formation particulière pour appuyer les entreprises efficacement.

Efficience

Efficience administrative

Pour mesurer l'efficience administrative, les dépenses totales du Ministère engagées pour les paiements de transfert à l'innovation (72,8 M$) ont été comparées aux dépenses totales de fonctionnement pour l'innovation (5,7 M$)22. La comparaison a montré qu’il en coûte un dollar au Ministère pour octroyer et gérer 12,80 $ en paiements de transfert pour l’innovation. L’efficience de DEO se compare favorablement aux programmes de subventions et contributions d’autres ministères qui déclarent des montants de 3,63 $23, 6.10 $24 et 11.1 $25 en paiements de transfert contre un coût d'un dollar; mais ces mesures reflètent une grande diversité de facteurs et ne sont peut être pas directement comparables aux programmes d'innovation.

Les ressources de fonctionnement du Ministère incluaient 28 employés équivalents temps plein (ETP) en 2010-2011, une baisse par rapport aux 33 ETP en 2009-2010.

En général, les promoteurs étaient d'avis que DEO exécutait ses activités avec efficience. Les deux suggestions d'améliorations les plus courantes étaient : 1) améliorer le processus d'approbation quant au nombre d'itérations de la proposition requises, l'imprévisibilité de l'approbation, et le délai d'obtention de la décision; et 2) augmenter la souplesse des processus ministériels de reddition de comptes et de production des rapports.

En moyenne, les informateurs clés estimaient aussi que les activités étaient exécutées avec efficience. Certains croyaient à tort que le Ministère n'avait pas de programmes. Des promoteurs ont dit que, comme le Ministère n'a pas de programmes précis, mais qu'il finance plutôt des projets particuliers, il peut être efficient, ciblé, directif et clair dans ce qu'il demande. Les informateurs clés ayant accordé une note élevée pour l'efficience reconnaissaient que les employés ministériels favorisaient un processus efficient par l'établissement d'une solide relation de travail tôt dans le processus. D'autres personnes interrogées ont fourni deux motifs d'accorder une note plus faible pour l'efficience : 1) un lent processus d'approbation manquant de transparence; et 2) de lourdes exigences en matière de rapports financiers et sur le rendement.

Haut de la pageHaut de la page

Rapport coût efficacité

Bien que la plupart des projets exigeaient des cobailleurs de fonds, il y avait trois exceptions – deux projets financés dans le cadre d'Ententes de partenariat pour le développement économique de l'Ouest et un autre financé aux termes du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest. Le premier mécanisme de financement (EPDEO) permet à DEO de financer des projets en entier. Le deuxième (PDEO) a financé les coûts de matériel ne pouvant être couverts en raison de dépassements de coûts pendant la construction de deux installations. Les installations étaient presque terminées mais ne pouvaient être utilisées comme prévu sans le matériel. En moyenne, le Ministère a financé 29 % des coûts des projets. Et le financement octroyé par le Ministère a joué un rôle de premier plan pour attirer du financement provenant d'autres sources (tableau 5.1). Le tableau 5.2 résume la contribution totale du Ministère aux coûts des projets et les sommes mises par d'autres bailleurs de fonds pour chaque dollar investi par DEO (fonds à effet de levier). Bien que le recours au levier financier variait selon le programme, dans l'ensemble, à chaque dollar investi par DEO correspondait un investissement de 2,50 $ provenant d'autres bailleurs de fonds. Un ratio de levier financier de 2,50 $ se compare positivement à celui de 1,44 $ obtenu par d'autres programmes d'innovation26.

Tableau 5.1 Financement concerté (en M$), d'avril 2007 à juin 2011
Programme Contribution financière des partenaires ($, % des coûts totaux)
Autre organisme
fédéral
Provincial Municipal Autre Financement
total versé
par le partenaire
PDEO 79 (15%) 88 (16% ) 1 (0%) 196 (36%) 67%
EPDEO* 114 (38%) 57 (19%) 0 70 (23%) 80%
Total Innovation 246 (23%) 203 (19%) 1 (0%) 314 (29%) 71%
Incluent les rondes 2 et 3 des Ententes de partenariat pour le développement économique de l'Ouest

 

Tableau 5.2 Contributions ministérielles (en M$) et ratios de levier financier, d'avril 2007 à juin 2011
Programme Contribution totale de DEO (% des coûts totaux) Total des coûts des projets Dollars obtenus par effet de levier pour chaque dollar investi par DEO
PDEO 176 M$ (33%) 539 M$ 2
EPDEO* 59 M$ (20%) 300 M$ 4
Total Innovation 306 M$ (29%) 1,070 M$ 2.5
* Incluent les rondes 2 et 3 des Ententes de partenariat pour le développement économique de l'Ouest.

Résultats de l'analyse de mise en correspondance

Il est difficile de placer les programmes du Ministère dans le spectre de tous les programmes d'innovation au Canada, en partie parce qu'on dénombre environ 500 programmes fédéraux et provinciaux qui investissent dans la recherche, le développement technologique ou la création d'entreprises au Canada27 et en partie parce que les données d'évaluation sur les programmes sont limitées. Cependant, l'analyse de mise en correspondance a permis de constater d'importantes variations régionales à la fois dans le nombre et dans la portée des autres programmes accessibles aux promoteurs financés par le Ministère. En Colombie-Britannique, il y avait quatre organismes connus de financement de l'innovation qui concentraient leur financement principalement dans des zones géographiques précises de la province ou dans des secteurs technologiques particuliers. En Alberta, on en dénombrait six qui privilégiaient la commercialisation. En Saskatchewan, il y en avait trois qui orientaient nettement leur financement vers le secteur des bioproduits agricoles. Le Manitoba a récemment modifié sa démarche afin de regrouper le soutien provincial qu'il accorde à l'innovation.

Pratiques exemplaires et améliorations possibles

Le regroupement des résultats provenant de toutes les sources de données consultées dans le cadre de la présente évaluation permet de dresser la liste suivante des pratiques exemplaires et des possibilités d'amélioration.

  • Pratiques exemplaires : Les pratiques qui semblent bien fonctionner pour le Ministère et ses promoteurs incluent le processus ouvert de soumission des demandes, le dialogue que le Ministère engage dès le début avec les promoteurs et enfin les partenariats qu'il établit avec des cobailleurs de fonds.
     
  • Amélioration possible : Exécution des programmes : Les participants des groupes de discussion et les promoteurs ont proposé des moyens de simplifier l'exécution des programmes afin d'économiser des ressources ministérielles et de réduire le stress des clients. Le Ministère peut revoir ses exigences concernant les avances de fonds afin qu'elles soient plus accessibles aux promoteurs, réduire le temps et les lourdeurs administratives qui caractérisent les processus de demande, d'approbation et de reddition de comptes/production de rapports et donner des éclaircissements aux promoteurs sur les programmes et priorités ministériels ainsi que sur le but du processus de consultation.
     
  • Amélioration possible : Priorités des programmes : Le Ministère peut améliorer ses programmes d’innovation en se concentrant sur des secteurs prioritaires tout en conservant une partie de la souplesse qui lui a permis de pallier des insuffisances de financement et de s’adapter aux variations et besoins régionaux. Les personnes interrogées ont proposé des secteurs prioritaires possibles, comme faut-il ou non financer des organismes et/ou des sociétés sans but lucratif et faut-il ou non se concentrer sur la recherche et/ou la commercialisation. La commercialisation requiert probablement une démarche à plus long terme et plus risquée que la démarche actuelle. En fait, dans sa propre recherche, le Ministère a cerné une lacune dans l’accès au capital de risque et constaté que le gouvernement devrait peut-être investir dans la commercialisation technologique pour des entreprises de l’Ouest canadien.28 D’autres experts incitent toutefois à la prudence et affirment que le problème est plus complexe que de simplement augmenter l’accès au capital de risque. L’expert en innovation de notre comité directeur a attiré notre attention sur une recherche montrant que la commercialisation a plus de chances de se concrétiser quand le ratio d’investissement dans la recherche-développement du secteur privé par rapport au secteur public correspond à 3:1. Dans l’Ouest canadien, les ratios correspondants de l’investissement privé par rapport à l’investissement public ont peu changé depuis 2002-2003, quand ils étaient de 1,13:1 (Colombie-Britannique) 0,73:1 (Alberta), 0,30:1 (Saskatchewan) et 0,45:1 (Manitoba)29.
     
  • Amélioration possible : Mesure du rendement : Des problèmes de mesure du rendement ont entravé l'évaluation de la réussite des projets. Les problèmes ministériels les plus importants avaient trait : 1) au chevauchement des sous activités qui a empêché l'analyse par sous activité; et 2) au recours généralisé à des indicateurs particuliers, qui ont dissimulé aux décideurs ministériels un grand nombre des incidences importantes des projets. D'une certaine façon, les meilleurs projets seraient ceux englobant plus d'une seule sous activité ou activité; mais, une grande partie de leurs incidences est déterminée par des indicateurs particuliers qui ne peuvent être regroupés à des fins de production de rapports. Le Ministère est en train de restructurer son architecture des activités de programmes ainsi que son cadre de mesure du rendement et les résultats devraient idéalement aboutir à des données sur le rendement pleinement accessibles aux décideurs et prises en compte dans les rapports sur le rendement.

 


[22] Source : États financiers de 2010/2011, Note 12.

[23] Source : Industrie Canada. Février 2011. Évaluation finale du Programme de développement du Nord de l’Ontario.

[24] Source : ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Mai 2009. Évaluation du Programme de consolidation des arts et du patrimoine canadiens, page 38.

[25] Source : ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Mars 2010. Évaluation sommative du Programme Échanges Canada, page 50.

[26] Source : Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique, janvier  2010. Évaluation des incidences de la sous-activité de programme Innovation de l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique.

[27] PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Response to R&D Review Panel Consultation Questions, février 2011.

[28] Rationale for Government Involvement in Technology Commercialization in Western Canada, avril  2011.

[29] Alan Cornford, Stephen Murgatroyd. Is Innovation Working in Western Canada? Challenges and Policy Choices. Août 2005.