Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Introduction

Acknowledgement

Western Economic Diversification Canada (the department) would like to thank all of the key informants, case study participants and survey participants who generously gave of their time and knowledge to take part in the Evaluation of the Innovation Activity. Without their participation and their insights, this report would not have been possible. The evaluators would also like to thank Dr. Stephen Murgatroyd for his wise advice and important contribution as an external innovation expert on the steering committee. Finally, the evaluators acknowledge the work done by Strategic Review Group Inc (the consultants)in collecting key informant interview and survey data.

Background

Innovation is one of five activities supporting Western Economic Diversification Canada's strategic outcome of a developed and diversified western Canadian economy. The department's website states that "innovation is the process of transforming knowledge into new products, processes and services which, in turn, generate new economic benefits. For this process to succeed, a complete system must be available that supports the movement of a new idea from initial concept, through research and development, to a ready-for-market product. A highly developed innovation system, or "cluster", is focused on a specific area of strength and includes:

  • Universities, research facilities, industry, government labs, and other "knowledge infrastructure" that develop new technologies and a skilled workforce,
     
  • Early stage venture capital financing to help bring technologies to markets,
     
  • Industry associations and other organizations that link the players in the innovation system,
     
  • Firms capable of developing and adopting new technologies, and that are connected to local and global markets, and
     
  • A business environment that fosters innovation.1

The department's innovation activities strengthen the knowledge-based economy by: 1) fostering both existing resource or manufacturing industries and new/emerging knowledge-driven industries within western Canada; 2) creating linkages among participants in the innovation system; and 3) investing in equipment and infrastructure to support industry and build capacity.

To achieve its innovation objectives, the department invests in six sub-activity areas:

1) Technology adoption and commercialization: promoting technology adoption and commercialization in the marketplace;
2) Technology linkages: increasing connections among innovation system members;
3) Technology research and development: developing new technologies with commercial potential;
4) Community innovation: increasing technological capacity in communities;
5) Technology skills development: increasing the number of highly qualified workers through training; and
6) Knowledge infrastructure: increasing the physical assets and capacity of a cluster.

Innovation Programming

The department's innovation activities were funded under the Western Diversification Program (WDP) or under one of the sub-components of the WDP. Eligible recipients for departmental innovation funding are not-for-profit organizations. The department's set of innovation funding vehicles are described below.

Western Diversification Program2 is the main program through which the department invests in initiatives that enhance and strengthen the economy of western Canada. The program supports innovation by funding the department's activities to strengthen the western Canadian innovation system. As an umbrella program authority, it contains a number of sub-components that fund innovation projects.

Urban Aboriginal Strategy, a sub-component under the WDP authority, promotes independence and opportunities for Aboriginal people living in urban areas. The strategy supported innovation by funding the department's activities to promote entrepreneurship and innovation among Aboriginal people living in urban centres.

Intervac, a sub-component under the WDP authority, funded the construction of a facility (InterVac) located at the University of Saskatchewan. InterVac will be the first facility in North America to focus on pathogens affecting both animals and humans. This initiative supports innovation by funding the department's research and technology development activities and advances the federal interest in vaccine research.

Winnipeg Partnership Agreement, a sub-component under the WDP authority, was a five-year urban development agreement between the governments of Canada, Manitoba, and the City of Winnipeg. The agreement supported innovation by funding the department's activities aimed at building Winnipeg's knowledge-based economy and strengthening its innovation capacity.

Western Economic Partnership Agreements, a sub-component under the WDP authority, are designed to address joint federal-provincial priorities and respond to regional needs that are consistent with national economic priorities. The agreements support innovation by funding the department's activities focused on introducing new products, technologies and services to consumers.

Rick Hansen Foundation, a sub-component under the WDP authority, advances knowledge and research aimed at improving the lives of people with spinal cord injuries. This investment supports innovation by funding research in health related life sciences and technologies.

Throughout the remainder of this document, the set of innovation funding programs and sub-components will be referred as innovation programming. The department spent $70.1 million on innovation programming in 2007-08. The department's most recent Departmental Performance Report (2010-11) indicated that: 1) spending on innovation decreased from $86.9 million (2009-10) to $77.1 million (2010-11); and 2) the department provided $86.8 million to 43 innovation projects that then leveraged $209.8 million from other sources ($2.46 for each departmental dollar spent).

Western Diversification Program Terms and Conditions

Funding, in the form of a contribution or a grant, may be allocated on a payable or non-payable basis. Grants may be used when the assessment demonstrates a low risk project where monitoring is not required through the life of the project, due to the strength of the recipient, and the confidence in the use and value of the required funding. Projects requiring ongoing monitoring of progress and use of funds will be funded as contributions. Contributions can be made to several organizations, including non-profit organizations, educational institutions, and other government departments (federal, provincial, and municipal). A wide range of costs can be covered by the funding, including operational costs, equipment acquisition, and personnel costs.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Logic Model

Evaluators consulted with innovation programming managers to develop the following logic model.

Innovation Logic Model
Sub-activity
  1. PAA Program Sub-Activity: Knowledge Infrastructure
  2. PAA Program Sub-Activity: Technology Research and Development
  3. PAA Program Sub-Activity: Technology Skills Development
  4. PAA Program Sub-Activity: Technology Adoption and Commercialization
  5. PAA Program Sub-Activity: Community Innovation
  6. PAA Program Sub-Activity: Technology Linkages
Department Inputs
  • Work directly with other organizations to encourage and facilitate the development of projects and initiatives
  • Provide financial support for projects and initiatives that strengthen innovation
Immediate Outcomes
  1. Increase in physical assets for research and development or training.
  2. Applied R&D leading to technologies with commercialization potential.
  3. Increase in training, education and skills building of highly qualified people (HQP).
  4. An increase in the number of technologies developed in research institutions that have commercialization potential and an increase in technologies adopted by existing firms.
  5. Increased technological capacity in a community.
  6. Increased connections and synergies among innovation system members.
Intermediate Outcomes for Innovation Sub-activities
  • A strengthened innovation system in Western Canada
  • Increased technology development, adoption and commercialization
  • Further development of technology clusters
  • People complete and incorporate training
  • Research is shared and used
  • Western firms innovate to create wealth
Final Outcomes
  • Stronger knowledge-based economy
  • Development and diversification of the western Canadian economy

Evaluation Context

Using the existing WDP authority, the department’s innovation programming will be evaluated based on the Performance Measurement Framework of the WDP. The evaluation focused on the degree to which projects achieved their intended objectives and contributed to the development and diversification of the western Canadian economy. This evaluation addressed the relevance and performance of the department’s innovation programming. The evaluation covered the fiscal years 2007-08 to 2011-12. The evaluation results will contribute to program renewal and continuous improvement.

Although this is the first evaluation at the innovation activity level, an evaluation of the Western Diversification Program was completed in 2008. As an umbrella program authority, The Western Diversification Program funds all four activities outlined in the department’s Program Activity Architecture. It became apparent during the 2008 evaluation that the broad focus of the Western Diversification Program made it unwieldly to evaluate as a whole and that a better approach for this evaluation would be to narrow the focus to the innovation activity and follow up with evaluations of the other activities in subsequent years.

Evaluation Scope and Objectives

The evaluation of the Innovation activity was scheduled in the department’s evaluation plan (2010-15) and satisfies requirements of the 2009 Treasury Board Policy on Evaluation. This evaluation of the Innovation Activity included various data collection methods outlined below. The objectives of the evaluation and the core evaluation issues are presented in Table 1.1.

Table 1.1 Core Evaluation Issues for the Innovation Activity
Evaluation Issues
Relevance
 
  • Is there a continued need for innovation programming?
  • Is innovation programming aligned to departmental and federal government priorities?
  • Is the innovation programming consistent with federal roles and responsibilities?
Performance
Achievement
of Intended
Outcomes
Strategic Outcome
In what manner and to what extent has the innovation activity developed and diversified the western Canadian economy?

Measuring Success
  • To what extent has each of the six sub-activities achieved their intended immediate and intermediate outcomes
  • To what extent has the innovation activity achieved its intended outcome of strengthening the knowledge-based economy?
  • What factors facilitated or impeded the achievement of the innovation activity?
  • To what extent is performance measurement undertaken for the innovation activity? How useful are the performance measures?
  • To what extent are risk management strategies identified for innovation programming?
  • Is the programming design appropriate for achieving the expected program results?
Unexpected Outcomes
  • Were there unexpected positive and/or negative outcomes from the department's involvement in innovation?
Demonstration
of Efficiency
and Economy
  • Is the innovation programming achieving its intended outcomes in the most economical manner?
  • Is the innovation programming undertaking activities in the most efficient manner?

 


[1] http://www.wd.gc.ca/eng/107.asp, accessed March 15, 2011.

[2] Western Economic Diversification Canada (n.d.) Western Diversification Program. http://www.wd.gc.ca/eng/301.asp.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Introduction

Remerciements

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (le Ministère) aimerait remercier tous les intervenants clés, les participants aux études de cas et au sondage qui ont généreusement donné de leur temps et transmis leurs connaissances dans le cadre de l’Évaluation de l’activité Innovation. Sans leur participation et leurs observations, le présent rapport n’aurait pas vu le jour. Les évaluateurs remercient également Stephen Murgatroyd de ses judicieux conseils et de son importante contribution au comité directeur en qualité d’expert externe dans le domaine de l’innovation. Les évaluateurs remercient enfin les consultants de Strategic Review Group Inc. pour avoir recueilli les données des entrevues auprès des intervenants clés ainsi que les données du sondage.

Contexte

L'innovation est l'une des cinq activités à l'appui du résultat stratégique de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada qui consiste à concourir à une économie épanouie et diversifiée dans l'Ouest canadien. On peut lire dans le site Web du Ministère que : « L'innovation consiste à transformer des idées en nouveaux produits, techniques et services qui offrent à leur tour de nouveaux avantages économiques. Sa réussite repose sur un système complet permettant de soutenir le passage des nouvelles idées du stade conceptuel à celui de la recherche et du développement pour aboutir à un produit commercialisable. Un système d'innovation hautement développé, ou grappe d'innovation, se centre sur une zone forte, bien précise, et comprend :

  • des universités, des établissements de recherche, l'industrie, des laboratoires publics et d'autres « infrastructures du savoir » qui développent de nouvelles technologies et produisent une main-d'œuvre qualifiée;
     
  • un financement précoce de capital-risque pour appuyer la commercialisation des technologies;
     
  • des associations industrielles et d'autres organisations liant les intervenants du système de l'innovation;
     
  • des entreprises, liées aux marchés nationaux et internationaux, capables de développer et d'adopter de nouvelles technologies;
     
  • un milieu des affaires favorable à l'innovation 1. »

Les activités liées à l'innovation qu'entreprend le Ministère renforcent l'économie axée sur le savoir, c'est à dire qu'elles : 1) favorisent à la fois les industries primaires ou manufacturières existantes et les nouvelles industries axées sur le savoir dans l'Ouest canadien; 2) créent des liens entre les participants du système d'innovation; et 3) investissent dans le matériel et l'infrastructure pour soutenir l'industrie et renforcer les capacités.

Pour atteindre ses objectifs en matière d'innovation, le Ministère investit dans six sous activités :

1) Adoption et commercialisation de la technologie : promouvoir l'adoption et la commercialisation de la technologie sur le marché;
2) Convergence des technologies : accroître les liens entre les membres du système d’innovation;
3) Recherche et développement en technologie : développer de nouvelles technologies ayant un potentiel commercial;
4) Innovation dans les collectivités : accroître la capacité technologique dans les collectivités;
5) Perfectionnement des compétences en technologie : augmenter le nombre de travailleurs hautement qualifiés grâce à la formation;
6) Infrastructure du savoir : augmenter les biens matériels et la capacité d'une grappe.

Programmes d'innovation

Les activités liées à l'innovation du Ministère sont financées dans le cadre du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest (PDEO) ou de l'une de ses sous composantes. Les bénéficiaires admissibles aux fonds ministériels pour l'innovation sont des organismes sans but lucratif. Les différents mécanismes de financement de l'innovation sont décrits ci dessous.

Le Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest2 est le principal programme grâce auquel le Ministère investit dans des initiatives qui améliorent et renforcent l'économie de l'Ouest canadien. Le programme soutient l'innovation par le financement des activités ministérielles qui renforcent le système d'innovation de l'Ouest canadien. En tant que programme cadre, il contient un certain nombre de sous composantes qui financent des projets d'innovation.

La Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, une sous composante du PDEO, fait la promotion de l'autonomie des Autochtones qui vivent en milieu urbain et cherche à améliorer leurs possibilités. Elle a appuyé l'innovation en finançant des activités du Ministère destinées à promouvoir l'entrepreneuriat et l'innovation chez les Autochtones vivant dans les centres urbains.

Intervac, une sous composante du PDEO, a financé la construction d'une installation (InterVac) située à l'Université de la Saskatchewan. Ce sera la première installation en Amérique du Nord à se consacrer à l'étude des agents pathogènes influant à la fois sur les animaux et les humains. Cette initiative appuie l'innovation en finançant les activités ministérielles de développement et de recherche en technologie en plus de faire progresser les intérêts du gouvernement fédéral dans la recherche sur les vaccins.

L'Entente de partenariat de Winnipeg, une sous composante du PDEO, était une entente quinquennale de développement urbain conclue entre le gouvernement du Canada, le Manitoba et la ville de Winnipeg. L'entente appuyait l'innovation en finançant les activités ministérielles destinées à favoriser l'économie axée sur le savoir de Winnipeg et à renforcer sa capacité d'innovation.

Les Ententes de partenariat pour le développement économique de l'Ouest, une sous composante du PDEO, sont conçues pour répondre aux priorités fédérales provinciales communes ainsi qu'aux besoins régionaux conformes aux priorités économiques nationales. Les ententes appuient l'innovation en finançant des activités ministérielles qui cherchent à introduire de nouveaux produits, technologies et services pour les consommateurs.

La Fondation Rick Hansen, une sous composante du PDEO, fait progresser les connaissances et la recherche destinée à améliorer la vie des gens atteints d'une lésion de la moelle épinière. Elle appuie l'innovation en finançant la recherche en sciences et technologies de la santé et en sciences de la vie connexes.

Dans le reste du présent document, l'ensemble des programmes et sous composantes de financement de l'innovation seront désignés par les « programmes d'innovation ». Le Ministère a dépensé 70,1 M$ dans les programmes d'innovation en 2007-2008. Le plus récent Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de DEO (2010-2011) indiquait que : 1) les dépenses consacrées à l'innovation ont diminué de 86,9 M$ (2009-2010) à 77,1 M$ (2010-2011); et 2) DEO a injecté un montant de 86,8 M$ dans 43 projets d'innovation qui ont suscité un financement de 209,8 M$ d'autres sources (2,46 $ pour chaque dollar investi par DEO).

Conditions générales du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest

Le financement, sous forme d'une contribution ou d'une subvention, peut être accordé suivant une formule de remboursement ou de non-remboursement. Des subventions peuvent être octroyées quand l'évaluation démontre qu'il s'agit d'un projet à faible risque, dont la surveillance n'est pas nécessaire pendant tout le cycle de vie, en raison de la solidité du bénéficiaire ainsi que de la confiance dans l'utilisation et la valeur du financement demandé. Les projets nécessitant une surveillance continue des progrès et de l'utilisation des fonds seront financés sous forme de contributions. Des contributions peuvent être versées à plusieurs organismes, dont des organismes sans but lucratif, des établissements d'enseignement et d'autres ministères fédéraux ou provinciaux et des administrations municipales. Le financement peut couvrir une vaste gamme de coûts, notamment les coûts de fonctionnement, l'achat de matériel et les coûts en personnel.

Modèle logique

Les évaluateurs ont consulté les gestionnaires des programmes d'innovation afin de concevoir le modèle logique suivant.

Modèle logique de l'innovation
Sous activité
  1. Sous-activité de programme de l'AAP : Infrastructure du savoir
  2. Sous-activité de programme de l'AAP : Recherche et développement en technologie
  3. Sous-activité de programme de l'AAP : Perfectionnement des compétences en technologie
  4. Sous-activité de programme de l'AAP : Adoption et commercialisation de la technologie
  5. Sous-activité de programme de l'AAP : Innovation dans les collectivités
  6. Sous-activité de programme de l'AAP : Convergence des technologies
Apport du Ministère
  • Travailler directement avec d'autres organismes pour encourager et faciliter la création de projets et d'initiatives
  • Fournir une aide financière aux projets et initiatives qui renforcent l'innovation
Résultats immédiats
  1. Augmentation des biens matériels servant à la recherche développement ou à la formation.
  2. Application de la R–D menant à des technologies ayant un potentiel de commercialisation.
  3. Augmentation de la formation, de l'éducation et des compétences chez des personnes hautement spécialisées.
  4. Augmentation du nombre de technologies mises au point dans les établissements de recherche ayant un potentiel de commercialisation, et du nombre de technologies adoptées par des entreprises existantes.
  5. Augmentation de la capacité technologique d'une collectivité.
  6. Augmentation des liens et des synergies chez les membres du réseau de l'innovation.
Résultats intermédiaires des sous activités de l'Innovation
  • Système d'innovation renforcé dans l'Ouest canadien
  • Développement, adoption et commercialisation accrus de la technologie
  • Développement plus poussé de grappes technologiques
  • Formation suivie et incorporée
  • Recherche communiquée et utilisée
  • Innovation des entreprises de l'Ouest pour créer de la richesse
Résultats finaux
  • Plus forte économie axée sur le savoir
  • Développement et diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien

Contexte de l'évaluation

À l'aide des autorisations existantes du PDEO, les programmes d'innovation du Ministère seront évalués en fonction du Cadre de mesure du rendement du PDEO. L'évaluation a surtout cherché à savoir dans quelle mesure les projets ont atteint leurs objectifs prévus et contribué au développement et à la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien. Elle a examiné la pertinence et le rendement des programmes d'innovation du Ministère et porté sur les années financières 2007-2008 à 2011-2012. Les résultats contribueront au renouvellement du programme et à son amélioration constante.

Bien qu'il s'agisse de la première évaluation de l'activité Innovation, une évaluation du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest a eu lieu en 2008. Le PDEO finance les quatre activités énoncées dans l'architecture des activités de programmes. Il est devenu évident pendant l'évaluation de 2008 que le vaste spectre du PDEO le rendait trop difficile à évaluer dans un tout et qu'il serait préférable de réduire la portée de l'évaluation à l'activité Innovation et de la faire suivre dans les années ultérieures des évaluations des autres activités.

Portée et objectifs de l'évaluation

L'évaluation de l'activité Innovation était prévue dans le plan d'évaluation ministériel (2010-2015) et satisfait aux exigences de la Politique sur l'évaluation de 2009 du Conseil du Trésor. Elle comporte diverses méthodes de collecte de données exposées ci dessous. Les objectifs de l'évaluation ainsi que les questions fondamentales à prendre en compte dans l'évaluation sont présentés dans le tableau 1.1.

Tableau 1.1 Questions fondamentales à prendre en compte dans l'évaluation de l'activité Innovation
Questions à prendre en compte dans l'évaluation
Pertinence
 
  • Y a-t-il un besoin continu des programmes d'innovation?
  • Les programmes d'innovation sont ils conformes aux priorités ministérielles et aux priorités du gouvernement fédéral?
  • Les programmes d'innovation sont ils harmonisés avec les rôles et les responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral?
Rendement
Atteinte
des résultats
prévus
Résultat stratégique
De quelle manière et dans quelle mesure l'activité Innovation a-t-elle développé et diversifié l'économie de l'Ouest canadien?

Mesure de la réussite
  • Dans quelle mesure chacune des six sous activités a-t-elle atteint ses résultats immédiats et intermédiaires prévus?
  • Dans quelle mesure l'activité Innovation a-t-elle atteint son objectif prévu de renforcer l'économie axée sur le savoir?
  • Quels facteurs ont favorisé ou gêné l'exécution de l'activité Innovation?
  • Jusqu’à quel point mesure-t-on le rendement de l’activité Innovation? Jusqu’à quel point les mesures de rendement sont-elles utiles?
  • Dans quelle mesure les stratégies de gestion du risque sont elles précisées pour les programmes d'innovation?
  • La conception des programmes est elle appropriée pour atteindre les résultats escomptés des programmes?
Résultats imprévus
  • Y-a-t-il eu des résultats positifs et/ou négatifs imprévus à la suite de la participation du Ministère à l'innovation?
Démonstration de l'efficience et de l'économie
  • Les programmes d'innovation atteignent ils leurs résultats prévus de la manière la plus économique?
  • Les programmes d’innovation entreprennent ils leurs activités de la manière la plus efficiente?

 


[1] http://www.wd.gc.ca/fra/107.asp, consulté le 15 mars 2011.

[2] Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest, de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (s.d.) http://www.wd.gc.ca/fra/301.asp