Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Western Economic Diversification Canada's Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended December 31, 2012

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program


Introduction

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates (B), Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012) and the Quarterly Financial Report for the quarters ended June 30 and September 30, 2012. It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is mandated to "promote the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada and to advance the interests of the West in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation."

The Report on Plans and Priorities and Main Estimates provide further information on WD's authority, mandate and program activities.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the department's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (B) for fiscal year 2012–13. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012. As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012–13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012–13, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012. In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Total Authorities Available for Use and Planned Expenditures for the Year Ending March 31, 2013

Planned departmental spending is concentrated in transfer payments (74 percent) and personnel (18 percent)—combined, they account for 92 percent of total planned expenditures (refer to the fiscal year 2012–13 pie chart below). This planned spending pattern remains consistent when compared to fiscal year 2011–12 and it is expected to continue for fiscal year 2012–13.

The department experienced an overall decrease in total funding available for use and planned expenditures to $197.5 million for fiscal year 2012–13, compared to $216.9 million for fiscal year 2011–12, as illustrated in the "Statement of Authorities" and "Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object" tables. The significant decrease of $19.4 million (9 percent) is due to:

  • an increase in funding for the Community Infrastructure Investment Fund ($23.1 million);
  • an increase in receipts from repayable contributions ($1.1 million);
  • a decrease related to the wind down of funding for the Recreational Infrastructure Canada (RInC) program ($14.9 million);
  • a decrease in cash flow requirements for the Alberta-Saskatchewan Centenaries project ($13.9 million);
  • a decrease realized through the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 ($6.6 million);
  • a decrease resulting from the transfer of operating funds to Shared Services Canada (SSC) ($2.6 million);
  • a decrease realized through the 2010 Strategic Review exercise ($2.4 million);
  • a decrease in funding for certain operational requirements such as severance pay ($2.1 million);
  • a net decrease in operating funds to administer programs on behalf of Infrastructure Canada ($619 thousand);
  • a decrease in funding for the Western Diversification Program ($455 thousand).

Text Version (Link 1): Pie Chart: Planned Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2012—2013

(in thousands of dollars)

This pie chart breaks down planned expenditures for the fiscal year 2012–13 This pie chart breaks down planned expenditures for the fiscal year 2011–12.

Total Authorities Used and Expended for the Quarter Ended December 31, 2012 and YTD Used at Quarter-End

Total authorities used for the third quarter and year to date is concentrated in transfer payments (64 percent quarterly; 59 percent year to date) and personnel (30 percent quarterly; 35 percent year to date)—combined, they account for 94 percent of third quarter and year to date actual expenditures (refer to the fiscal year 2012–13 pie charts below). This spending pattern remains consistent when compared to the same periods of fiscal year 2011–12 and it is expected to continue for fiscal year 2012–13.

Third quarter and year to date spending reflect overall declines in total authorities used and actual expenditures to $29.4 million and $80 million (respectively) for fiscal year 2012–13, compared to $31.8 million and $88.3 million for fiscal year 2011–12, as illustrated in the "Statement of Authorities" and "Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object" tables. The significant third quarter decrease of $2.4 million (8 percent) and year to date decrease of $8.3 million (9 percent) is due to:

  • an overall reduction in departmental staff, notably the transfer of personnel to SSC, the continued implementation of Strategic Review savings and the non-extension of term employees ($1.4 million quarterly; $4.3 million year to date);
  • other operating cost reductions, notably the transfer of costs to SSC and managed expenditure reductions (net quarterly and year to date decreases of $810 thousand and $2.4 million, respectively);
  • the completion of the RInC program and timing differences in the processing of claims for various transfer payment programs. These contributed to a net decrease in transfer payment expenditures ($246 thousand quarterly; $1.6 million year to date).

A downward trend in transfer payment (grants and contributions) and operating (personnel, other operating costs) spending is expected by fiscal year-end with the implementation of departmental spending reduction initiatives.

Text Version (Link 2): Pie Chart: Actual Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2012—2013

(in thousands of dollars)

This pie chart breaks down actual expenditures for the quarter ended December 31, 2012. This pie chart breaks down actual expenditures for the quarter ended December 31, 2011.

This pie chart breaks down actual expenditures YTD for the quarter ended December 31, 2012. This pie chart breaks down actual expenditures YTD for the quarter ended December 31, 2011.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Risks and Uncertainties

Departmental operating budgets were frozen at 2010–11 levels for fiscal years 2011–12 and 2012–13 as a result of cost containment measures announced in Budget 2010 and Budget 2011. This includes no additional funding for fiscal year 2012–13 to cover annual salary increases of approximately $498 thousand against negotiated collective agreements, plus a further forecasted amount of $381 thousand for collective agreements currently under review.

The department was required to review its programs and spending in fiscal year 2010–11 as a result of the 2010 strategic review exercise. This review has presented opportunities to streamline operations, re-align programs and eliminate others that are no longer necessary. The department will realize cumulative three-year savings of $8.9 million as outlined in Budget 2011, of which $5.6 million has been reduced from the 2012–13 funding level.

The department is addressing reduced flexibility to its transfer payment and operating budgets by managing the implementation of cost containment measures and strategic review savings within a well-defined framework of accountabilities, policies and procedures. It has the necessary system of budgets, reporting and other internal controls to manage within available resources and Parliamentary authorities. Proportionally reduced budget allocations to business and internal services units, supported by the regular review of staffing, and actual and forecast expenditure reports ensure resource utilization remains in line with financial and human resources planning, such that adjustments can be made on time.

The department maintains its financial management processes and it will continue to strengthen them, such that budget management remains effective. This includes assessing the impact of project timing fluctuations and the process for forecasting multi-year funding requirements. The decision-making process facilitates the re-allocation of financial resources to higher-priority initiatives.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

Shared Services Canada (SSC) was established on August 4, 2011, "to consolidate, streamline and improve information technology infrastructure services […] across the federal government." As a result, WD transferred $2.6 million to SSC—personnel costs of $702 thousand and other operating costs of $1.9 million.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and businesses to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

The department will achieve savings of $16.3 million by fiscal year 2014–15 through efficiency measures and scaling back where the need is reduced; transforming how it works internally; and by consolidating and streamlining. The department has undertaken a review of internal services that will consolidate functions, notably procurement and accounting operations, to eliminate duplication and reduce operating costs. Other savings measures include: the transfer of the internal audit function to the Office of the Comptroller General; adopting a life cycle approach to the management of transfer payment projects; and various other managed expenditure reductions such as travel, professional services and transfer payments. With these changes, WD will focus on supporting management excellence and accountability across government.

In the first year of implementation, WD will achieve savings of $6.6 million related to Budget 2012—transfer payment savings of $6.2 million, personnel savings of $94 thousand and other operating savings of $304 thousand. This reduction is reflected in the third quarter variance of $19.4 million in total authorities available for use and planned expenditures between fiscal years 2011–12 and 2012–13. Savings will increase to $9.3 million in 2013–14 and will result in ongoing savings of $16.3 million by 2014–15.

Total authorities used and actual expenditures for the third quarter have declined significantly by $2.4 million relative to the same period of 2011–12, with Budget 2012 initiatives accounting for minimal impacts. The balance of Budget 2012 savings will continue to be reflected through to fiscal year-end.

The department will continue to manage financial risks and uncertainties related to the anticipated costs of implementing personnel reduction measures in order to achieve the savings outlined in Budget 2012; the costs of which will vary depending on the timing of employee departures. WD continues to mitigate the implementation of Budget 2012 savings through financial management and monitoring processes that facilitate the re-allocation of resources, and financial and human resources planning.

There were minimal changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs for this reporting period related to Budget 2012 initiatives. During the third quarter, the department proceeded with staffing processes for centralized accounting operations and procurement units. As the centralized units become staffed and operational, the balance of Budget 2012 savings will be reflected in subsequent quarterly reports.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Daphne Meredith
Deputy Minister
Jim Saunderson
Chief Financial Officer

Edmonton, Canada
Date: February 15, 2013

 

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2012—13
Total available for use for the
year ending March 31, 2013 * **
Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 — Net operating expenditures 45,766 9,399 28,727
Vote 5 — Grants and contributions 142,148 18,698 45,389
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plan 5,086 1,271 3,814
Grants and contributions 4,500 - 2,017
Other 17 5 17
Total authorities 197,517 29,373 79,964

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2011—12
Total available for use for the
year ended March 31, 2012*
Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Net operating expenditures 52,137 11,601 35,426
Vote 5 – Grants and contributions 155,098 18,944 46,865
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plan 5,171 1,293 3,879
Grants and contributions 4,500 - 2,175
Other 2 - 2
Total authorities 216,908 31,838 88,347
Note: Variances between quarters are due to rounding.

More information is available in the following table.

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.
** Total available for use reflects measures announced in Budget 2012.

 

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2012—13
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 * Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 34,781 8,869 27,557
Transportation and communications 3,539 349 859
Information 470 53 163
Professional and special services 8,305 954 2,757
Rentals 860 247 860
Repair and maintenance 255 3 14
Utilities, materials and supplies 722 30 132
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,938 136 146
Transfer payments 146,647 18,698 47,406
Other subsidies and payments - 34 70
Total net budgetary expenditures 197,517 29,373 79,964
* Planned expenditures reflect measures announced in Budget 2012.

 

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2011—12
Planned expenditures for the year ended March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 37,504 10,278 31,896
Transportation and communications 4,764 911 2,260
Information 397 55 153
Professional and special services 10,442 1,380 3,520
Rentals 1,210 177 468
Repair and maintenance 612 10 81
Utilities, materials and supplies 794 80 230
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,587 36 320
Transfer payments 159,598 18,944 49,040
Other subsidies and payments - (33) 379
Total net budgetary expenditures 216,908 31,838 88,347
Note: Variances between quarters are due to rounding.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport financier trimestriel de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes


Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B), le Plan d'action économique de 2012 du Canada (budget de 2012) et le Rapport financier trimestriel pour les trimestres terminés le 30 juin et le 30 septembre 2012. Il a été préparé par la direction, tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Autorisations, mandat et activités de programme

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) a le mandat de « promouvoir le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien et de faire valoir les intérêts de cette région lors de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre d'orientations, de programmes et d'opérations dans le cadre de la politique économique nationale ».

On trouvera plus d'information à propos des autorisations, du mandat et des activités de programme de DEO dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Ministère, conformément au Budget principal des dépenses et au Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) pour l'exercice 2012–2013. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le budget de 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars, après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2012–2013.

Pour l'exercice 2012–2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d'empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d'économies dans le budget de 2012 ne soient dépensés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux autorisations ministérielles seront mises en œuvre par l'intermédiaire de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans les Budgets principaux des dépenses ultérieurs déposés au Parlement.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Total des autorisations utilisables et des dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013

Les dépenses prévues par DEO sont concentrées dans les paiements de transfert (74 p. 100) et les coûts relatifs au personnel (18 p. 100). Une fois combinées, elles représentent 92 p. 100 de l'ensemble des dépenses prévues (consulter le diagramme à secteurs ci-dessous pour l'exercice 2012–2013). Cette répartition des dépenses prévues est semblable à celle de l'exercice 2011-2012 et devrait rester pareille en 2012–2013.

Dans l'ensemble, DEO a subi une baisse générale des fonds utilisables et des dépenses prévues, qui sont passés de 216,9 millions de dollars en 2011–2012 à 197,5 millions de dollars en 2012-2013, comme on peut le voir dans les tableaux « État des autorisations » et « Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant. » La baisse significative de 19,4 millions de dollars (9 p. 100) est attribuable à :

  • une augmentation des contributions dans le cadre du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire (23,1 millions de dollars);
  • une augmentation des rentrées de fonds des contributions remboursables (1,1 million de dollars);
  • une diminution relative à la cessation du financement du programme Infrastructure de loisirs du Canada (ILC) (14,9 millions de dollars);
  • une diminution des besoins de trésorerie pour les projets de célébration des centenaires de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan (13,9 millions de dollars);
  • une diminution des coûts réalisée grâce aux mesures d'économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 (6,6 millions de dollars);
  • une diminution résultant du transfert de fonds de fonctionnement à Services partagés Canada (SPC) (2,6 millions de dollars);
  • des économies découlant de l'Examen stratégique de 2010 (2,4 millions de dollars);
  • une diminution du financement accordé en lien avec certaines exigences opérationnelles, notamment l'indemnité de départ (2,1 millions de dollars);
  • une diminution nette du fonds de fonctionnement servant à administrer les programmes au nom d'Infrastructure Canada (619 000 dollars);
  • une diminution du financement accordé au Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest (455 000 dollars).

 

Version textuelle (Link 1): Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice 2012—2013

(en milliers de dollars)

Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses prévues pour l'exercice 2012–2013. Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses prévues pour l'exercice 2011–2012.

Total des autorisations utilisées et dépensées pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 et cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Pour le troisième trimestre et les résultats cumulatifs, le total des autorisations utilisable est concentré dans les paiements de transfert (64 p. 100 pour le trimestre; 59 p. 100 pour l'exercice jusqu'à ce jour) et les coûts relatifs au personnel (30 p. 100 pour le trimestre; 35 p. 100 pour l'exercice jusqu'à ce jour). Une fois combinés, ils représentent 94 p. 100 des dépenses réelles pour le troisième trimestre et les résultats cumulatifs (consulter les diagrammes à secteurs ci-dessous pour l'exercice 2012–2013). Cette répartition des dépenses est semblable à celle des mêmes périodes en 2011–2012 et devrait rester pareille en 2012–2013.

Pour le troisième trimestre et les résultats cumulatifs, les dépenses témoignent de diminutions générales du total des autorisations utilisées et des dépenses réelles, qui sont passées de 31,8 et 88,3 millions de dollars en 2011–2012 à 29,4 et à 80 millions de dollars en 2012–2013 (respectivement), comme on peut le voir dans les tableaux « État des autorisations » et « Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant ». Les diminutions significatives de 2,4 millions de dollars (8 p. 100) du troisième trimestre et de 8,3 millions de dollars (9 p. 100) des résultats cumulatifs sont attribuables à :

  • une réduction générale de l'effectif de DEO, notamment le transfert d'employés à SPC, aux économies découlant de l'Examen stratégique et au non-renouvellement des employés nommés pour une durée déterminée (1,4 million de dollars pour le trimestre; 4,3 millions de dollars pour l'exercice jusqu'à ce jour);
  • d'autres réductions des coûts de fonctionnement, notamment le transfert des coûts de fonctionnement à SPC, et à des réductions des dépenses contrôlées (diminutions trimestrielle et cumulative nettes de 810 000 dollars et de 2,4 millions de dollars, respectivement);
  • la fin du programme de paiements de transfert Infrastructure de loisirs du Canada et aux écarts temporels pour le traitement de divers programmes de paiements de transfert. Ces écarts ont contribué à une diminution nette des dépenses au titre des paiements de transfert (246 000 pour le trimestre; 1,6 million pour l'exercice jusqu'à ce jour).

On prévoit une tendance à la baisse des paiements de transfert (subventions et contributions) et des coûts de fonctionnement (personnel, autres coûts de fonctionnement) vers la fin de l'exercice, avec le lancement des initiatives ministérielles de réduction des dépenses.

Version textuelle (Link 2): Dépenses réelles pour l'exercice 2012—2013

(en milliers de dollars)

Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses réelles pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012. Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses réelles pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011.

Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses réelles cumul des crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012. Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses réelles cumul des crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Risques et incertitudes

Les budgets de fonctionnement ministériels des exercices 2011–2012 et 2012–2013 ont été gelés au niveau de 2010–2011 conformément aux mesures de réduction des coûts annoncées dans le budget de 2010 et le budget de 2011. Ainsi, pour l'exercice 2012–2013, aucun financement supplémentaire ne sera accordé pour couvrir les hausses annuelles de salaire d'environ 498 000 dollars en vertu des conventions collectives négociées, ainsi qu'une somme prévue de 381 000 dollars pour les conventions collectives actuellement à l'étude.

En 2010–2011, DEO a dû revoir ses programmes et ses dépenses dans le cadre de l'Examen stratégique de 2010. Cet examen a donné au Ministère l'occasion de simplifier son fonctionnement, de réorienter ses programmes et d'éliminer ceux qui n'étaient plus nécessaires. Les mesures prises permettront, sur trois ans, de réaliser des économies cumulatives de 8,9 millions de dollars, comme l'indique le budget de 2011, dont 5,6 millions de dollars ont été retranchés du niveau de financement de 2012–2013.

Le Ministère réagit à la réduction de ses budgets des paiements de transfert et des coûts de fonctionnement en gérant les mesures de réduction des coûts et les économies découlant de l'Examen stratégique selon un cadre bien défini de responsabilités, de politiques et de procédures. DEO possède un système approprié de budgets, de rapports et d'autres contrôles internes pour gérer ses activités dans les limites des ressources disponibles et des autorisations parlementaires. La réduction proportionnelle des crédits budgétaires affectés aux unités fonctionnelles et aux unités des services internes, réduction qui est renforcée par l'examen périodique de la dotation en personnel, de même que les rapports sur les dépenses prévues et réelles, assureront une utilisation des ressources conforme aux objectifs de la planification des finances et des ressources humaines tout en permettant d'apporter des corrections en temps opportun.

Le Ministère maintient ses processus de gestion financière et continuera de les renforcer pour préserver l'efficacité de sa gestion budgétaire. Cela comprend l'évaluation de l'impact des changements aux calendriers d'exécution des projets et du processus de prévision des besoins de financement sur plusieurs années. Le processus décisionnel facilite la réaffectation des ressources financières à des initiatives prioritaires.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Services partagés Canada (SPC) a été créé le 4 août 2011 « en vue de regrouper, de rationaliser et d'améliorer les services d'infrastructure de technologie de l'information […] dans l'ensemble du gouvernement fédéral. » Par conséquent, DEO a remis 2,6 millions de dollars à SPC, soit des coûts relatifs au personnel de 702 000 dollars et d'autres coûts de fonctionnement de 1,9 million de dollars.

Mise en œuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d'économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 qui seront mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement, ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Dans le cadre du budget de 2012, le Ministère réalisera des économies de 16,3 millions de dollars d'ici l'exercice 2014–2015 grâce à des mesures d'efficacité, en réduisant les activités lorsque les besoins diminuent, en transformant les processus internes et en misant sur les regroupements et la rationalisation. Le Ministère a procédé à un examen de ses services internes pour consolider les fonctions, en particulier les services d'approvisionnement et de comptabilité, dans le but d'éliminer le chevauchement des tâches et de réduire les coûts de fonctionnement. On compte parmi les autres mesures d'économie : le transfert de la fonction de vérification interne au Bureau du contrôleur général, l'adoption d'une approche axée sur le cycle de vie pour la gestion des projets de paiements de transfert et diverses mesures de réduction des dépenses contrôlées, notamment en ce qui a trait aux voyages, aux services professionnels et aux paiements de transfert. Ces changements aideront le Ministère à se concentrer sur la promotion de l'excellence en matière de gestion ainsi que sur la responsabilisation dans l'ensemble de l'administration publique.

Au cours de la première année de mise en œuvre, DEO réalisera des économies de 6,6 millions de dollars liées aux économies du budget de 2012, soit 6,2 millions de dollars relativement aux paiements de transfert, 94 000 dollars au personnel et 304 000 à d'autres économies de fonctionnement. Cette réduction est reflétée dans l'écart du troisième trimestre de 19,4 millions de dollars du total des autorisations disponibles et des dépenses prévues entre les exercices 2011–2012 et 2012–2013. Les économies grimperont à 9,3 millions de dollars en 2013–2014, de sorte que les économies permanentes se chiffreront à 16,3 millions de dollars d'ici 2014–2015.

Le total des autorisations utilisées et des dépenses réelles pour le troisième trimestre ont diminué considérablement de 2,4 millions de dollars par rapport aux mêmes périodes en 2011-2012, et ce, malgré une faible incidence des initiatives prévues dans le budget de 2012. Le total des économies du budget de 2012 continuera d'être reflété jusqu'à la fin de l'exercice.

Le Ministère continuera de gérer les incertitudes et les risques financiers ayant trait aux coûts anticipés de la mise en œuvre des mesures de réduction de l'effectif en vue de réaliser les économies prévues par le budget de 2012, coûts qui varieront selon le moment du départ des employés. DEO continue de gérer la mise en œuvre du budget de 2012 grâce à des processus de contrôle et de gestion financière qui facilitent la réaffectation des ressources et la planification des ressources humaines et financières.

On ne constate que des changements minimes en ce qui a trait aux opérations, au personnel et aux programmes pour cette période de rapport en ce qui a trait aux initiatives du budget de 2012. Au cours du troisième trimestre, le Ministère a mené des processus de dotation pour les unités des opérations comptables et de l'approvisionnement centralisées. Au fur et à mesure que les postes des unités sont dotés et que ces dernières deviennent fonctionnelles, le solde des économies du budget de 2012 sera reflété dans les rapports trimestriels subséquents.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Approbation de la haute direction

Approuvé par :

Daphne Meredith
Sous-ministre
Jim Saunderson
Dirigeant principal des finances

Edmonton, Canada
Date: Le 15 février 2013

 

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2012—2013
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 * ** Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 — Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 45 766 9 399 28 727
Crédit 5 — Subventions et contributions 142 148 18 698 45 389
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Régime d'avantages sociaux 5 086 1 271 3 814
Subventions et contributions 4 500 - 2 017
Autres 17 5 17
Autorisations totales 197 517 29 373 79 964

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2011—2012
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 52 137 11 601 35 426
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 155 098 18 944 46 865
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Régime d'avantages sociaux 5 171 1 293 3 879
Subventions et contributions 4 500 - 2 175
Autres 2 - 2
Autorisations totales 216 908 31 838 88 347
Remarque : Les écarts entre les trimestres sont attribuables à l'arrondissement.

De l'information supplémentaire est fournie dans le prochain tableau.

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.
** Les « crédits totaux disponibles » tiennent compte des mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012.

 

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2012—2013
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 * Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 34 781 8 869 27 557
Transports et communications 3 539 349 859
Information 470 53 163
Services professionnels et spéciaux 8 305 954 2 757
Location 860 247 860
Services de réparation et entretien 255 3 14
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 722 30 132
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 938 136 146
Paiements de transfert 146 647 18 698 47 406
Autres subventions et paiements - 34 70
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 197 517 29 373 79 964
* Les « dépenses prévues » tiennent compte des mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012.

 

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2011—2012
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 37 504 10 278 31 896
Transports et communications 4 764 911 2 260
Information 397 55 153
Services professionnels et spéciaux 10 442 1 380 3 520
Location 1 210 177 468
Services de réparation et entretien 612 10 81
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 794 80 230
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 587 36 320
Paiements de transfert 159 598 18 944 49 040
Autres subventions et paiements - (33) 379
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 216 908 31 838 88 347
Remarque : Les écarts entre les trimestres sont attribuables à l'arrondissement.