Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Trends And Statistical Overview

Highlights, Challenges and Trends

  • Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) began posting summaries of its closed access to information requests in September 2011.
     
  • The ATIP Unit reviewed and provided advice on 24 audit and evaluation related documents prior to information being posted to WD’s public web site.
     
  • WD recognized Right to Know Week (September 26–30, 2011) via e-mail to all staff as a news bulletin on the department’s intranet site.
     
  • WD continues to share it policy, procedures, best practices and staff awareness materials with other regional development agencies and the Small Agency Administrator’s Network.
     
  • WD has identified no significant multi-year trends pertaining to the types of request or the processing of requests received under the Access to Information Act. Any increase or decrease in the various components of the statistical report is proportionate to the number of requests received in 2011–2012 when compared to previous years.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Statistical Overview

The following information provides additional context where appropriate to the statistical details found in Annex B – "2011–2012 Report on the Access to Information Act (Statistical Report)".

A.  Request-Related Information

In 2011–2012, WD received 11 requests for information pursuant to the Access to Information Act. This is a 39 percent decrease from the last two fiscal years. In addition, WD received two requests which were treated informally as a result of the posting of summaries of closed access requests.

The breakdown of the sources of requests is noted below, along with the comparison of the sources of access requests between 2011–2012 and 2010–2011 fiscal years is provided.

  • Four (37 percent) from the general public
  • Three (27 percent) from media
  • Two each (18 percent) from business and other organizations (political party)

Text version: Comparison of Requests by Source – 2011-2012 vs. 2010-2011

Comparison of Requests by Source – 2011-2012 vs. 2010-2011

B.  Extensions of Time Limits and Consultations

Section 9 of the Act provides for the extension of the statutory time limits if the request is for a large volume of records or necessitates a search through a large volume of records and meeting the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the department; also, if consultations are necessary.

In 2011–2012, WD required extensions to complete necessary consultations on two requests. Although extensions of 45 and 60 days were taken, WD closed both requests within 45 days thanks to the prompt responses from the third parties and other government departments that were consulted.

C.  Exemptions and Exclusions Invoked

The department closed seven requests in 2011–2012. Of these, exemptions were applied pursuant to the Act on three requests. If three different exemptions were applied to a request, one exemption under each relevant section would be reported for a total of three; however, the same exemption claimed several times in the same request is captured only once in the statistics.

Exemption Invoked 2011–2012 2010–2011
13(1) 0 1
14 0 1
16(2) 0 2
18 0 2
19(1) 1 6
20(1) 3 8
21(1) 4 11
23 1 2
26 1 0

Sections 20(1) and 21(1) of the Act were the most utilized exemption during the reporting period, each having been applied to two requests. Section 26 was applied to one request, but information subsequently released.

The Act does not apply to certain materials such as published material pursuant to Section 68 or confidences of the Queen’s Privy Council pursuant to Section 69. WD did not invoke either Section 68 or 69 during the 2011–2012 reporting period.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

D.  Disposition, Completion Times and Method of Access

Of the seven access requests completed during the reporting period, four were disclosed electronically in their entirety and three were disclosed in part and the records provided in a paper format. Four requests were carried forward to the 2012–2013 fiscal year.

Of the requests carried forward, two requests required clarification and/or application fees, one required reproduction fees, and one awaited the response to a consultation with another federal department (a preliminary response and a portion of the records had been provided to the requestor).

E. Other Government Department Consultations

WD was consulted by other federal departments on 15 occasions and twice by provincial government departments in 2011–2012, for a total of 17 consultations. One consultation was carried forward to the 2012–2013 fiscal year. This is a 23 percent decrease from 2010–2011. Of these consultations from other federal departments, five were courtesy notices; however, WD reviews this information carefully to ensure the information being disclosed about the department is accurate.

F. Complaints and Investigations

WD received no complaints pursuant to the Access to Information Act in 2011–2012, and there were no appeals or applications submitted to the Federal Court.

G.  Fees and Operational Costs Associated with Administering the Act

Access to Information fees collected during the reporting period totalled $78.80. These fees include application fees for 10 requests and $23.80 for reproduction costs. During the same period, WD waived fees totalling $32.80, including reproduction fees of $27.80, as well as a $5.00 application fee refund. (Note: The reproduction fees, both fees collected and waived, reported here are the actual fees; fees reported in the Statistical Report are rounded up due to reporting limitations of the report.)

WD’s cost for administrating the Access to Information Act is estimated as follows:

  • ATIP Unit salary costs, including a portion of the ATIP Coordinator’s and Deputy ATIP Coordinator’s salaries, and 70 percent of the ATIP Officer’s salary;
  • administrative operation and maintenance costs, which include non-salary expenses associated with the processing of access requests, and ATIP case management system licensing and upgrades; and
  • additional salary-related costs, which incorporate estimated costs for other departmental officials to retrieve, review and make recommendations concerning records responding to access requests and translation of staff awareness materials and privacy-related documents.

ATIP Unit salaries : $67,839
Administrative operation and maintenance costs : $7,681
Total ATIP Unit Costs : $75,520

Additional salary-related costs: $9,781
Total Departmental Costs: $85,301

The additional costs included above, which are not all captured in the Statistical Report, provide a more complete picture of the overall cost to the department to administer all aspects of its activities related to the Access to Information Act. While the salary costs increased slightly, the total estimated costs to administer the Act of $85,301decreased slightly from 2010–2011 due to reduced administrative operation and maintenance costs and other salary-related costs.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Survol des Tendances et des Données Statistiques

Points saillants, défis et tendances

  • Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) a commencé à afficher des sommaires de ses demandes d’accès à l’information complétées en septembre 2011.
     
  • La Section de l’AIPRP a examiné 24 documents liés à des vérifications et à des évaluations, et a fourni des conseils à leur sujet, avant que l’information ne soit affichée sur le site Internet de DEO.
     
  • DEO a envoyé un courriel à tous les employés pour souligner la Semaine canadienne du droit à l’information (du 26 au 30 septembre 2011) et a affiché un bulletin de nouvelles à ce sujet sur son site intranet.
     
  • DEO continue de communiquer ses politiques, ses procédures, ses pratiques exemplaires et ses documents de sensibilisation des employés à d’autres organismes de développement régional et au Réseau des administrateurs de petits organismes.
     
  • DEO n’a dégagé aucune tendance pluriannuelle importante en ce qui a trait aux types de demandes ou au traitement des demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Toute augmentation ou diminution relative aux divers éléments du rapport statistique est proportionnelle au nombre de demandes reçues en 2011–2012 lorsqu’on la compare aux données des années précédentes.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Survol des données statistiques

Les renseignements qui suivent fournissent de l’information contextuelle, le cas échéant, qui s’ajoute aux détails statistiques figurant dans l’annexe B – Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour 2011–2012.

A.  Information sur les demandes

En 2011–2012, DEO a reçu 11 demandes d’accès à l’information en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cela représente une diminution de 39 p. 100 par rapport aux deux derniers exercices. DEO a, en outre, reçu deux demandes qui ont été traitées de façon informelle à la suite de l’affichage des sommaires des demandes d’accès fermées.

La ventilation des sources des demandes est indiquée ci–dessous et est accompagnée de la comparaison des sources des demandes d’accès reçues pendant les exercices 2011–2012 et 2010–2011.

  • Quatre demandes (37 p. 100) provenaient de membres du grand public
  • Trois demandes (27 p. 100) provenaient des médias
  • Deux demandes (18 p. 100) provenaient d’entreprises et deux autres demandes (18 p. 100) provenaient d’autres organisations (parti politique)

Version textuelle : Source des demandes recues en 2011-2012 par rapport à 2010-2011

Source des demandes reçues en 2011-2012 par rapport à 2010-2011

B.  Prorogations des délais et consultations

L’article 9 de la présente loi prévoit la prorogation du délai légal si la demande porte sur un important volume de documents, si le traitement de la demande dans le délai prévu entrave de manière déraisonnable le fonctionnement du ministère ou si des consultations sont nécessaires.

En 2011–2012, DEO a eu recours à des prorogations pour mener à bien les consultations nécessaires pour donner suite à deux demandes. Même si des prorogations de 45 et de 60 jours ont été obtenues, DEO a fermé les deux demandes dans un délai de 45 jours grâce aux réponses rapides des tierces parties et d’autres ministères qui ont été consultés.

C.  Exceptions et exclusions invoquées

Le Ministère a fermé sept demandes en 2011–2012. Des exceptions ont été invoquées pour trois de ces demandes conformément à la loi. Si trois exceptions différentes sont invoquées pour une demande, une exception en vertu de chaque article pertinent est indiquée pour un total de trois exceptions; cependant, si une même exception est invoquée plusieurs fois pour la même demande, elle n’est entrée qu’une seule fois dans les données statistiques.

Exception invoquée 2011–2012 2010–2011
13(1) 0 1
14 0 1
16(2) 0 2
18 0 2
19(1) 1 6
20(1) 3 8
21(1) 4 11
23 1 2
26 1 0

Les paragraphes 20(1) et 21(1) de la loi sont les exceptions qui ont été le plus souvent utilisées pendant la période visée par le rapport, chacune d’entre elles ayant été invoquée pour deux demandes. L’article 26 a été invoqué pour une demande, mais l’information a par la suite été communiquée.

La loi ne s'applique pas à certains documents, comme ceux qui ont été publiés aux termes de l'article 68 ou les documents confidentiels du Conseil privé de la Reine aux termes de l'article 69. DEO n’a invoqué ni l’article 68 ni l’article 69 au cours de la période visée par le rapport de 2011–2012.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

D.  Disposition, délais d’achèvement et méthode d’accès

Sur les sept demandes d’accès complétées pendant la période visée par le rapport, quatre ont donné lieu à la communication de toute l’information demandée en format électronique et trois ont donné lieu à la communication d’une partie de l’information demandée et des documents pertinents en format papier. Quatre demandes ont été reportées à l’exercice 2012–2013.

Sur les quatre demandes qui ont été reportées, deux demandes n’étaient pas suffisamment claires et/ou elles n’étaient pas accompagnées des frais exigés, une demande n’était pas accompagnée des frais exigés, et une demande était suspendue en attendant la réponse d’un autre ministère fédéral consulté (une réponse préliminaire et une partie des documents avaient été fournies au demandeur).

E.  Consultations par d’autres ministères

DEO a été consulté par d’autres ministères fédéraux à 15 occasions et par des ministères provinciaux à deux reprises en 2011–2012, pour un total de 17 consultations. L’une de ces consultations a été reportée à l’exercice 2012–2013. Cela représente une diminution de 23 p. 100 par rapport à 2010–2011. Cinq des consultations par d’autres ministères du gouvernement fédéral étaient des avis de courtoisie; cela dit, DEO examine attentivement les renseignements fournis afin de s’assurer que l’information divulguée au sujet du Ministère est exacte.

F.  Plaintes et enquêtes

DEO n’a reçu aucune plainte en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2011–2012, et aucune demande d’appel ou autre n’a été présentée à la Cour fédérale.

G.  Frais et coûts opérationnels liés à l’administration de la loi

Les frais d'accès à l'information recueillis durant la période visée par le rapport s’élèvent à 78,80 $. Cela comprend les frais de demande pour 10 demandes et 23,80 $ en frais de reproduction. Au cours de la même période, DEO a renoncé à des frais totalisant 32,80 $, y compris des frais de reproduction de 27,80 $ et des frais de demande de 5,00 $. (Remarque : Les frais de reproduction indiqués dans ce paragraphe, qu’il s’agisse des frais recueillis ou des frais auxquels le Ministère a renoncé, sont les frais réels facturés; les frais qui apparaissent dans le rapport statistique sont arrondis en raison des restrictions relatives à la présentation du rapport.)

Les coûts associés à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information par DEO sont estimés comme suit :

  • les coûts salariaux de la Section de l'AIPRP, y compris une partie des salaires du coordonnateur et du coordonnateur adjoint, et 70 p. 100 du salaire de l'agent de l'AIPRP;
  • les coûts administratifs, de fonctionnement et d’entretien, qui comprennent les dépenses non salariales liées au traitement des demandes d’accès ainsi que l’obtention des licences et les mises à niveau pour le système de gestion de cas de l’AIPRP;
  • les coûts additionnels liés aux salaires, qui englobent les coûts approximatifs liés à la recherche et à l’examen, par d’autres fonctionnaires du Ministère, des documents permettant de répondre aux demandes d’accès, ainsi qu’à la formulation de recommandations à cet égard et les coûts approximatifs liés à la traduction de documents de sensibilisation des employés et de documents liés à la vie privée.

Coûts salariaux de la Section de l’AIPRP : 67 839 $
Coûts administratifs, de fonctionnement et d’entretien : 7 681 $
Coûts totaux pour la Section de l’AIPRP : 75 520 $

Coûts additionnels liés aux salaires : 9 781 $
Total des Coûts Ministériels : 85 301 $

Les coûts additionnels indiqués ci–dessus, qui ne figurent pas tous dans le rapport statistique, fournissent un portrait plus exhaustif du coût global, pour le Ministère, de l’administration de tous les aspects des activités qui sont liés à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Tandis que les coûts salariaux ont augmenté légèrement, le total approximatif des coûts liés à l’administration de la loi, qui s’élèvent à 85 301 $, a diminué légèrement par rapport à 2010–2011, en raison de la réduction des coûts administratifs, de fonctionnement et d’entretien et des autres coûts liés aux salaires.