Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Administration of The Act

Access to Information and Privacy Unit

Western Economic Diversification Canada’s (WD) Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Unit is located in Edmonton, Alberta. The unit oversees the administration of the Act, and is part of the Finance and Corporate Management Directorate. The ATIP Coordinator (Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Management) is supported by the Deputy Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator (Manager, Corporate Administration), and one full-time ATIP Officer. In addition, a back-up was identified for the ATIP Officer in March 2012.

These individuals are accountable for the development, coordination and implementation of effective policies, guidelines, systems and procedures to ensure the Minister’s responsibilities under the Act are met, and enabling the appropriate processing and proper disclosure of information.

Regional ATIP Liaison Officers (RALOs) are located in each of WD’s regional offices and corporate business units. These seven individuals are the first point of contact and identify the appropriate subject matter experts, coordinate retrieval of records responding to access requests, and liaise between the ATIP Unit and regional staff concerning enquiries.

The primary activities of WD’s ATIP Unit include:

  • processing access requests in accordance with the Act;
  • responding to consultations submitted by other federal institutions on WD records being considered for release;
  • developing and maintaining policies, procedures and guidelines to ensure the Act is respected by staff;
  • promoting awareness of the Act within the department to ensure staff is aware of the obligations imposed by the legislation;
  • preparing annual reports to Parliament and other statutory requirements, such as annual statistical reports and the department’s Info Source chapter, as well as any material that may be required by central agencies;
  • representing WD in dealings with Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS), the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada and other federal organizations regarding the application of the Act as it relates to WD;
  • monitoring departmental compliance with the Act, its regulations, and relevant policies and procedures; and
  • providing ongoing advice and guidance to senior management and staff on information management and access to information legislation.

The ATIP Unit utilizes an ATIP database management system for all administrative actions; however, it processes all records in paper format, except where lists are compiled into Excel format and provided to the applicant electronically. WD does not utilize an electronic redaction system for processing its records at this time.

Delegation of Authority

For the purposes of the Access to Information Act for WD, the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, Minister for Status of Women and Minister responsible for Western Economic Diversification delegated her full powers, authorities and responsibilities to the Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Management (ATIP Coordinator) and Manager, Corporate Administration (Deputy ATIP). The delegation also extends limited authority to the ATIP Officer to acknowledge access requests and manage related extensions.

A copy of the signed delegation instrument for the Access to Information Act is attached in Annex A.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Departmental Policies and Procedures

WD’s Access to Information policy suite, including the Access to Information Procedures Manual, underwent significant updates in fiscal year 2010–2011. These policy and procedural documents are reviewed annually to ensure that they are up-to-date, and incorporate any changes in TBS policies or directives, or changes as result of issues raised by the Office of the Information Commission or other agents of Parliament. As these documents had been recently revised, no changes were made in the 2011–2012 fiscal year.

However, as a result of TBS guidance received in July 2011 pertaining to posting of summaries of completed access requests on the public Web sites of federal institutions, WD began posting summaries of its closed access to information requests in September 2011. This requirement became mandatory in the revised TBS Directive on the Administration of the Access to Information Act (January 16, 2012). In addition, a new hyperlink was added to the home page on WD’s Web site above the hyperlink to "Proactive Disclosure" and the postings are also hyperlinked to the Open Government Web site.

Education, Training and Awareness

The Deputy ATIP Coordinator and ATIP Officer attended workshops at the Access and Privacy Conference held in Edmonton in June 2011. The ATIP Officer also attended the Canadian Access and Privacy Association Annual Conference and TBS ATIP Practitioners Meeting in November 2011.

In March 2012, the ATIP Officer successfully met all the requirements for professional certification from the Canadian Institute of Access and Privacy Professional (CIAPP) and was granted the designation of CIAPP Professional.

A back-up for the ATIP Officer was identified in mid-March 2012. Limited training was provided in fiscal year 2011–2012.

Staff training and awareness activities include:

  • The ATIP Coordinator, Deputy ATIP Coordinator and ATIP Officer provide ongoing advice on access to information issues to RALO s and staff to increase awareness of the Act. They also provide guidance on how the department processes access requests, and the rationale required to apply the exemptions and exclusions, where appropriate.
     
  • Regional ATIP awareness sessions were cancelled following the 2011 Federal budget announcement. As a result, WD is exploring training options via video conference for the 2012–2013 fiscal year.
     
  • "The ATIP Eye" tips are sent to WD staff via email and posted on the department’s intranet site. The tips provide advice on frequently asked questions, specific exemptions or areas where the department might improve on its obligations under the Act. In 2011–2012, tips provided guidance on:
     
    • the duty to document;
    • briefing notes;
    • advice, recommendations, consultations and deliberations (two parts);
    • irrelevance; and
    • information obtained in confidence.

Several departmental managers use these tips as discussion items in staff meetings. They are also shared with ATIP officials in several federal institutions, including the regional development agencies, the Canadian Space Agency, National Research Council of Canada, the Canada School of Public Service, and other small departments and agencies that are part of the Small Agency Administrator’s Network.

  • WD promoted Right to Know Week (September 26–30, 2011) via e-mail to all staff as a news bulletin on the department’s intranet site.
     
  • The department maintains an "Access to Information and Privacy" presence on its intranet site that includes policies, procedures, contact information, past training and awareness presentations, relevant links to useful sites related to access and privacy, as well as "The ATIP Eye" tips.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Administration de la Loi

Section de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Les bureaux de la Section de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) sont situés à Edmonton, en Alberta. La Section supervise l’administration de la loiet fait partie de la Direction des finances et de la gestion ministérielle. Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP (directeur exécutif, Finances et Gestion ministérielle) est appuyé par le coordonnateur adjoint à l’AIPRP (gestionnaire, Administration intégrée) et par un agent de l’AIPRP à temps plein. Un remplaçant a en outre été désigné pour l’agent de l’AIPRP en mars 2012.

Ces personnes sont responsables de l’élaboration, de la coordination et de la mise en œuvre de politiques, de lignes directrices, de systèmes et de procédures efficaces visant à faire en sorte que le ou la ministre puisse assumer ses responsabilités aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à permettre la divulgation et le traitement appropriés de l’information.

Des agents régionaux de liaison de l’AIPRP (ARLA) sont en poste dans chacun des bureaux régionaux de DEO et dans chaque unité opérationnelle de l’organisation. Ces sept agents sont les premières personnes-ressources à joindre en matière d’AIPRP. Elles sont responsables d’identifier les experts appropriés en la matière, de coordonner la recherche des documents faisant l'objet de demandes d'accès à l'information, et d’assurer la liaison entre la Section de l'AIPRP et le personnel des régions en ce qui concerne les demandes.

Les principales activités de la Section de l’AIPRP de DEO comprennent :

  • le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information conformément à la loi;
  • les réponses aux consultations soumises par d’autres institutions fédérales au sujet des documents de DEO susceptibles d’être divulgués;
  • l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de politiques, procédures et lignes directrices visant à faire en sorte que la loisoit respectée par le personnel;
  • les efforts visant à bien faire connaître la loi au sein de DEO afin que le personnel respecte les obligations imposées par la législation;
  • l’élaboration des rapports annuels au Parlement et d’autres documents prévus par la loi, comme les rapports de données statistiques annuels et le chapitre d'Info Source de DEO, ainsi que tout autre document pouvant être demandé par les organismes centraux;
  • la représentation de DEO dans les rapports avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada et les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux concernant l'application de la loi au sein de DEO;
  • la surveillance de la conformité du ministère à la loi, à son règlement d’application, ainsi qu’aux politiques et procédures pertinentes;
  • la formulation continue de conseils aux cadres supérieurs et aux employés sur la gestion de l'information et la législation en matière d'accès à l'information.

La Section de l’AIPRP utilise un système de gestion de la base de données sur l’AIPRP pour toutes les mesures administratives; elle traite néanmoins tous les documents en format papier, sauf dans les cas où les listes sont compilées en format Excel et fournies au demandeur en format électronique. DEO n’utilise pas un système de rédaction électronique pour le traitement de ses documents en ce moment.

Délégation de pouvoirs

Aux fins de l’application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information par DEO, la ministre du Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, ministre de la Condition féminine et ministre responsable de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien a délégué l’intégralité de ses pouvoirs et de ses responsabilités au directeur exécutif, Finances et Gestion ministérielle (coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels), et au gestionnaire, Administration intégrée (coordonnateur adjoint de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels). La délégation confère aussi à l’agent de l’AIPRP un pouvoir limité pour ce qui est d’accuser réception des demandes d’accès et de gérer les prorogations de délai connexes.

Vous trouverez, à l’annexe A, une copie de l’instrument de délégation signé concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Politiques et procédures ministérielles

L’ensemble de politiques sur l’accès à l’information de DEO, qui comprend le manuel des méthodes sur l’accès à l’information, a fait l’objet de modifications importantes pendant l’exercice 2010–2011. Ces documents de politiques et de procédures sont révisés une fois par année afin de veiller à ce que les renseignements qu’ils contiennent sont à jour et à ce qu’ils rendent compte de tous les changements relatifs aux politiques ou aux directives du Secrétariat du Conseil de Trésor du Canada (SCT), ou de tous les changements découlant de questions soulevées par le Commissariat à l’information ou par d’autres agents du Parlement. Comme ces documents avaient récemment fait l’objet d’une révision, aucune modification n’y a été apportée pendant l’exercice 2011–2012.

Cependant, à la suite des instructions du SCT reçues en juillet 2011 au sujet de l’affichage des sommaires des demandes d’accès complétées sur les sites Internet des institutions fédérales, DEO a commencé à afficher des sommaires des demandes d’accès terminées depuis septembre 2011. Cette exigence est devenue obligatoire d’après la Directive concernant l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information nouvellement révisée (16 janvier 2012). Un nouvel hyperlien a par ailleurs été ajouté sur la page d’accueil du site Web de DEO au–dessus de l’hyperlien « Divulgation proactive » et les documents affichés sont aussi liés au site Web du Gouvernement ouvert.

Formation et sensibilisation

Le coordonnateur adjoint et l'agent de l'AIPRP ont assisté à des ateliers lors de la conférence sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels qui a eu lieu à Edmonton en juin 2011. L’agent de l’AIPRP a aussi participé à la conférence annuelle de l’Association canadienne d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels et à la réunion des praticiens de l’AIPRP du SCT en novembre 2011.

En mars 2012, l’agent de l’AIPRP a satisfait toutes les exigences relatives à l’obtention de l’accréditation professionnelle délivrée par l’Institut canadien des professionnels en matière d’accès et de vie privée (ICPAVP) et a été désigné « professionnel de l’ICPAVP ».

Un remplaçant pour l’agent d’AIPRP a été nommé à la mi–mars 2012. Une formation limitée lui a été fournie pendant l’exercice 2011–2012.

Les activités de formation et de sensibilisation auxquelles les employés ont participé comprennent :
  • Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, le coordonnateur adjoint de l’AIPRP ainsi que l’agent de l’AIPRP ont fourni, de façon continue, des conseils sur les questions relatives à l’accès à l’information aux ARLA et aux employés afin d’accroître leur sensibilisation à la loi. Ils fournissent également des conseils quant au traitement des demandes d’accès par le ministère et sur la justification requise pour l’application des exceptions et des exclusions, le cas échéant.
     
  • Les séances de sensibilisation à l’AIPRP à l’intention des employés des régions ont été annulées à la suite de l’annonce du budget fédéral 2011. DEO examine actuellement des options de formation par vidéoconférence pour l’exercice 2012–2013.
     
  • Les conseils présentés dans Le regard de l’AIPRP sont envoyés au personnel de DEO par courriel et affichés sur le site intranet du ministère. Ces conseils visent à éclairer le personnel sur des questions fréquemment posées, des exceptions particulières ou des aspects à améliorer par rapport aux obligations du ministère à l’égard de la loi. En 2011–2012, les conseils fournis portaient sur :
     
    • l’obligation de documenter;
    • les notes de breffage;
    • les conseils, les recommandations, les consultations et les délibérations (deux parties);
    • la non–pertinence;
    • les renseignements obtenus à titre confidentiel.

Plusieurs gestionnaires du ministère utilisent ces conseils comme points de discussions lors des réunions du personnel. Ils sont aussi communiqués aux fonctionnaires responsables de l’AIPRP dans plusieurs institutions fédérales, dont les organismes de développement régional, l’Agence spatiale canadienne, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, l’École de la fonction publique du Canada, ainsi que d’autres ministères de petite taille et organismes faisant partie du Réseau des administrateurs de petits organismes.

  • DEO a souligné la Semaine canadienne du droit à l’information (du 26 au 30 septembre 2011) en envoyant un courriel à tous les employés et en affichant un bulletin de nouvelles sur le site intranet du ministère.
     
  • Une section du site intranet du ministère est également réservée à l'accès à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels. Cette section comprend toutes les politiques et les procédures en matière d'AIPRP, les coordonnées des personnes-ressources, les exposés de formation et de sensibilisation présentés par le passé, des liens vers des sites utiles, ainsi que les conseils de la série Le regard de l’AIPRP.