Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Audit Strategies and Approach

Planning

Audit planning started in October 2011 and fieldwork was completed in January 2012.  Departmental employees were engaged as necessary throughout the audit process to facilitate identification of key risks, audit criteria, control elements and audit strategies.  The audit also looked to identify opportunities to assist the department’s implementation of the Treasury Board Accounting Standards 1.2 and 1.3 and related directives.

Standards and Methodology

Government of Canada internal auditing standards were used for the audit.  It was evidence-based and provides audit assurance that is fully supported. The audit examined evidence against criteria that were established based on the Treasury Board Accounting Standards 1.2 and 1.3 and other federal government sources including: departmental performance report, Receiver General Manual, management discussions, Financial Administration Act, and Audit Criteria related to the Management Accountability Framework: A Tool for Internal Auditors. The basis for the audit examination and expectations was communicated and agreed to by management in the terms of reference. The sources of evidence gathered and used included: risk analysis, interviews, regional visits, verification, confirmations as necessary, audit analysis, analytical reviews, and cause and effect assessment.

Sampling

Based on the 275 controls documented during the financial statement audit readiness assessment project, internal audit judgementally selected 50 key controls relating to financial reporting and tested them for effectiveness. Internal Audit examined 8 completed recommendations from the financial statement readiness assessment project that have direct and significant impact on financial reporting. Internal Audit then performed additional tests necessary to satisfy that requirements of Treasury Board Accounting Standards 1.2 and 1.3 for the annual financial statements and quarterly financial reporting for March 2011, June 2011 and September 2011 were met.

Audit Team

Donald MacDonald, Chief Audit Executive

John Hagan, Project Leader

Christine Kasianiuk, Internal Auditor

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Stratégies et démarche de la vérification

Planification

La planification du travail de vérification a commencé en octobre 2011 et le travail de terrain s’est terminé en janvier 2012. Les employés du Ministère ont participé au processus de vérification, selon les besoins, afin de faciliter l’identification des principaux risques et de définir les critères de la vérification, les éléments de contrôle et les stratégies de vérification. La vérification avait également pour but d’aider le Ministère à mettre en œuvre la Norme comptable du Conseil du Trésor 1.2 et 1.3 et ses directives connexes.

Normes et méthode

L’équipe a utilisé les normes de vérification interne du gouvernement du Canada pour la vérification. La vérification est fondée sur des données probantes et fournit une certitude de vérification entièrement corroborée. Les vérificateurs ont examiné les preuves fournies en fonction de critères établis selon la Norme comptable du Conseil du Trésor 1.2 et 1.3 et d’autres sources du gouvernement fédéral, notamment le rapport ministériel sur le rendement, le guide du receveur général, des discussions avec les membres de la direction, la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et les Critères de vérification liés au Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion : outil à l’intention des vérificateurs internes. L’équipe de vérification a précisé les motifs de cette vérification et ses attentes dans son mandat, transmis à la haute direction et approuvé par cette dernière. L’information recueillie et utilisée provenait des sources suivantes : analyses des risques, entrevues, visites régionales, vérifications, confirmations, au besoin, analyses de vérification, examens analytiques et évaluations des causes et effets.

Échantillonnage

À partir des 275 contrôles documentés dans le cadre du projet d’évaluation de la préparation financière, l’équipe de la vérification interne a sélectionné, en se fiant à son seul jugement, 50 contrôles principaux liés aux rapports financiers et en a évalué l’efficacité. L’équipe de vérification interne s’est penchée sur huit recommandations réalisées découlant du projet d’évaluation de la préparation financière qui ont une incidence directe et importante sur les rapports financiers. L’équipe a ensuite effectué des évaluations additionnelles pour s’assurer que les exigences de la Norme comptable du Conseil du Trésor 1.2 et 1.3 concernant les états financiers annuels et les rapports financiers trimestriels pour mars 2011, juin 2011 et septembre 2011 étaient respectées.

Équipe de vérification

Donald MacDonald, Dirigeant principal de la vérification

John Hagan, Chef de projet

Christine Kasianiuk, Vérificatrice interne