Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Executive Summary

The Audit of Financial Reporting Controls was identified in the department’s approved 2011-12 Risk Based Audit Plan. This audit is a follow up to management’s financial readiness assessment completed by an external consultant. The purpose of the audit was to provide assurance that the department has designed and maintained a system of internal control over financial reporting that is adequate and effective.

Findings

Management has designed and maintained effective key controls to ensure integrity and objectivity in periodic financial reporting in accordance with Treasury Board directives. The controls have operated effectively to ensure the periodic financial reports produced satisfy the format and contents required by Treasury Board. Management has exercised its responsibility appropriately to provide adequate and reliable financial information in all material respects in accordance with Treasury Board Accounting Standards.

Opportunities for improvement identified pose low risk and the audit recommends that the department develop concise capital asset procedures to provide greater clarity on required conditions of assets capitalization.

No material issues were identified in this audit that would impair the integrity and objectivity in the financial reports produced in the audit period.

Statement of Assurance

In my professional judgment as Chief Audit Executive, sufficient and appropriate audit procedures have been conducted and evidence gathered to support the accuracy of the conclusion provided and contained in this report on the effectiveness of controls for financial reporting.

The assurance is based on a comparison of the conditions, as they existed at the time, against pre-established audit criteria that were agreed upon with management. The assurance is applicable to the policies and processes examined. The evidence was gathered in compliance with Treasury Board policy, directives, and standards on internal audit for the Government of Canada. The evidence has been gathered to be sufficient to provide senior management with the proof of the conclusions derived from the audit.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sommaire

La vérification des contrôles des rapports financiers était prévue dans le Plan de vérification axé sur les risques approuvé pour 2011-2012. Cette vérification fait suite à l’évaluation de la préparation financière de la direction effectuée par un consultant externe. Le but de la vérification était de fournir l’assurance que le Ministère a conçu et maintenu un système de contrôle interne s’appliquant à ses rapports financiers qui est adéquat et efficace.

Constatations

La direction a conçu et maintenu des mesures de contrôle efficaces pour garantir l’intégrité et l’objectivité des rapports financiers périodiques, conformément aux directives du Conseil du Trésor. Ces contrôles se sont révélés efficaces pour veiller à ce que les rapports financiers périodiques respectent le format et le contenu exigés par le Conseil du Trésor. La direction a agi adéquatement pour fournir une information financière adéquate et fiable, à tous égards importants, conformément à la Norme comptable du Conseil du Trésor

Les possibilités d’amélioration dégagées présentent peu de risques et l’équipe de vérification recommande que le Ministère se dote de procédures concises relatives à ses actifs pour mieux préciser les conditions de capitalisation des actifs.

Les vérificateurs n’ont cerné aucun problème important qui nuirait à l’intégrité et à l’objectivité des rapports financiers produits pendant la période de vérification.

Énoncé d’assurance

D’après mon jugement professionnel à titre de dirigeant principal de la vérification, des procédures de vérification adéquates et appropriées ont été mises en œuvre et les données recueillies étayent la conclusion formulée dans le présent rapport sur l’efficacité des contrôles des rapports financiers.

Cette assurance repose sur une comparaison des conditions, telles qu’elles existaient au moment de la vérification, en fonction de critères préétablis et approuvés par la direction. Cette assurance s’applique aux politiques et processus étudiés. La collecte des éléments de preuve a été effectuée conformément aux politiques et aux directives du Conseil du Trésor, et aux normes sur la vérification interne du gouvernement du Canada. Les données recueillies étaient suffisantes pour étayer les conclusions tirées de cette vérification, qui ont été transmises à la haute direction.