Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Introduction and Context

Background

The Government of Canada (GoC) established the Department of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) in 1987 as the federal regional economic department for western Canada. WD’s mandate is to promote the development and diversification of the economy of western Canada (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia) and to advance the interests of western Canada in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation.  WD’s corporate headquarters is located in Edmonton. Regional offices are located in Vancouver, Edmonton, Saskatoon and Winnipeg. WD has approximately 400 employees.

The Information Management and Technology (IMT) Directorate is responsible for both technical infrastructure and information management (IM).  Roles are responsibilities within the Directorate are divided within the following two groups:

  • IM team - responsible for corporate applications and databases along with the corporate Help Desk; and
     
  • Technology Services team - responsible for managing the IT infrastructure of the Department, including: servers, network, and video conferencing equipment.

The IMT Directorate has a total complement of approximately 24 staff (indeterminate and term positions), including the Director, IMT / Chief Information Officer (CIO), the CIO’s assistant, 16 IM staff, and six Technology Services staff. 

In addition to IMT Directorate staff, there are 14 regional IMT staff that report to regional management (the regional Manager of Finance) and have a functional reporting relationship to the CIO (although no direct reporting relationship).  WD is planning on spending $3.72M on IMT (1.9% of WD’s total budget) for 2011-12: $2.73M at headquarters, and $996K within the regional locations (1.4% and 0.5% of WD’s total budget, respectively).

At WD, Information Management Technology (IMT) governance provides the structure that links IMT processes, IMT resources, and IMT information to WD’s objectives and strategies.  Furthermore IMT is a key enabler for WD, as all staff deal with information and/or technology on a daily basis.  The area of IMT governance has not previously been the subject of an internal audit.

There are two governance committees that share the main responsibilities over IMT oversight within the department:

  • IMT Council: a cross-representation of departmental business areas and regions with vested interest in the major initiatives and client relationships undertaken by the IMT directorate. The IMT Council is responsible for assessing business cases for major initiatives, setting priorities and making recommendations to Executive Committee for unallocated funding requirements in partnership with the respective Business Project Sponsor. 3
     
  • Executive Committee: the departmental standing committee responsible for: providing overall strategic and management oversight to all departmental activities; ensuring that the long-term strategic outcomes of the department and regions are achieved; and, setting priorities for the department to achieve these outcomes.4

There are also separate committees in place that provide oversight over specific IMT projects. (i.e. Project Gateway Priority Steering Committee and Information Management Priority Steering Committee).

____________________

3 WD IMT Council Terms of Reference
4 WD Executive Committee Terms of Reference

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Introduction et contexte

Renseignements généraux

Le gouvernement du Canada (GC) a créé le ministère de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien (DEO) en 1987, à titre de ministère économique régional fédéral pour l’Ouest du Canada. Le mandat de DEO consiste à promouvoir le développement et la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest du Canada (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta et Colombie-Britannique) et à favoriser les intérêts de l’Ouest du Canada dans la conception et la mise en œuvre de politiques, programmes et projets économiques nationaux. L’administration centrale de DEO se trouve à Edmonton. Les bureaux régionaux se trouvent à Vancouver, Edmonton, Saskatoon et Winnipeg. DEO compte environ 400 employés.

La Direction de la gestion et des technologies de l’information (GTI) est chargée de l’infrastructure technique et de la gestion de l’information (GI). Les rôles et responsabilités au sein de la direction sont répartis dans les deux groupes suivants :

  • Équipe de GI – chargée des applications et des bases de données ministérielles ainsi que du centre d’assistance;
     
  • Équipe de services technologiques – chargée de gérer l’infrastructure des TI du Ministère, notamment les serveurs, le réseau et le matériel de vidéoconférence.

La direction de la GTI compte un effectif total d’environ vingt-quatre membres (occupant des postes à durée indéterminée et déterminée), notamment le directeur, GTI/le dirigeant principal de l’information (DPI), l’adjoint au DPI, seize employés de la GI et six membres des services technologiques.

En plus du personnel de la direction de la GTI, quatorze membres régionaux de la GTI relèvent de la direction régionale (gestionnaire régional des finances) et ont un rapport fonctionnel avec le DPI (sans relever directement de lui). DEO envisage de dépenser 3,72 M$ pour la GTI (1,9 % du budget total de DEO) pour 2011-2012 : 2,73 M$ à l’AC et 996 k$ dans les bureaux régionaux (1,4 % et 0,5 % du budget total de DEO, respectivement).

À DEO, la gouvernance de la GTI sert de structure qui lie les processus de GTI, les ressources de GTI et les renseignements sur la GTI aux objectifs et aux stratégies de DEO. De plus, la GTI est un outil essentiel pour DEO, car l’ensemble du personnel utilise quotidiennement de l’information ou des technologies. Le secteur de la gouvernance de la GTI n’a pas encore fait l’objet d’une vérification interne.

Deux comités partagent les principales responsabilités en matière de supervision de la GTI au sein du Ministère :

  • Conseil de la GTI : échange de représentants des secteurs opérationnels du Ministère et des régions qui ont un intérêt direct dans les grandes initiatives et les relations avec les clients entreprises par la direction de la GTI. Le Conseil de la GTI est chargé d’évaluer les analyses de rentabilisation des grandes initiatives, d’établir les priorités et de faire des recommandations au Comité exécutif en ce qui a trait aux exigences relatives aux fonds non affectés en collaboration avec le commanditaire pertinent du projet opérationnel.3
     
  • Comité exécutif : comité permanent ministériel chargé de la supervision générale stratégique et de la gestion pour l’ensemble des activités ministérielles; de veiller à l’atteinte des résultats stratégiques à long terme du Ministère et des régions; et d’établir les priorités afin que le Ministère atteigne lesdits résultats.4

Il existe également des comités distincts chargés de superviser des projets précis de GTI (c.-à-d. Comité directeur du portail de projets et Comité directeur sur l’établissement des priorités en matière de gestion de l’information)

____________________

3 Mandat du Conseil de la GTI de DEO
4 Mandat du Comité exécutif de DEO