Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Executive Summary

The Government of Canada (GoC) established the Department of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) in 1987 as the federal regional economic department for western Canada. WD’s corporate headquarters is located in Edmonton, with some corporate functions located in Ottawa. Regional offices are located in Vancouver, Edmonton, Saskatoon and Winnipeg. WD has approximately 400 employees.

Information Management and Technology (IMT) is a key enabler for WD, as all staff deal with information and/or technology on a daily basis. IMT is largely managed by the IMT Directorate at WD headquarters as the Directorate is responsible for both technical infrastructure and information management (IM), and has a total complement of approximately 24 staff led by the Director, IMT and Chief Information Officer (CIO). In addition to IMT Directorate staff, there are 14 regional IMT staff that report to regional management (the regional Manager of Finance) and have a functional reporting relationship to the CIO (although no direct reporting relationship).

IMT governance processes at WD are intended to provide the structure that links IMT processes, IMT resources, and IMT information to WD’s objectives and strategies. IMT governance processes are engaged in by management of the IMT Directorate through day-to-day job performance and participation on relevant committees, and by senior management of the department through membership on relevant IMT governance committees.

There are two governance committees that share the main responsibilities over IMT oversight within the department:

  • IMT Council: a cross-representation of departmental business areas and regions with vested interest in the major initiatives and client relationships undertaken by the IMT directorate. The IMT Council is responsible for assessing business cases for major initiatives, setting priorities and making recommendations to Executive Committee for unallocated funding requirements in partnership with the respective Business Project Sponsor.1
     
  • Executive Committee: the departmental standing committee responsible for: providing overall strategic and management oversight to all departmental activities; ensuring that the long-term strategic outcomes of the department and regions are achieved; and, setting priorities for the department to achieve these outcomes.2

The objective of the audit is to determine whether WD has in place an effective IMT governance framework and practices that meet GoC and WD policy requirements.

Key Findings

Findings should be viewed through the context of current IMT -related developments, both within WD and the broader federal government environment that may have a significant impact on WD’s IMT Governance and the audit’s findings and recommendations.  Specifically, this includes:

  • The current fiscal environment, including the Federal Government’s Strategic and Operating Review, means that the availability of WD IMT resources may be constrained.
     
  • The Government of Canada (GoC), through the new Shared Services Canada entity is intending to streamline and consolidate federal government IT infrastructure and operations, particularly email, data centres and networks, and which may limit WD’s ability to directly control IMT resources.

Strengths

Throughout the audit fieldwork, the audit team observed examples of how controls are properly designed and being applied effectively, including those listed below:

  • WD has recently improved processes over IMT governance significantly, including; revising the IMT Council’s Terms of Reference to provide clarification of the IMT Council’s mandate, and instituting quarterly reporting from the IMT Council to the Executive Committee.
     
  • Adequate controls exist over IMT budgeting. The IMT Budget is prepared annually by the CIO / Director of IMT and approved by the Executive Director Finance and Corporate Management. On a monthly basis, the CIO prepares a detailed variance analysis of forecasted budget versus spent / committed budget.
     
  • Staff and management of the department have expressed that they are satisfied with the level of IMT service desk support provided by IMT staff.

Observations

The audit team also identified areas where management practices and processes can be improved. The following are observations made by the audit team that highlight areas of improvement that should be addressed by WD.

  1. There are no formal processes to ensure that IMT planning is fully integrated with the department’s planning processes, and IMT planning is currently performed with limited input from stakeholders across WD (i.e. regional stakeholders, senior management, Planning and Reporting Committee). IMT capacity and capabilities have not been formally assessed to determine if they are appropriate to achieve the IMT priorities of the department. Furthermore, IMT risk management is performed informally at WD, as an IMT risk assessment framework is not in place, and, for example, a risk assessment is not formally performed as part of annual IMT planning.
     
  2. Formal performance measures for IMT have not been defined. Some informal monitoring of IMT performance with regards to IMT projects and ongoing operations has been performed within the IMT Directorate; however, there has been limited monitoring / reporting on IMT performance to governance committees.
     
  3. Processes over prioritizing IMT projects are maturing as the IMT Project Priority Setting Framework has recently been established; however, evidence of justification of IMT project rankings is not retained, and cost analysis performed as part of prioritization processes does not consistently include all costs associated with IMT projects.
     
  4. While WD has a limited number of large projects, oversight processes over IMT projects are not currently formalized at WD. Some oversight of IMT projects has been performed by IMT Council and the Executive Committee; however clarity could be improved over the Committees’ oversight expectations for large, medium or small projects. In addition, change management processes have not been formally defined to provide clear guidance on ensuring significant changes go through appropriate project oversight processes.

Recommendations

  1. A formal IMT planning process should be established that allows for integration with departmental planning. Furthermore, planning processes should engage all relevant stakeholders (including regional IMT contacts, senior departmental management, and the Planning and Reporting Committee), and should be periodically monitored by management.
     
  2. An IMT risk management framework should be developed that allows WD to identify strategic and operational risks related to IMT , develop mitigation strategies/controls for identified risks, and regularly report on the status of mitigation measures. Furthermore, IMT management should be formally engaged in the departmental planning process to help ensure that IMT risks are considered as part of departmental planning, and that the IMT Directorate is aware of risks at the departmental level that are relevant to IMT activities.
     
  3. Formal performance measures should be established for all key IMT activities, including: operational service delivery, key IMT projects, and priorities identified within the IMT annual plan. IMT performance reporting processes should be established that define IMT performance reporting to IMT management and relevant committees at scheduled periodic intervals.
     
  4. Some level of justification of IMT project rankings should be provided to the Executive Committee to facilitate the effective oversight and approval of IMT resource allocation decisions.
     
  5. Projects costs that are used to perform cost-benefit analysis and produce IMT project rankings should consistently include all relevant costs, including: full time employee labour (at headquarters and regional locations), and post development maintenance costs.
     
  6. A formal IMT project oversight framework should be established that helps ensure that adequate oversight is performed consistently for IMT projects. The framework should provide guidance on ongoing monitoring of the performance of IMT projects with regards to cost, quality and schedule and be supported by a documented change management process. Furthermore the framework should clarify the reporting requirements to each governance committee depending on the importance of a project (i.e. large, medium, low value/risk).

Statement of Assurance

In my professional judgment as Chief Audit and Evaluation Executive, sufficient and appropriate audit procedures have been conducted and evidence gathered to support the accuracy of the conclusion provided and contained in this report on the effectiveness of WD’s IMT governance framework and practices.

The assurance is based on a comparison of the conditions, as they existed at the time, against pre-established audit criteria that were agreed upon with management. The assurance is applicable to the policies and processes examined. The evidence was gathered in compliance with Treasury Board policy, directives, and standards on internal audit for the Government of Canada. The evidence has been gathered to be sufficient to provide senior management with the proof of the conclusions derived from the audit.

Conclusion

In conclusion, the IMT governance framework and practices to manage IMT in accordance with relevant acts TBS and Departmental policies, procedures and practices, has control weaknesses with moderate risk exposures that require management attention, related to strategic planning; risk management; performance measurement; project priority setting processes; and, project oversight processes.

Donald MacDonald

Chief Audit Executive
Department of Western Economic Diversification

Audit Team Members

John Hagan
With the assistance of external resources

____________________

1 WD IMT Council Terms of Reference
2 WD Executive Committee Terms of Reference

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sommaire

Le gouvernement du Canada (GC) a créé le ministère de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien (DEO) en 1987, à titre de ministère économique régional fédéral pour l’Ouest du Canada. L’administration centrale de DEO se trouve à Edmonton et certaines fonctions à Ottawa. Les bureaux régionaux se trouvent à Vancouver, Edmonton, Saskatoon et Winnipeg. DEO compte environ 400 employés.

La gestion et les technologies de l’information (GTI) sont un outil essentiel pour DEO, car l’ensemble du personnel utilise quotidiennement de l’information ou des technologies. La GTI est en grande partie dirigée par la Direction de la GTI à l’AC de DEO. En effet, la direction est chargée de l’infrastructure technique et de la gestion de l’information (GI) et compte un effectif total d’environ 24 membres dirigés par le directeur, les responsables de la GTI et le dirigeant principal de l’information (DPI). En plus du personnel de la Direction de la GTI, quatorze membres du personnel régional de la GTI relèvent de la direction régionale (gestionnaire régional des finances) et ont un rapport fonctionnel avec le DPI (sans relever directement de lui).

Les processus de gouvernance de la GTI à DEO ont pour but de fournir une structure qui lie les processus de GTI, les ressources de GTI et les renseignements sur la GTI aux objectifs et aux stratégies de DEO. Les processus de gouvernance de GTI sont lancés par la direction de la GTI, par le biais du rendement professionnel quotidien et de la participation à des comités pertinents et par la haute direction du Ministère, par le biais de la participation à des comités de gouvernance de la GTI pertinents.

Deux comités de gouvernance partagent les principales responsabilités en matière de supervision de la GTI au sein du Ministère :

  • Conseil de la GTI : échange de représentants des secteurs opérationnels du Ministère et des régions qui ont un intérêt direct dans les grandes initiatives et les relations avec les clients entreprises par la direction de la GTI. Le Conseil de la GTI est chargé d’évaluer les analyses de rentabilisation des grandes initiatives, d’établir les priorités et de faire des recommandations au Comité exécutif en ce qui a trait aux exigences relatives aux fonds non affectés en collaboration avec le commanditaire pertinent du projet opérationnel.1
     
  • Comité exécutif : comité permanent ministériel chargé de la supervision générale stratégique et de la gestion pour l’ensemble des activités ministérielles; de veiller à l’atteinte des résultats stratégiques à long terme du Ministère et des régions; et d’établir les priorités afin que le Ministère atteigne lesdits résultats.2

La vérification a pour but de déterminer si DEO est doté d’un cadre de gouvernance de la GTI efficace et de méthodes qui satisfont aux exigences stratégiques du GC et de DEO.

Principaux résultats

Il faut analyser les résultats dans le contexte des améliorations actuelles liées à la GTI, à l’intérieur de DEO et dans l’environnement élargi du gouvernement fédéral qui pourraient avoir un effet important sur la gouvernance de la GTI par DEO et les résultats et recommandations de la vérification. Plus particulièrement :

  • Le contexte fiscal actuel, incluant l’examen stratégique et fonctionnel du gouvernement fédéral, signifie que la disponibilité des ressources en GTI de DEO pourraient être limitées.
     
  • Le gouvernement du Canada (GC), par le biais de la nouvelle entité Services partagés Canada compte simplifier et consolider l’infrastructure et les activités liées aux TI du gouvernement fédéral, particulièrement la messagerie électronique, les centres et les réseaux de données, ce qui pourrait limiter la capacité de DEO à contrôler directement les ressources en GTI.

Forces

Pendant les travaux pratiques de la vérification, l’équipe de vérification a observé des exemples de la façon dont les mécanismes de contrôle sont adéquatement conçus et appliqués efficacement, notamment ceux qui sont indiqués ci-après :

  • DEO a récemment grandement amélioré les processus de gouvernance de la GTI. Il a notamment revu le mandat du Conseil de la GTI afin d’y apporter des éclaircissements et d’instaurer une exigence de rapports trimestriels du Conseil de la GTI au Comité exécutif.
     
  • Il existe des mécanismes de contrôle adéquats pour l’établissement du budget de la GTI. Le budget de la GTI est préparé chaque année par le DPI/directeur de la GTI et approuvé par le directeur exécutif des finances et la gestion ministérielle. Chaque mois, le DPI prépare une analyse détaillée des écarts entre le budget prévu et les fonds dépensés ou engagés.
     
  • Le personnel et la direction du Ministère se sont dits satisfaits du niveau de service de soutien de la GTI offert au personnel de la GTI.

Observations

L’équipe de vérification a également déterminé des secteurs dans lesquels on peut améliorer les méthodes et les processus de gestion. Voici quelques observations de l’équipe de vérification qui indiquent les secteurs en question que DEO devra traiter :

  1. Il n’existe pas de processus officiels permettant de s’assurer que la planification de la GTI est parfaitement intégrée dans les processus de planification ministériels et la planification de la GTI se fait actuellement avec la participation limitée des intervenants au sein de DEO (c.-à-d. intervenants régionaux, haute direction, Comité sur la planification et la production de rapports). On n’a pas officiellement évalué les capacités de la GTI afin de déterminer si elles conviennent pour atteindre les priorités en matière de GTI du Ministère. De plus, la gestion du risque lié à la GTI est officieuse à DEO, car il n’existe pas de cadre d’évaluation du risque lié à la GTI et, par exemple, on ne réalise pas officiellement d’évaluation du risque dans le cadre de la planification annuelle de la GTI.
     
  2. On n’a pas déterminé de mesures officielles du rendement pour la GTI. La direction de la GTI a réalisé quelques activités officieuses de surveillance du rendement de la GTI en ce qui a trait aux projets de GTI et aux activités en cours; toutefois, la surveillance et la production de rapports sur le rendement de la GTI destinés aux comités de gouvernance étaient limités.
     
  3. Les processus d’établissement de priorité des projets de GTI arrivent à maturité étant donné que l’on a récemment élaboré le cadre d’établissement de priorités de projets de GTI; toutefois, on ne conserve pas les preuves de justification du classement des projets de GTI et l’analyse des coûts réalisée dans le cadre des processus d’établissement des priorités n’inclut pas de façon cohérente les coûts associés aux projets de GTI.
     
  4. Bien que DEO compte un nombre limité de grands projets, les processus de supervision des projets de GTI ne sont pour le moment pas officialisés à DEO. Le Conseil de la GTI et le Comité exécutif ont un peu supervisé les projets de GTI; mais on pourrait apporter des éclaircissements sur les attentes des comités en matière de supervision pour les projets de grande, moyenne et petite envergure. De plus, on n’a pas officiellement déterminé les processus de gestion du changement afin de fournir des instructions claires sur la façon de s’assurer que les importants changements sont assujettis à des processus de supervision des projets adéquats.

Recommandations

  1. On doit établir un processus officiel de planification de la GTI qui permet l’intégration avec la planification ministérielle. De plus, les processus de planification doivent faire participer l’ensemble des intervenants pertinents (y compris les personnes-ressources régionales de la GTI, la haute direction ministérielle et le Comité sur la planification et la production de rapports) et la direction doit les surveiller de façon périodique.
     
  2. On doit élaborer un cadre de gestion du risque lié à la GTI afin de permettre à DEO de déterminer les risques stratégiques et opérationnels liés à la GTI, d’élaborer des stratégies d’atténuation et des mécanismes de contrôle pour les risques déterminés et produire régulièrement des rapports sur l’état des mesures d’atténuation. De plus, la direction de la GTI devrait officiellement participer au processus de planification ministérielle afin d’aider à s’assurer que les risques liés à la GTI sont pris en compte dans la planification ministérielle et que la direction de la GTI est consciente des risques au niveau ministériel liés aux activités de GTI.
     
  3. On doit établir des mesures officielles du rendement pour l’ensemble des principales activités de GTI, y compris la prestation de services opérationnels, les principaux projets de GTI et les priorités déterminées dans le plan annuel de la GTI. Il faut établir des processus de rapport sur le rendement de la GTI qui définissent le rapport sur le rendement de la GTI à la direction de la GTI et aux comités pertinents à intervalle régulier
     .
  4. Il faut indiquer au Comité exécutif un certain niveau de justification du classement des projets de GTI afin de faciliter la supervision efficace et l’approbation des décisions d’allocation des ressources de GTI.
     
  5. Les coûts des projets utilisés pour réaliser l’analyse coût-avantage et pour produire le classement des projets de GTI doivent toujours inclure l’ensemble des coûts pertinents notamment les coûts du travail des employés à temps plein (à l’AC et dans les régions) et les coûts d’entretien après la conception.
     
  6. On doit établir un cadre officiel de supervision des projets de GTI pour aider à s’assurer qu’une supervision adéquate a constamment lieu pour les projets de GTI. Le cadre doit fournir de l’orientation sur la surveillance permanente du rendement des projets de GTI en termes de coûts, de qualité et de calendrier et il doit être appuyé par un processus documenté de gestion du changement. De plus, le cadre doit apporter des éclaircissements sur les exigences en matière de production de rapports pour chaque comité de gouvernance en fonction de l’importance d’un projet (c.-à-d. valeur ou risque important, modéré ou faible).

Déclaration d’assurance

Selon mon jugement professionnel de dirigeant principal de la vérification et de l’évaluation, on a mené suffisamment de procédures de vérification adéquates et on a recueilli suffisamment de preuves pour appuyer l’exactitude de la conclusion présentée et contenue dans le présent rapport sur l’efficacité du cadre et des méthodes de gouvernance de la GTI de DEO.

L’assurance est fondée sur une comparaison des conditions, qui existaient à ce moment, par rapport aux critères de vérification préétablis déterminés en collaboration avec la direction. L’assurance s’applique aux politiques et aux processus examinés. On a rassemblé les preuves conformément aux politiques, aux directives et aux normes du Conseil du Trésor sur la vérification interne du gouvernement du Canada. On a rassemblé suffisamment de données pour prouver à la haute direction la véracité des conclusions tirées de la vérification.

Conclusion

En conclusion, le cadre et les méthodes de gouvernance de la GTI visant à gérer la GTI conformément aux lois applicables, aux politiques, procédures et méthodes du SCT et du Ministère présentent des faiblesses en termes de mécanismes de contrôle assortis à des expositions modérées au risque qui requièrent l’attention de la direction en ce qui a trait à la planification stratégique, la gestion du risque, la mesure du rendement, les processus d’établissement de priorités des projets et les processus de supervision des projets.

Donald MacDonald
Dirigeant principal de la vérification
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada

Membres de l’équipe de vérification

John Hagan
Avec l’aide des ressources externes

____________________

1 Mandat du Conseil de la GTI de DEO
2 Mandat du Comité executif de DEO