Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

WD’s Role with Official Languages Minority Communities (OLMC)

Through a number of mechanisms, including the Western Diversification Program (WDP), the Economic Development Initiative under the Roadmap for Canada’s Linguistic Duality 2008-13: Acting for the Future (the Roadmap), WD has allocated and will continue to allocate direct funding for projects with Official Languages Minority Communities (OLMCs) related to community economic development, projects with francophone academic institutions and services to francophone entrepreneurs.

Roadmap 2008-2013
Canadians enjoy the benefits of linguistic duality; live and work in communities that reflect Canadian values with respect to the use of English and French, and have access to government services in the language of choice.
 
WD Vision
To be leaders in creating a more diversified western Canadian economy that has strong, competitive and innovative communities and businesses.

 

 

Government of Canada (GC) Result:
Improved social and economic development for OLMCs (for GC OL Priority: capitalizing on economic benefits of linguistic duality)
 
WD OL Result:
diversified, competitive, strong economies in (sustainable) OLMCs of Western Canada (for WD OL Priority: supporting and facilitating the economic development of OLMCs in the West)

 

Economic Development Initiative (EDI)
Develop new expertise through innovation, diversification of activities, partnerships, and support to small businesses

 

Although growing in population, OLMCs across Western Canada continue to face both challenges and opportunities in the areas of community economic development and services to francophone entrepreneurs, and within francophone academic institutions. Population demographics indicate the following distribution of francophones across Western Canada:

Table 1.2 - Population according to mother tongue, Canada, provinces and territories, 2006
Region Mother Tongue
Total English French Other languages
Total Aboriginal Non-Aboriginal
Note: The statistics in the last two columns refer to single responses.
This is why their totals are slightly lower than the figures in the preceding columns.
Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census of Population.
Number in thousands
Manitoba 1,133.5 845.6 45.5 242.4 35.7 200.6
Saskatchewan 953.8 815.4 16.8 121.7 34.1 84.3
Alberta 3,256.4 2,593.4 64.7 598.2 27.0 556.5
British Columbia 4,074.4 2,900.9 58.9 1,114.6 13.1 1,078.5
Canada 31,241.0 18,055.7 6,892.2 6,293.1 210.1 5,937.8
Composition in %
Manitoba 100.0 74.6 4.0 21.4 3.2 17.7
Saskatchewan 100.0 85.5 1.8 12.8 3.6 8.8
Alberta 100.0 79.6 2.0 18.4 0.8 17.1
British Columbia 100.0 71.2 1.4 27.4 0.3 26.5
Canada 100.0 57.8 22.1 20.1 0.7 19.0

It is also interesting to note that the number of francophones has increased at an average annual rate of 0.6 percent from 1971 to 2006, and such a trend is expected to continue.1

WD recognizes the value and contribution of francophone OLMC s to the economy of Western Canada. Within the context of the department’s mandate, support for their economic development and diversification is a priority.

Historically, WD has been very active in the development of a strengthened OLMC and francophone economic development and capacity in the West.  Initially, this was through the inclusion of Francophone Economic Development Organizations (FEDOs)2 in April 2001. FEDOs enhance the vitality of minority language communities in Western Canada and assist in their economic development.  These independent entities have their own boards of directors with broad representation from their respective provinces. Board members are knowledgeable about business as well as the challenges facing francophone entrepreneurs. Support from WD enables these regional organizations to provide enhanced services to Francophone entrepreneurs including training, business and community economic development, access to capital, information services, marketing advice, networking and mentoring.

WD has also successfully engaged OLMC s in Special Economic Development Initiatives, partnership arrangements with other federal and provincial departments and agencies, as well as academic institutions and projects specifically responding to identified OLMC needs.

Integrating the program development and delivery component, WD recognizes the need for tools to assist project officers in the development of initiatives focused on OLMCs or projects that have an impact on OLMC .

WD project officers can actively contribute to the economic advancement of the francophone community through project review. An established “OL lens”, now part of WD ’s project due diligence, has been developed specifically to assist in determining whether and how to support the economic development of the francophone community in every project considered by WD.

WD collaborates with other federal institutions (such as Canadian Heritage, Industry Canada, and the other regional development agencies), and its Western Canada Business Service Network partners, such as the FEDOs, to maximize the impacts from resources committed and the economic results for OLMCs.

This Action Plan aims to coherently deliver and report on all of WD ’s OL activities, which are aligned with our departmental priorities and strategic outcomes, and are reported on annually.

________________________

1 www.pch.gc.ca/pgm/lo-ol/pubs/npc/109-eng.cfm, New Canadian Perspectives Languages in Canada, 2006 Census

2 www.wd.gc.ca/eng/257.asp

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rôle de DEO relativement aux CLOSM

Par l’entremise de différents mécanismes, notamment le Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest (PDEO), l’Initiative de développement économique aux termes de la Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne 2008–2013 : agir pour l'avenir(la Feuille de route), DEO a attribué et continuera d’attribuer du financement direct aux projets concernant les CLOSM et liés au développement économique des collectivités, aux projets avec des établissements d’enseignement francophones et des services aux entrepreneurs francophones.

Feuille de route 2008–2013
Les Canadiens bénéficient des avantages de la dualité linguistique; ils vivent et travaillent au sein de communautés reflétant les valeurs canadiennes en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des langues française et anglaise et ont accès aux services gouvernementaux dans la langue de leur choix.
 
Vision de DEO
Diriger la création d’une économie de l’Ouest canadien plus diversifiée qui compte sur des collectivités et entreprises solides, compétitives et innovatrices. 

 

 

Résultat du gouvernement du Canada (GC) : Meilleur développement social et économique des CLOSM (priorité en matière de LO du GC : mettre à profit les avantages économiques de la dualité linguistique).
 
Résultat de DEO en matière de LO : économies solides, diversifiées et compétitives dans les CLOSM (durables) de l’Ouest du Canada (priorité de DEO en matière de LO : soutenir et faciliter le développement économique des CLOSM dans l’Ouest).

 

Initiative de développement économique (IDE)
Acquérir une nouvelle expertise grâce à l’innovation, à la diversification des activités, aux partenariats et au soutien des petites entreprises

 

Bien que leur population croisse, les CLOSM dans l’Ouest canadien continuent d’avoir des défis à relever et des occasions à saisir en matière de développement économique communautaire et de services aux entrepreneurs francophones, et au sein des établissements d’enseignement francophones. La démographie de la population indique que la répartition des francophones dans l’Ouest canadien est la suivante :

Tableau 1.1 – Population selon la langue maternelle, Canada, provinces et territoires, 2006
Région Langue maternelle
Total Anglais Français Autres langues
Total Autochtones Non autochtones
Nota : Les statistiques des deux dernières colonnes font référence à des réponses uniques. C'est pourquoi leurs sommes sont légèrement inférieures aux chiffres de la colonne qui les précède.
Source : Statistique Canada, Recensement de la population de 2006.
Effectifs en milliers
Manitoba 1,133.5 845.6 45.5 242.4 35.7 200.6
Saskatchewan 953.8 815.4 16.8 121.7 34.1 84.3
Alberta 3,256.4 2,593.4 64.7 598.2 27.0 556.5
Colombie-Britannique 4,074.4 2,900.9 58.9 1,114.6 13.1 1,078.5
Canada 31,241.0 18,055.7 6,892.2 6,293.1 210.1 5,937.8
Répartition en %
Manitoba 100.0 74.6 4.0 21.4 3.2 17.7
Saskatchewan 100.0 85.5 1.8 12.8 3.6 8.8
Alberta 100.0 79.6 2.0 18.4 0.8 17.1
Colombie-Britannique 100.0 71.2 1.4 27.4 0.3 26.5
Canada 100.0 57.8 22.1 20.1 0.7 19.0

Il est également intéressant de noter que le nombre de francophones a augmenté à un taux annuel moyen de 0,6 p. cent de 1971 à 2006, et cette tendance devrait se maintenir.1 DEO reconnaît la valeur et la contribution des CLOSM francophones à l’économie de l’Ouest canadien. Dans le contexte du mandat du Ministère, il est prioritaire de soutenir leur développement économique et leur diversification.

Historiquement, DEO a été très actif dans le développement d’un CLOSM renforcé et du développement économique et d’une capacité francophones dans l’Ouest canadien. Initialement, ceci c’est fait en incluant les organisations francophones à vocation économique (OFVE)2 en avril 2001. Les OFVE rehaussent le dynamisme des communautés linguistiques en situation minoritaire dans l’Ouest canadien et les aident au chapitre du développement économique. Ces entités indépendantes ont leur propre conseil d’administration et une large représentation de leurs provinces respectives. Les administrateurs sont bien renseignés sur les affaires et sur les défis auxquels font face les entrepreneurs francophones. L’appui de DEO permet à ces organismes régionaux d’offrir des services améliorés aux entrepreneurs francophones, notamment de la formation, des services de développement des entreprises et de développement économique communautaire, l’accès aux capitaux, des services d’information, des conseils en marketing, des services de réseautage et du mentorat.

DEO a également engagé avec succès les CLOSM dans des initiatives spéciales de développement économique, ententes de partenariat avec d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux et provinciaux, ainsi que des établissements d’enseignement et des projets répondant spécifiquement aux besoins relevés par les CLOSM. En intégrant le volet développement et mise en œuvre du programme, DEO reconnaît qu’il faut des outils pour aider les agents de projet dans l’élaboration d’initiatives axées sur les CLOSM ou les projets qui ont une incidence sur les CLOSM.

Les agents de projet de DEO peuvent contribuer activement au progrès économique de la communauté francophone par l’entremise de l’examen des projets. Une « lentille des LO » établie, faisant maintenant partie de l’examen préalable des projets par DEO, a été élaborée spécifiquement pour aider à déterminer s’il y a lieu d’appuyer le développement économique de la communauté francophone dans chaque projet envisagé par DEO .

DEO collabore avec d’autres établissements fédéraux (comme Patrimoine canadien, Industrie Canada, et les autres organismes de développement régional), et ses partenaires du Réseau de services aux entreprises de l’Ouest canadien, comme les OFVE, pour maximiser les répercussions des ressources engagées et les résultats économiques pour les CLOSM.

Ce plan d’action vise à exécuter de façon cohérente toutes les activités en matière de LO de DEO , qui sont alignées sur nos priorités ministérielles et nos résultats stratégiques et à en rendre compte annuellement.

________________________

1 www.pch.gc.ca/pgm/lo-ol/pubs/npc/109-fra.cfm, Les langues au Canada : Recensement de 2006

2 www.wd.gc.ca/fra/257.asp