Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Within WD

Part IV   Communications with and Services to the Public

Part V   Language of Work

Part VI   Participation of English-Speaking and French-Speaking Canadians

Part VII   Advancement of English and French

Within WD, the Official Languages (OL) Champion’s (the Champion) role is to enhance the visibility of the OL program within the Department.  Although at the heart of OL issues within the department, the Champion does not replace the manager and shall not constitute another management level.  The Champion is supported in this regard by a National OL Coordinator and representatives from each of WD regions and directorates (A full listing of WD OL contacts is provided at Annex D).

Due to their mandate, certain corporate units play a strategic support role to the department and have specific responsibilities in the area of official languages as follows:  Corporate Communications with respect to Parts IV, V, VI and VII; Finance and Corporate Management (specifically Human Resources) for Parts IV, V, VI; and Policy and Strategic Direction (PSD) with regard to Parts IV and VII.

Under the OL ADM Champion lead, PSD has the key responsibility to define WD ’s position and policies with regard to Part VII in consultation with both the other directorates and the regions. Regional assistant deputy ministers, directors general, directors and managers also have specific responsibilities in the area of official languages.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Au sein de DEO

Partie IV Communications avec le public et prestation des services

Partie V Langue de travail

Partie VI Participation des Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise

Partie VII Promotion du français et de l’anglais

Le rôle du champion des LO à DEO est d’accroître la visibilité du programme des LO au sein du Ministère. Bien qu’il soit au cœur des enjeux en matière de LO au Ministère, le champion ne remplace pas le gestionnaire et ne constitue pas un autre palier de gestion. Le champion est appuyé à cet égard par un coordonnateur national des LO et par des représentants de chaque région et direction de DEO (la liste complète des personnes-ressources en matière de LO à DEO se trouve à l’Annexe D).

En raison de leur mandat, certaines unités ministérielles jouent un rôle de soutien stratégique auprès du Ministère et assument les responsabilités précises suivantes en matière de LO : communications ministérielles en ce qui a trait aux Parties IV, V, VI et VII; finances et gestion ministérielle (spécifiquement les ressources humaines) pour les Parties IV, V, VI; et politique et orientation stratégique (POS) en ce qui a trait aux Parties IV et VII.

Sous la direction du sous-ministre adjoint (SMA) champion des LO , POS a comme principale responsabilité de définir la position et les politiques de DEO en ce qui a trait à la Partie VII en consultation avec les autres directions et les régions. Les sous-ministres adjoints, les directeurs généraux, les directeurs et les gestionnaires dans les régions ont aussi des responsabilités spécifiques en matière de LO.