Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Context

The Canadian Constitution, the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Official Languages Act (OLA) all recognize the advantages of having a bilingual country and maintaining two viable linguistic communities across the country.

To reflect its vision of the country, the OLA sets forth certain requirements and commitments for which each federal institution must be held accountable in the implementation of its various programs.

All federal institutions must take the necessary steps to meet their OLA obligations.  Every institution must:

  • ensure that it formulates internal policies and procedures consistent with Treasury Board OL policies or, in the case of institutions for which the Treasury Board is not the employer, take the measures necessary to meet their official languages obligations;
  • have a main responsibility centre to inform and advise senior management on any relevant matter involving official languages (OL) and to provide a  liaison with the central agencies and other parties concerned;
  • keep an up-to-date list of its offices that are required to provide services to the public in both official languages, advise the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) of any change in this list and inform the public of the location of these offices;
  • make OL policies known to its employees and inform them of their rights and responsibilities;
  • ensure that, in the context of the institution’s objectives, managers report on the implementation of policies relating to service to the public, language of work and equitable participation of members of the two OL communities;
  • manage program support mechanisms such as language training and translation effectively, efficiently and economically and institute appropriate control systems;
  • submit to the TBS the information it requires to provide general direction and coordination of the OL program in federal institutions; and
  • provide regular reports on the results of implementation of the OL program in its organization, notably to enable the Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage to report every year on the OL situation in federal institutions.

The OLA also requires that federal institutions serve the public in the language of choice in certain offices designated for that purpose (Part IV). Federal institutions must also ensure that in bilingual regions, the workplace is conducive to the effective use of both official languages and employees have the right to use either official language (Part V). Under Part VI, federal institutions are committed to ensuring the composition of their workforce tends to reflect the presence of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians in Canada.  Section 41 of the OLA, found in Part VII, establishes that every federal institution has a responsibility to a) enhance the vitality of the English and French linguistic minority communities in Canada and support and assist in their development, and b) foster the full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian society.

As a federal department, WD subscribes to the implementation of the OLA and works with central agencies, other government departments, partners and the western Official Language Minority Communities (OLMCs) to fulfill its OL obligations.

In the previous three audits undertaken by the Commissioner of Official Languages, WD has been identified as having exemplary ratings in all areas of its program management.  WD strives to maintain positive results in the areas of development of OLMC s and promotion of linguistic duality.  For the coming cycle, the department will focus on the following areas for improvement as identified in this year’s report card:  assessment of how language-of-work rights are respected in WD offices, and promotion of active offer to all employees who provide bilingual services to the public.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Contexte

La Constitution canadienne, la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés (CCDL) et la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) reconnaissent toutes les avantages d’un pays bilingue et le maintien de deux groupes linguistiques viables au pays.

Pour refléter sa vision du pays, la LLO établit certaines exigences et certains engagements dont chaque institution fédérale doit répondre dans la mise en œuvre de ses divers programmes.
Toutes les institutions fédérales doivent prendre les mesures nécessaires pour remplir leurs obligations au chapitre de la LLO. Ainsi, chaque institution doit :

  • faire en sorte de formuler des politiques et procédures internes conformes aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor en matière de langues officielles (LO) ou, dans le cas des institutions dont le Conseil du Trésor n’est pas l’employeur, prendre les mesures nécessaires pour remplir leurs obligations en matière de langues officielles;
  • avoir un centre de responsabilité principal pour informer et conseiller la haute direction concernant toute question pertinente touchant les LO et assurer la liaison avec les organismes centraux et d’autres parties concernées;
  • conserver une liste à jour de ses bureaux qui sont tenus d’offrir des services au public dans les deux langues officielles, aviser le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) de tout changement sur cette liste et aviser le public de l’emplacement de ces bureaux;
  • communiquer les politiques en matière de LO à ses employés et les aviser de leurs droits et de leurs responsabilités;
  • faire en sorte que, dans le contexte des objectifs de l’institution, les gestionnaires rendent compte de la mise en œuvre des politiques relatives au service au public, à la langue de travail et à la participation équitable des membres des deux collectivités de LO ;
  • de gérer efficacement et économiquement les mécanismes de soutien du programme comme la formation linguistique et la traduction et mettre en place les systèmes de contrôle appropriés;
  • soumettre au SCT l’information dont il a besoin pour assurer l’orientation et la coordination générales du programme des LO dans les institutions fédérales;
  • fournir des rapports sur une base régulière sur les résultats de la mise en œuvre du programme des LO au sein de son organisation, notamment pour permettre au sous-ministre de Patrimoine canadien de faire rapport chaque année sur la situation des LO dans les institutions fédérales.

La LLO exige également que les institutions fédérales servent le public dans la langue de leur choix dans certains bureaux désignés à cette fin (Partie IV). Les institutions fédérales doivent par ailleurs s’assurer que dans les régions bilingues, le milieu de travail favorise l’utilisation efficace des deux langues officielles et que les employés aient le droit d’utiliser l’une ou l’autre langue officielle (Partie V). Aux termes de la Partie VI, les institutions fédérales sont déterminées à faire en sorte que la composition de leurs effectifs reflète la présence des Canadiens francophones et anglophones au Canada. Selon l’article 41 de la LLO , qui se trouve à la Partie VII, chaque institution fédérale a la responsabilité a) de favoriser l'épanouissement des minorités francophones et anglophones du Canada et à appuyer leur développement, et b) de promouvoir la pleine reconnaissance et l'usage du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne.