Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Introduction

The administration of grants and contributions, which falls under the Treasury Board’s Policy on Transfer Payments, is a core business activity of Western Economic Diversification Canada. Monitoring and Payments is one activity in the management of a contribution project’s life cycle. The department has adopted similar monitoring and payments process for all departmental programs. Effective monitoring and payment processes and controls help to ensure successful achievement of program objectives.

Monitoring and payment processes cut across all departmental programs. In 2008, the Treasury Board of Canada made significant changes to its Policy on Transfer Payments. This audit examined the department’s responses to the new policy requirements in the area of monitoring and payments.

Audit Objective

The overall objective of the audit was to provide assurance to the Deputy Minister that the department has a sound management control framework to manage the monitoring and payment of grants and contributions, and that the controls were operating as intended.

Key Risks

The audit focused on the controls management has designed to mitigate the risks associated with the following areas:

  • Clarity of the roles, scope and objectives for monitoring and payments;
  • Sufficient monitoring activities that meet Treasury Board and departmental policies;
  • Adequate resource capacity (people, tools, money, material, training);
  • Reliability of internal and external information, in support of project claims; and
  • Sound cash management and payment processing.

Audit Scope

The audit covered the period from March 2009 to December 2010. The scope of the audit covered all departmental contribution programs except the Community Adjustment Fund and Recreational Infrastructure Canada.

Acknowledgements

We would like to thank management and staff involved with Grants and Contributions Monitoring and Payments for their timely cooperation and assistance provided to the audit team throughout the engagement.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Introduction

L’administration des subventions et des contributions, qui relève de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert, est une activité opérationnelle de base de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada. La surveillance et les paiements ne représentent qu’une activité dans le cycle de vie d’un projet de contribution. Le Ministère a adopté un processus de surveillance et de paiement semblable pour tous les programmes ministériels. L’efficacité du contrôle et des paiements contribue à l’atteinte des objectifs des programmes.

Les procédures de surveillance et de paiement s’appliquent à tous les programmes ministériels. En 2008, le Conseil du Trésor du Canada a modifié en profondeur sa Politique sur les paiements de transfert. La présente vérification a examiné les mesures prises par le Ministère pour se conformer aux nouvelles exigences de la politique dans le domaine du contrôle et des paiements.

Objectif de la vérification

L’objectif global de la vérification était de donner au sous-ministre l’assurance que le Ministère a un cadre de contrôle de gestion solide pour la surveillance et les paiements des subventions et des contributions et que les mécanismes de contrôle fonctionnent comme prévu.

Risques

La vérification a porté sur les contrôles mis au point par la direction pour atténuer les risques rattachés aux domaines suivants :

  • Clarté des rôles, de la portée et des objectifs en matière de surveillance et de paiements;
  • Activités de contrôle suffisamment efficaces qui répondent aux exigences des politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère;
  • Capacité adéquate sur le plan des ressources (personnes, outils, ressources financières, matériel, formation);
  • Fiabilité de l’information interne et externe utilisée pour traiter les réclamations;
  • Rigueur de la gestion de la trésorerie et du traitement des paiements.

Portée de la vérification

La période visée s’étend de mars 2009 à décembre 2010. La vérification a porté sur tous les programmes de contributions ministériels, à l’exception du Fonds d’adaptation des collectivités et du programme Infrastructure de loisirs du Canada.

Remerciements

Nous tenons à remercier la direction et les employés participant à la surveillance et au paiement des subventions et des contributions pour la collaboration et l’aide qu’ils ont fournies à l’équipe de vérification tout au long du projet.