Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Overview of EDP Partners and EDP Funding

Introduction

The department has contracted with organizations in each of the four western provinces to deliver the EDP. The organizations include 90 Community Futures Organizations and their associated Provincial Community Futures Associations, and 7 Urban Delivery Agents in western Canada.

Province RURAL DELIVERY AGENTS URBAN DELIVERY AGENTS
British Columbia
  • 34 Community Futures Organizations
  • Community Futures Development Association of BC
  • Coast Capital Savings
  • Vancouver City Savings Credit Union
Alberta
  • 27 Community Futures Organizations
  • Community Futures Network Society of Alberta
  • Distinctive Employment Counseling Services
  • Momentum Community Economic Development Society
Saskatchewan
  • 13 Community Futures Organizations
  • Community Futures Partners of Saskatchewan
  • North Saskatchewan Independent Living Resource Centre
  • South Saskatchewan Independent Living Resource Centre
Manitoba
  • 16 Community Futures Organizations
  • Community Futures Partners of Manitoba
  • Independent Living Resource Centre

Community Futures Organizations

Community Futures Organizations are non-profit organizations established to deliver the Community Futures Program. They are independent, locally autonomous corporations that each operate under the direction of a volunteer board. The mandate of the organizations is community and business development. Each Community Futures Organization delivers a variety of services ranging from strategic economic planning, technical and advisory services to businesses, loans to small and medium-sized businesses, self-employment assistance programs, and services targeted to youth and entrepreneurs with disabilities.

Initially, each Community Futures Organization received $200,000 in loan funds and $50,000 in operating funds to deliver the EDP. The organizations tend to use the same process to manage their EDP loan portfolio as they use for their general loan fund. The loan applications are adjudicated by a loans committee, which consists of volunteers from the local business community. The staff and loans committee also works to refer applicants to commercial lending sources.

In recent years, the Community Futures Organizations have not received any direct operating funding related to the delivery of EDP but rather are expected to fund the services provided to entrepreneurs with disabilities through their core operating funding, with support from the projects and initiatives implemented by the Provincial Community Futures Associations.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Provincial Associations for Community Futures

Associations have been established in each of the four western provinces to represent the Community Futures Organizations. The Community Futures Development Association of BC, Community Futures Network Society of Alberta, Community Futures Partners of Saskatchewan, and Community Futures Partners of Manitoba. The four associations are not involved in delivering services directly to EDP clients but rather work to support the Community Futures Organizations in delivering services. More specifically, each provincial association administers a pool of annual funding provided by the department in accordance with the following principles:

  • Funding is to be used to support entrepreneurs with disabilities throughout non-metropolitan areas of the province.
  • Funding is to be used to support dedicated human resources with skills specific to helping people with disabilities.
  • Funding will flow through the associations in each province rather than directly to the resources contracted to deliver the services.
  • Activities supported should be consistent and coordinated with the urban EDP initiatives in each province.

Each provincial association consults with the department, Community Futures Organizations, entrepreneurs with disabilities, and various groups who represent people

Urban Delivery Agents

The department has contracted with 7 delivery agents in western Canada to deliver the EDP. At the beginning of implementation of the EDP, the delivery agents received a mixture of capital funding, which was conditionally repayable (initial disbursement of $500,000 each3) and funding for operations ($100,000 each annually) which was not repayable. Over time, the agencies received approval to transfer some of the loan funds to operating funding. Current funding from the department is in the form of operating funding only. The agencies receive EDP funding to help clients;

  • start or expand a business;
  • purchase and apply new technology;
  • upgrade facilities and equipment;
  • develop marketing and promotional activities; and
  • establish working capital.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

British Columbia

In Vancouver and Victoria, Vancouver City Savings Credit Union and Coast Capital Savings Credit Union offer the Vancouver and Victoria components of the EDP, which is known as ABLED (Advice and Business Loans for Entrepreneurs with Disabilities). Currently the program in BC is delivered under the department’s Loan and Investment Program agreements. Under this agreement, the department provides a loan loss reserve to the financial institutions to reduce their exposure in this area of business financing considering high risk. The department also provides annual operating funds to the institutions to help offset the cost of administering the program.

The program is specifically designed to improve access to business services and other support mechanisms to entrepreneurs with disabilities who are thinking of stating or expanding a small business. The program provides pre- and post-business launch support tailored to the realities of entrepreneurs with disabilities. Eligible loan applicants can receive funding for business planning and training, business coaching or mentoring services, and business counseling.

Alberta

In Edmonton, the EDP is administered by the Distinctive Employment Counselling Services of Alberta under their Ventures Program, and in Calgary, it is administered by Momentum under their FundAbility Program.

The Ventures Program in Edmonton provides entrepreneurial training and business support to people with disabilities who want to pursue self-employment. Both programs offer assistance in development of business plans and business skills for entrepreneurs with disabilities. Participants may access loans of up to $75,000. The FundAbility Program at Momentum in Calgary offers access to loans of up to $10,000. The FundAbility Program represented 9.45% of all lending fund programs at Momentum.

Saskatchewan

In Saskatchewan, the North Saskatchewan Independent Living Centre in Saskatoon and the South Saskatchewan Independent Living Centre in Regina manage the EDP on behalf of the department.

The two centers take a lead role in providing mentoring and counselling services, support in business development stages, as well as business loans to entrepreneurs with disabilities. Through the EDP, the Independent Living Centers: promote entrepreneurship and self-employment; provide mentorship and peer support; provide access to information resources and community services; provide support in developing a business plan, financial forecasts and researching capital options; provide a mechanism for follow-up and aftercare; and provide an option for capital (and the possibility of leveraging additional money) through an investment fund.

Manitoba

In Winnipeg, the Independent Living Resource Centre delivers the EDP on behalf of the department. It provides a range of business support services to entrepreneurs with disabilities, including: coordinating partnerships to better assist entrepreneurs with disabilities; assistance in developing business skills and business plans; networking opportunities; and consulting services to further support entrepreneurs with disabilities.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Departmental Funding to EDP Partners

Under the five year agreement approved in 2006/07 fiscal year, the department provided a maximum of $1.5 million annually ($7.7 million dollars over the five-years) in operating funds to the Urban Delivery Agents ($1 million annually) and the Provincial Community Futures Associations ($500,000 annually) to help administer the EDP. Table below indicates funding disbursed to the partners since 2007 from the departmental financial database.

Table 2-1: Departmental Financial Disbursement by Fiscal Year, EDP
Name 2006 -2007 2007 - 2008 2008 - 2009 2009 - 2010 2010 - 2011 Total
Coast Capital Savings $75,000 $89,534 $83,470 $64,601 $69,669 $382,274
Community Futures Development Association of BC $1,519 $124,161 $173,552 $198,536 $180,000 $677,768
Vancouver City Savings Credit Union $58,218 $84,089 $175,400 $147,368 $142,743 $607,818
BC $134,737 $297,784 $432,422 $410,505 $392,412 $1,667,860
Community Futures Network Of Alberta $151,697 $148,303 $137,646 $147,462 $163,455 $748,563
Distinctive Employment Counseling Services of AB $95,901 $204,099 $150,000 $149,688 $135,753 $735,441
Momentum Community Economic Development $96,952 $114,660 $128,659 $143,740 $146,392 $630,403
AB $393,709 $461,126 $600,684 $635,527 $381,317 $2,472,363
CF Partners of SK $80,000 $90,000 $100,000 $100,000 $100,000 $470,000
North Saskatchewan Independent Living Centre $94,822 $115,000 $135,000 $150,000 $150,000 $644,822
South Saskatchewan Independent Living Center $95,000 $114,929 $125,048 $148,178 $150,000 $633,155
SK $269,822 $319,929 $360,048 $398,178 $400,000 $1,747,977
CF-MB $88,012 $94,551 $99,000 $93,430 $108,583 $483,576
Independent Living Resource Center $112,083 $140,493 $152,761 $150,000 $150,000 $705,337
MB $200,095 $235,044 $251,761 $243,430 $258,583 $1,188,913
Grand Total $998,363 $1,313,883 $1,644,915 $1,687,640 $1,432,312 $13,796,270

Source: Departmental Financial System accessed May 5, 2011

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aperçu des Partenaires et du financement du PAEI

Introduction

Le Ministère a conclu des ententes avec des organismes de chacune des quatre provinces de l’Ouest pour l’exécution du PAEI. Il s’agit des 90 organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités et de leurs associations provinciales d’aide au développement des collectivités, et de 7 agents de prestation en milieu urbain de l’Ouest du Canada.

Province AGENTS DE PRESTATION EN MILIEU RURAL AGENTS DE PRESTATION EN MILIEU URBAIN
Colombie Britannique
  • 34 organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités
  • Community Futures Development Association of BC
  • Coast Capital Savings
  • Vancouver City Savings Credit Union
Alberta
  • 27 organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités
  • Community Futures Network Society of Alberta
  • Distinctive Employment Counseling Services
  • Momentum Community Economic Development Society
Saskatchewan
  • 13 organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités
  • Community Futures Partners of Saskatchewan
  • North Saskatchewan Independent Living Resource Centre
  • South Saskatchewan Independent Living Resource Centre
Manitoba
  • 16 organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités
  • Community Futures Partners of Manitoba
  • Independent Living Resource Centre

 

Organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités

Les organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités sont des organismes sans but lucratif créés pour exécuter le Programme de développement des collectivités. Il s’agit de sociétés indépendantes et localement autonomes, sous la direction d’un conseil d’administration formé de bénévoles. Le mandat de ces organisations est de favoriser le développement des entreprises et des collectivités. Chaque organisme offre toute une panoplie de services, notamment une planification économique stratégique, la prestation de services techniques et de consultation aux entreprises, l’octroi de prêts aux petites et moyennes entreprises, les programmes d’aide au travail autonome et des services s’adressant aux jeunes et aux entrepreneurs handicapés.

À l’origine, chaque organisme du Programme de développement des collectivités recevait 200 000 $ en fonds d’emprunt et 50 000 $ en fonds d’exploitation pour exécuter le PAEI. Les organismes ont tendance à recourir au même processus pour administrer leur portefeuille de prêts du PAEI et leurs fonds d’exploitation. Les demandes de prêts sont examinées par un comité formé de gens d’affaires de la collectivité, qui agissent à ce titre bénévolement. Le personnel et le comité peuvent également guider les demandeurs vers des sources de financement traditionnelles.

Au cours des dernières années, les organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités n’ont pas obtenu de fonds d’exploitation pour l’exécution du PAEI, mais devaient plutôt financer les services offerts aux entrepreneurs handicapés à partir de leurs propres fonds d’exploitation de base, par le truchement des projets et initiatives mis en oeuvre par les associations provinciales d’aide au développement des collectivités.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Associations provinciales d’aide au développement des collectivités

Des associations ont été créées dans chacune des provinces de l’Ouest pour représenter les organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités. Il s’agit de la Community Futures Development Association of BC (association d’aide au développement des collectivités de la C.-B.), de la Community Futures Network Society of Alberta (société du réseau d’aide au développement des collectivités de l’Alberta), des Community Futures Partners of Saskatchewan (partenaires de l’aide au développement des collectivités de la Saskatchewan) et des Community Futures Partners of Manitoba (partenaires de l’aide au développement des collectivités du Manitoba). Les quatre associations ne participent pas à l’exécution directe des services aux clients du PAEI, mais viennent plutôt en aide aux organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités. Plus précisément, chaque association provinciale administre un fonds annuel versé par le Ministère conformément aux principes suivants :

  • Le financement doit être utilisé pour aider les entrepreneurs handicapés dans les régions non métropolitaines de la province.
  • Le financement doit être utilisé pour soutenir des employés qualifiés qui détiennent les compétences nécessaires pour venir en aide aux personnes handicapées.
  • Le financement sera versé par le truchement des associations de chaque province, plutôt que d’être directement versé aux ressources retenues pour offrir les services.
  • Les activités financées doivent être conformes aux initiatives urbaines du PAEI dans chaque province, et coordonnées avec ces dernières.

Chaque association provinciale consulte le Ministère, les organismes du Programme de développement des collectivités, les entrepreneurs handicapés et divers groupes qui représentent les personnes handicapées pour déterminer quelle est la meilleure façon d’allouer ces fonds, dans chaque province. 

Agents de prestation en milieu urbain

Le Ministère a retenu les services de 7 agents de prestation en milieu urbain dans l’Ouest du Canada, chargés d’exécuter le PAEI. Lors des débuts du Programme, les agents de prestation recevaient deux formes de financement : un versement initial de 500 000 $3 pour les dépenses en immobilisations, remboursable selon certaines conditions, et 100 000 $ par année pour les frais d’exploitation, non remboursables. Avec le temps, les agents ont obtenu l’autorisation de transférer une partie des fonds d’emprunt vers leurs fonds d’exploitation. Aujourd’hui, le Ministère ne verse que les fonds d’exploitation. Avec ce financement, les agents aident les clients :

  • à lancer ou à développer une entreprise;
  • à acheter et à utiliser de nouvelles technologies;
  • à mettre à niveau des installations et de l’équipement;
  • à créer des outils de marketing et des activités promotionnelles;
  • à se doter d’un fonds de roulement.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Colombie Britannique

À Vancouver et Victoria, la Vancouver City Savings Credit Union et la Coast Capital Savings Credit Union offrent les composantes du PAEI de Vancouver et Victoria, connues sous le nom de ABLED (Advice and Business Loans for Entrepreneurs with Disabilities) (conseils et prêts aux entrepreneurs handicapés). Actuellement, le Programme en C.-B. est exécuté en vertu des ententes des programmes d’investissement et de prêt du Ministère. Dans le cadre de ces ententes, le Ministère verse une réserve pour pertes sur prêts aux institutions financières afin d’atténuer leur exposition dans ce secteur de financement considéré à risque élevé. Le Ministère verse également des fonds d’exploitation annuels aux institutions pour contribuer aux coûts d’administration du Programme.

Le Programme est spécifiquement conçu pour aider les entrepreneurs handicapés qui songent à créer ou à développer une petite entreprise à accéder à des services et à d’autres mécanismes de soutien. Le Programme offre une aide « collatérale » au lancement d’une entreprise, adaptée aux réalités des entrepreneurs handicapés. Les demandeurs de prêts admissibles peuvent obtenir un financement pour des activités de planification et de formation et pour des services d’encadrement et de consultation.

Alberta

À Edmonton, le PAEI est administré par les Distinctive Employment Counselling Services of Alberta, dans le cadre du Ventures Program, et à Calgary, il est administré par Momentum dans le cadre de son FundAbility Program.

Le Ventures Program à Edmonton offre une formation et des services de soutien aux personnes handicapées qui veulent devenir travailleurs indépendants. Les deux programmes proposent une aide à l’élaboration d’un plan d’affaires et une formation ciblée pour les entrepreneurs handicapés. Les participants peuvent se prévaloir d’un prêt maximal de 75 000 $. Le FundAbility Program de Momentum à Calgary consent également des prêts d’une valeur maximale de 10 000 $. Le FundAbility Program représente 9,45 % de tous les programmes de prêts de Momentum.

Saskatchewan

En Saskatchewan, le North Saskatchewan Independent Living Centre de Saskatoon et le South Saskatchewan Independent Living Centre de Regina administrent le PAEI au nom du Ministère.

Les deux centres jouent un rôle essentiel dans la prestation de services d’encadrement et de consultation, et d’une aide aux différentes étapes du cycle de vie d’une entreprise. Ils peuvent également consentir des prêts aux entrepreneurs handicapés. Par le truchement du PAEI, les Independent Living Centers font la promotion de l’entreprenariat et du travail indépendant; offrent un soutien et un encadrement; permettent aux clients d’accéder à de l’information et à des services communautaires; offrent une aide pour l’élaboration d’un plan d’affaires, pour l’établissement de prévisions financières et pour trouver diverses sources de financement; prévoient un mécanisme pour assurer un suivi auprès des clients et peuvent également investir dans des projets (investissement qui aide parfois les entrepreneurs à obtenir un financement additionnel) grâce à un fonds d’investissement.

Manitoba

À Winnipeg, le Independent Living Resource Centre exécute le PAEI au nom du Ministère. Il offre un vaste éventail de services aux entrepreneurs handicapés, notamment la coordination de partenariats afin d’aider plus efficacement les entrepreneurs handicapés, une aide permettant d’acquérir des compétences en affaires et de créer un plan d’affaires, des possibilités de réseautage et des services de consultation pour étoffer le soutien offert aux entrepreneurs handicapés.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Financement du Ministère aux partenaires du PAEI

Dans le cadre de l’entente quinquennale approuvée en 2006 2007, le Ministère a versé un maximum de 1,5 million de dollars par année (7,7 millions de dollars sur cinq ans) en fonds d’exploitation destinés aux agents de prestation en milieu urbain (1 million de dollars par année) et aux associations provinciales d’aide au développement des collectivités (500 000 $ par année) pour les aider à administrer le PAEI. Dans le tableau 2-1 ci dessous, on indique le financement qui a été versé aux partenaires depuis 2007 (information tirée de la base de données financières du Ministère).

Tableau 2-1 : Montants versés par le Ministère, par exercice, PAEI
Name 2006 - 2007 2007 - 2008 2008 - 2009 2009 - 2010 2010 - 2011 Total
Coast Capital Savings $75,000 $89,534 $83,470 $64,601 $69,669 $382,274
Community Futures Development Association of BC $1,519 $124,161 $173,552 $198,536 $180,000 $677,768
Vancouver City Savings Credit Union $58,218 $84,089 $175,400 $147,368 $142,743 $607,818
BC $134,737 $297,784 $432,422 $410,505 $392,412 $1,667,860
Community Futures Network Of Alberta $151,697 $148,303 $137,646 $147,462 $163,455 $748,563
Distinctive Employment Counseling Services of AB $95,901 $204,099 $150,000 $149,688 $135,753 $735,441
Momentum Community Economic Development $96,952 $114,660 $128,659 $143,740 $146,392 $630,403
AB $393,709 $461,126 $600,684 $635,527 $381,317 $2,472,363
CF Partners of SK $80,000 $90,000 $100,000 $100,000 $100,000 $470,000
North Saskatchewan Independent Living Centre $94,822 $115,000 $135,000 $150,000 $150,000 $644,822
South Saskatchewan Independent Living Center $95,000 $114,929 $125,048 $148,178 $150,000 $633,155
SK $269,822 $319,929 $360,048 $398,178 $400,000 $1,747,977
CF-MB $88,012 $94,551 $99,000 $93,430 $108,583 $483,576
Independent Living Resource Center $112,083 $140,493 $152,761 $150,000 $150,000 $705,337
MB $200,095 $235,044 $251,761 $243,430 $258,583 $1,188,913
Grand Total $998,363 $1,313,883 $1,644,915 $1,687,640 $1,432,312 $13,796,270

Source : Données tirées du système financier du Ministère le 5 mai 2011.