Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Appendix A – WD Privacy Protection Policy (Revised January 19, 2011)

Warning The following document is out of date.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Policy Objective

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is fully committed to both the spirit and the intent of the Privacy Act, which are based on the principles of open government and to ensure the privacy of individuals with respect to their personal information held by the Department. Therefore, WD’s Privacy Protection Policy ensures that the Department effectively and consistently administers it responsibilities in accordance with the Privacy Act and its Regulations.

Policy Statement

This Policy is based on the Privacy Act and the principles of open government from which it is derived. Specifically, the objectives are to:

  • facilitate statutory and regulatory compliance, and enhance effective application of the Privacy Act and its Regulations by WD;
  • ensure consistency in practices and procedures in administering the Act and Regulations so that applicants receive assistance in filing requests for access to personal information; and
  • ensure effective protection and management of personal information by identifying, assessing, monitoring and mitigating privacy risks in government programs and activities involving the collection, retention, use, disclosure and disposal of personal information.

The expected results of this Policy are:

  • sound management and decisions with respect to the handling and protection of personal information, including identifying numbers;
  • clear responsibilities in WD for decision-making and managing the operation of the Privacy Act and its Regulations, including complete, accurate and timely responses to Canadians and individuals who are present in Canada and who exercise their right to access to, and correction of, their personal information under the control to the Department;
  • consistent public reporting on the administration of the Act through WD’s Annual Report to Parliament, statistical report and the annual publication of Info Source chapters, which are produced by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS); and
  • identification, assessment and mitigation of privacy impacts and risks for all new or modified programs and activities that involve the use of personal information.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Policy Requirements

The TBS Policy on Privacy Protection (April 1, 2008), specifically Section 6 – Policy Requirements, provides guidance as follows which WD has adopted:

  • Delegation: The head of the Department (the Minister) is responsible for deciding whether to delegate any of his/her powers, duties and functions under the Act. When the decision is made to delegate responsibilities, WD must have in place a current Delegation Order, signed by the Minister, authorizing which responsibilities may be carried out by particular officials. The powers, duties and functions that may be delegated appear in Appendix B of the TBS Policy.
  • Privacy Awareness: WD is responsible for making its employees aware of the policies, procedures and legal responsibilities of the Act.
  • Protecting the Identity of Applicants: WD shall ensure that applicants’ identities are protected and only disclosed when authorized by virtue of the Act, and where there is a clear need to know in order to perform duties and functions related to the Act.
  • Processing Privacy Requests: WD shall establish effective procedures and systems to respond to privacy requests, that include:
    • directing departmental employees to provide accurate, timely and complete responses to requests made under the Act;
    • implementing written procedures and practices to ensure every reasonable effect is made to help requestors receive complete, accurate and timely responses;
    • establishing effective process and systems to respond to requests for access to, and correction of, personal information and to document deliberations and decisions made concerning requests received under the Act; and
    • establishing procedures that ensure personal information is reviewed to determine if it is subject to the Act, whether exemptions apply and conduct necessary consultations pursuant to the Act are undertaken.
  • Cabinet Confidences: WD shall follow established procedures concerning consultations with the Privy Council Office prior to excluding Cabinet Confidences.
  • Contracts and Agreements: WD shall establish measures, when personal information is involved, to ensure that it meets the requirements of the Act when contracting with private sector organizations or when entering into agreements or arrangements with public sector institutions
  • Notifying the Privacy Commissioner: WD shall notify the Privacy Commissioner of any planned initiatives (legislation, regulations, policies or programs) that could relate to the Act or to any of its provisions, or that may have an impact on the privacy of Canadians at the early stage of development to permit the Commissioner to review and discuss the issues involved.
  • Use of the Social Insurance Number: WD shall ensure compliance with the specific terms and conditions related to the use of Social Insurance Numbers and the specific restrictions with regard to its collection, use and disclosure.
  • Privacy Impact Assessments (PIAs): WD shall ensure that, when applicable, privacy impact assessments and multi-institutional PIAs are developed, maintained and published of the Department’s public website.
  • Privacy Protocol for Non-Administrative Purposes: WD shall establish a Privacy Protocol for the collection, use or disclosure of personal information for non-administrative purposes, including research, statistical, and audit and evaluation purposes.
  • Exempt Banks: WD shall consult with TBS on any proposal for the establishment or revocation of an exempt bank, and submit specific requests to the President of the Treasury Board with regard to the proposal.
  • Monitoring and Reporting Requirements: The ATIP Coordinator is responsible for monitoring compliance of the Policy as it relates to the Act, and ensuring that:
    • an Annual Report to Parliament is prepared and tabled in each House of Parliament;
    • an annual statistical report on the administration of the Act is submitted to TBS;
    • new or modified Personal Information Bank (PIB) descriptions are prepared and registered with TBS; and
    • the Department’s Info Source chapter is updated at a minimum annually, including proposed new or modified PIBs

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Departmental Procedures

WD has developed a Privacy Protection Procedures Manual for the use of WD staff administering the legislation and provides a balanced approach to explaining how the legislation permits both the disclosure and withholding of personal information that has been requested.

In addition, the manual addresses additional mandatory privacy-related requirements including: the correction of personal information, privacy breaches, privacy and contracting, the Social Insurance Number, and the creation and registration of Personal Information Banks (PIBs).

In addition, a Privacy Impact Assessment Handbook and related documents, templates and a Privacy Protocol have been developed in accordance with the requirements of the TBS Directive on Privacy Impact Assessment, which came into effect on April 1, 2010.

The manual and handbook will serve as a reference tools for Regional ATIP Liaison Officers and staff, for the purpose of helping WD staff better understand the implications of the Privacy Act and to build a network within WD to ensure top quality responses to requests for information.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Authorities

The Privacy Act is supported by a number of legislative, regulatory, policy and procedural instruments that reinforce certain provisions of the Act, as well as provide interpretation and practical guidance of specific sections. These documents include:

Department of Justice Canada

  • Access to Information Act: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/A-1/
  • Access to Information Regulations: http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/SOR-83-507/
  • Access to Information Act Heads of Government Institutions Designation Order:
    http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/showtdm/cr/SI-83-113
  • Library and Archives of Canada Act:
    http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/
  • Privacy Act: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/P-21/index.html
  • Privacy Regulations: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/showtdm/cr/SOR-83-508
  • Privacy Act Heads of Goverment Institutions Designation Order: http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

  • Access to Information – Policies and Guidelines:
  • http://publiservice.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pubs_pol/gospubs/tbm_121/siglist_e.asp
  • Communications Policy of the Government of Canada:
  • http://publiservice.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pubs_pol/sipubs/comm/comm_e.asp
  • Employee Privacy Code: http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pubs_pol/gospubs/TBM_128/CHAP3_3-eng.asp
  • Directive on Privacy Impact Assessment (April 1, 2010):
  • http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=18308
  • Directive on Privacy Practices (April 1, 2010):
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=18308
  • Directive on Privacy Requests and Correction of Personal Information (April 1, 2010):
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=18311
  • Directive on Social Insurance Number (April 1, 2008):
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=13342
  • Guidance Document: Taking Privacy into Account Before Making Contracting Decisions
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/atip-aiprp/tpa-pcp/tpa-pcptb-eng.asp
  • Guidance on Preparing Information Sharing Agreements Involving Personal Information (July 2010):
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/atip-aiprp/isa-eer/isa-eer01-eng.asp
  • Guidelines for Privacy Breaches:
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/atip-aiprp/in-ai/in-ai2007/breach-atteint-eng.asp
  • Management of Government Information – Policies and Procedures:
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/
  • Policy on Government Security:
    http://publiservice.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=16578
  • Policy on Prevention and Resolution of Harassment in the Workplace:
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12414
  • Policy on Privacy Protection:
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?evttoo=X&id=12510&section=text

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Western Economic Diversification Canada

  • Privacy Protection Procedures Manual
  • Privacy Breach Directive
  • Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) Handbook
    • Privacy Protocol
    • Core PIA Template
    • PIA Report Template

In the event of a discrepancy, the Access to Information Act and its Regulations, Orders in Council, the Minister’s Delegation of Authority, directives and official Treasury Board policies shall take precedence over this Policy and WD’s procedures.

Date of Application

This Policy was adopted at a Management Accountability Committee meeting of Western Economic Diversification Canada on November 19, 2008, as part of its Policy Suite. It was revised and approved by Executive Committee on January 19, 2011, and shall apply to all programs services of the Department.

Policy Change Control

Revision Number Date Issued Author Brief Description of Change
v1.0 November 19, 2008 ATIP Officer New policy based on the April 2008 TBS Privacy Protection Policy.
v2.0 February 19, 2011 ATIP Officer Bi-annual review and update to ensure April 2010 TBS privacy-related directives are incorporated.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Annexe A – Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels (Révisée le 19 janvier 2011)

Avertissement Le document suivant est désuet.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Objectif

Le ministère de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien (DEO) s’est engagé fermement à respecter l’esprit ainsi que les exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (la Loi) qui repose sur le principe d’un gouvernement transparent et sur la responsabilité du Ministère de protéger les renseignements personnels. Cette politique ministérielle vise donc à veiller à ce que le Ministère s’acquitte efficacement et de façon cohérente de ses responsabilités conformément aux dispositions de la Loi et de son Règlement.

Énoncé

La présente politique est fondée sur la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et le principe d’un gouvernement transparent qui en découle. Les objectifs de la politique sont les suivants :

  • Faciliter la conformité législative et réglementaire, et renforcer l'application efficace par le Ministère de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de son Règlement.
  • Assurer l'application uniforme de pratiques et de procédures dans l'administration de la Loi et de son Règlement afin que les requérants obtiennent de l'aide pour présenter une demande de renseignements personnels.
  • Assurer la protection et la gestion efficace des renseignements personnels en cernant, en évaluant, en surveillant et en atténuant les risques d'entrave à la vie privée dans les programmes et activités du gouvernement dans le cadre desquels des renseignements personnels sont recueillis, conservés, utilisés, divulgués ou détruits.

La politique vise l'atteinte des résultats suivants :

  • De saines pratiques de gestion pour le traitement et la protection des renseignements personnels, y compris les numéros identificateurs;
  • Des responsabilités clairement établies à DEO en ce qui concerne la prise de décision et la gestion de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de son Règlement, y compris la formulation de réponses précises, complètes et en temps utile aux Canadiens, aux Canadiennes et aux personnes présentes au Canada qui exercent leur droit d'accès aux renseignements personnels relevant du Ministère ou qui demandent que des corrections soient apportées à ces renseignements;
  • La présentation de rapports cohérents destinés au public sur l'application de la Loi par l'entremise du rapport annuel soumis au Parlement par le Ministère, de rapports de statistiques et de la publication annuelle d'Info Source préparée par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT);
  • La détermination, l'évaluation et l'atténuation des facteurs et des risques d'entrave à la vie privée en ce qui concerne tous les programmes et les activités, nouveaux ou modifiés, nécessitant l'utilisation de renseignements personnels.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Exigences

La Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels du SCT (1er avril, 2008), en particulier l’article 6 – Exigences de la politique, fournit les lignes directrices suivantes que le Ministère a adoptées :

  • Délégation : Le responsable de l’institution fédérale (le ministre) doit déterminer si ses pouvoirs, attributions ou fonctions prévus par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels seront délégués en vertu de la Loi. Lorsque la décision de déléguer est prise, le ministère doit mettre en place un arrêté de délégation authentifié par le ministre spécifiant les fonctions que peuvent exercer les cadres ou employés de l'institution. Les pouvoirs, attributions ou fonctions pouvant être délégués sont inscrits dans l’annexe B de la politique du SCT.
  • Sensibilisation à la protection de la vie privée : Le Ministère doit faire connaître aux employés les politiques, les procédures et leurs responsabilités légales aux termes de la Loi.
  • Protection de l'identité du requérant : DEO doit veiller à ce que l'identité du requérant soit protégée, et à ce qu'elle ne soit divulguée qu'aux fins autorisées par la Loi et uniquement lorsque des personnes ont absolument besoin de la connaître pour exercer des fonctions et des attributions dans le cadre de la Loi.
  • Traitement des demandes : Le Ministère doit établir des processus et des systèmes efficaces pour répondre aux demandes, notamment :
    • Charger les employés de fournir en temps utile des réponses précises et complètes aux demandes formulées en vertu de la Loi.
    • Mettre en œuvre des procédures écrites et des pratiques afin de s'assurer que tous les efforts raisonnables sont déployés pour prêter assistance au requérant pour qu'il reçoive une réponse précise, complète et en temps utile.
    • Établir des processus et des systèmes efficaces pour répondre aux demandes d'accès à des renseignements personnels et de correction de renseignements personnels, et documenter les délibérations et les décisions prises au sujet des demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi.
    • Établir des processus visant à assurer que l'examen de renseignements personnels demandés pour déterminer s'ils sont assujettis à la Loi et le cas échéant, s'ils peuvent faire l'objet d'une exception, et mener les consultations nécessaires pour le traitement des demandes présentées.
  • Renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet : DEO consultera le Bureau du Conseil privé selon les procédures établies avant d'exclure des renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet.
  • Contrats et ententes : Le Ministère prendra des mesures visant à garantir qu’il se conforme à la Loi lors de la conclusion de contrats avec des organisations du secteur privé ou l'établissement d'accords ou d'ententes avec des organisations du secteur public lorsque des renseignements personnels sont échangés.
  • Avis à l'intention du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée : DEO avisera le commissaire à la protection de la vie privée de toute initiative prévue (loi, règlement, politique, programme) pouvant avoir rapport avec la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ou l'une de ses dispositions, ou pouvant avoir une incidence sur la vie privée des Canadiens et Canadiennes. Cet avis doit être transmis suffisamment tôt pour permettre au commissaire d'examiner les enjeux et d'en discuter.
  • Utilisation du numéro d'assurance sociale : Le Ministère s’assurera de la conformité aux modalités et conditions particulières relatives à l'utilisation du numéro d'assurance sociale (NAS) et se conformera aux restrictions particulières relatives à sa collecte, son utilisation et sa divulgation.
  • Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (ÉFVP) : DEO assurera, dans la mesure applicable, la réalisation, la mise à jour et la publication sur son site Web public des ÉFVP.
  • Protocole de protection des renseignements personnels à des fins non administratives : Le Ministère établira un protocole de protection des renseignements personnels pour la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication de renseignements personnels à des fins non administratives, notamment à des fins de recherche, de statistique, de vérification et d'évaluation.
  • Fichiers inconsultables : DEO consultera le SCT au sujet de toute proposition de création ou de retrait d'un fichier inconsultable, et présenter une demande précise au président du Conseil du Trésor pour toute proposition à ce sujet.
  • Exigences en matière de surveillance et de rapports : Le coordonnateur ou la coordonnatrice de l’AIPRP est chargé de surveiller la conformité à la présente politique dans le cadre de l'administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il ou elle doit :
  • préparer et déposer devant chaque chambre du Parlement un rapport annuel sur l'administration de la Loi;
  • présenter un rapport statistique sur l'administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels au SCT;
  • présenter et consigner des descriptions nouvelles ou modifiées pour les fichiers de renseignements personnels auprès du SCT;
  • effectuer au moins une fois l’an une mise à jour du chapitre concernant le Ministère dans Info Source, y compris toutes propositions pour la constitution ou la modification de fichiers de renseignements personnels.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Procédures ministérielles

Le Ministère a élaboré un manuel de procédures sur la protection des renseignements personnels à l’intention du personnel chargé de l’application de la Loi. Ce manuel présente une approche équilibrée sur la façon dont la législation permet la divulgation et la rétention des renseignements personnels.

Le manuel traite aussi des demandes additionnelles exécutoires sur des sujets liés à la protection des renseignements personnels tels que : la correction des renseignements personnels, les infractions à la vie privée, la protection de la vie privée et la passation des marchés, le numéro d’assurance sociale, ainsi que la création et l’enregistrement des fichiers renfermant des renseignements personnels.

Par ailleurs, un manuel sur l’Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée et des documents connexes, des modèles et un protocole relatif à la confidentialité ont été élaborés selon les exigences de la Directive sur l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du SCT, entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2010.

Les manuels servent d'outil de référence aux agents et agentes de liaison régionaux de l'AIPRP et au personnel. Ils visent aussi à informer les employés du Ministère des répercussions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à établir un réseau au sein du Ministère pour assurer que les requérants auront une information de grande qualité.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Références

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels s’appuie sur plusieurs instruments, politiques et méthodes réglementaires qui soutiennent certaines de ses dispositions et qui facilitent son interprétation et son application. Parmi ces documents :

Ministère de la Justice

  • Loi sur l’accès à l’information : http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fr/A-1/
  • Règlement sur l’accès à l’information : http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fr/A-1/
  • Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada :
    http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/
  • Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels :
    http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fr/P-21/index.html
  • Règlement sur la protection des renseignements personnels : http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/showtdm/cr/SOR-83-508
  • Décret sur la désignation des responsables des institutions fédérales (Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels) : http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/showtdm/cr/SI-83-114

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor

  • Accès à l’information – Politiques et lignes directrices :
    http://publiservice.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pubs_pol/gospubs/tbm_121/siglist_f.asp
  • Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada : http://publiservice.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pubs_pol/sipubs/comm/comm_f.asp
  • Code de la protection des renseignements personnels concernant les employés : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pubs_pol/gospubs/TBM_128/chap3_3-fra.asp
  • Directive sur l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée : (1er avril 2010) http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=18308
  • Directive sur les pratiques relatives à la protection de la vie privée (1er avril 2010) : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=18309
  • Directive sur les demandes de renseignements personnels et de correction (1er avril 2010) : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=18311
  • Directive sur le numéro d’assurance sociale (1er avril 2008) : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=13342
  • Document d'orientation : Prise en compte de la protection des renseignements personnels avant de conclure un marché http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/atip-aiprp/tpa-pcp/tpa-pcptb-fra.asp
  • Document d'orientation pour aider à préparer des Ententes d'échange de renseignements personnels (juillet 2010) : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/atip-aiprp/isa-eer/isa-eer01-fra.asp
  • Lignes directrices sur les atteintes à la vie privée : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/atip-aiprp/in-ai/in-ai2007/breach-atteint-fra.asp
  • Gestion de l’information gouvernementale – Politiques et procédures : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/tbs-sct/index-fra.asp
  • Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement : http://publiservice.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=16578
  • Politique sur la prévention et le règlement du harcèlement en milieu de travail :
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12414
  • Politique sur la protection de la vie privée : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?evttoo=X&id=12510&section=text

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada

Manuel des méthodes de protection de la vie privée (en anglais)
  • Directive sur les atteintes à la vie privée
  • Manuel d’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (ÉFPV)
    • Protocole de protection de la vie privée
    • Modèle de base d’ÉFPV
    • Modèle du rapport d’ÉFPV

En cas de divergence, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et le Règlement, les décrets, l’Instrument sur la délégation des pouvoirs du ministre, les lignes directrices ainsi que les politiques du Conseil du Trésor ont préséance sur la présente politique et les procédures ministérielles.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Date d’entrée en vigueur

La présente politique a été approuvée lors d’une rencontre du Comité de responsabilisation de gestion de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada, tenue le 19 novembre 2008, comme partie intégrante de son ensemble de politiques. Elle a été révisée et approuvée par le Comité exécutif le 19 janvier 2011, et s’applique à tous les programmes et services du Ministère.

Contrôle des modifications de la politique

La présente politique a été approuvée à une rencontre du Comité de responsabilisation de gestion de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada, tenue le 19 novembre 2008, comme partie intégrante de son ensemble de politiques. Elle a été révisée et approuvée par le Comité exécutif le 19 janvier 2011. Elle s’applique à tous les programmes et services du Ministère.

Contrôle des modifications de la politique

Numéro de modication Date de diffusion Auteur Courte description des modifications
v1.0 19 novembre 2008 Agente de l’AIPRP Nouvelle politique ministérielle qui puise son fondement dans la Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels du SCT diffusée en avril 2008
v2.0 19 février 2011 Agente de l’AIPRP Examen semestriel et mise à jour pour assurer l’intégration des directives relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels du SCT.