Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Introduction

Warning The following document is out of date.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

The Access to Information Act (R.S. 1985, c. A-1) came into force on July 1, 1983.

The purpose of the Act is to extend the present laws of Canada to provide a right of access to information in records under the control of a government institution in accordance with the principles that government information should be available to the public, that necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific, and that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently of government.

The Act provides every person who is a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident with a right of access to any record under the control of a government institution, with some specific, limited exceptions.

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is committed to both the spirit and the intent of the Access to Information Act to ensure openness and transparency within the department. This report summarizes WD’s implementation of the Act, and fulfils the requirement under Section 72, which stipulates that, “The head of every government institution shall prepare for submission to Parliament an annual report on the administration of this Act within the institution during each financial year.”

WD will post the annual report to Parliament on its public web site (www.wd.gc.ca/eng/59.asp) once it is tabled in the House of Commons and Senate. Alternatively, a request may be submitted to:

Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Suite 1500, Canada Place
9700 Jasper Avenue N.W.
Edmonton, Alberta
T5J 4H7
atip-aiprp@wd-deo.gc.ca

Mandate

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) was established in 1987 to help lessen Western Canada’s (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba) strong economic dependence on natural resources. Under the Western Economic Diversification Act, 1988, the department is mandated to “…promote the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada and to advance the interests of Western Canada in national economic policy, program and project development, and implementation.”

To support these outcomes, WD’s programs encourage business development, innovation and community economic development in rural and urban communities. The department plays an important leadership and coordination role in furthering western interests and responding to regional challenges. WD works strategically through partnerships with all orders of government, academic and research institutes, industry associations and non-profit organizations to implement initiatives that leverage funds and expertise for the benefit of the West and western Canadians.

The department organizes its programs and services to pursue its mandate effectively through the following Strategic Outcome: “The western Canadian economy is developed and diversified,” and specifically through program activities that include:

  • Business Development;
  • Innovation;
  • Community Economic Development;
  • Policy, Advocacy and Coordination.

WD’s strategic investments in these areas will help to fulfill its vision:

To be leaders in creating a more diversified western Canadian economy that has strong, competitive and innovative businesses and communities.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Introduction

Avertissement Le document suivant est désuet.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information (L.C. 1985, ch. A-1) est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 1983.

La Loi a pour objet de compléter la législation canadienne de façon à élargir l’accès à tout document sous le contrôle d’une institution fédérale en consacrant le principe du droit du public à leur communication, les exceptions indispensables à ce droit étant précises et limitées et les décisions quant à leur communication étant susceptibles de recours indépendants du pouvoir exécutif.

La Loi fournit à chaque citoyen canadien ou résidant permanent un droit d’accès à tout document sous le contrôle d’une institution fédérale, avec quelques exceptions précises et limitées.

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) s’engage à respecter l’objectif de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour ainsi garantir la transparence et l’ouverture d’esprit au sein du Ministère. Ce rapport résume les activités de DEO pour la mise en œuvre de cette loi et répond aux exigences de l’article 72, qui stipule « qu’à la fin de chaque exercice, chacun des responsables d’une institution fédérale établit pour présentation au Parlement le rapport d’application de la présente loi en ce qui concerne son institution ».

Une fois que DEO aura déposé ce rapport devant la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, il l’affichera sur son site Web public à l’adresse www.deo.gc.ca/fra/59.asp. On peut se procurer d’autres exemplaires du rapport en s’adressant au :

Coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Place du Canada
9700, avenue Jasper N.-O., bureau 1500.
Edmonton (Alberta)
T5J 4H7
atip-aiprp@wd-deo.gc.ca

Mandat

Le ministère de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien (DEO) a été créé en 1987 dans le but de réduire la dépendance économique de l’Ouest canadien (Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Saskatchewan et Manitoba) envers les ressources naturelles. En vertu de la Loi sur la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien de 1988, le Ministère a pour mandat de « promouvoir le développement et la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien et de faire valoir les intérêts de cette région lors de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de programmes et de projets dans le cadre de la politique économique nationale ».

Pour atteindre ses objectifs, DEO a créé des programmes destinés à encourager l’entrepreneuriat, l’innovation et le développement économique des collectivités rurales et urbaines. Le Ministère assure un leadership en coordonnant les activités de défense des intérêts de l’Ouest et l’aide apportée à cette région pour relever les défis qui lui sont propres. DEO travaille stratégiquement en partenariat avec tous les ordres de gouvernement, les établissements universitaires et les instituts de recherche, les associations industrielles et les organismes sans but lucratif afin de mettre en œuvre des projets qui permettent de mobiliser des fonds et de l’expertise d’autres sources au profit de l’Ouest et de ses habitants.

Le Ministère organise ses programmes et ses services de manière à obtenir le résultat stratégique suivant : « une économie épanouie et diversifiée dans l’Ouest canadien ». Il s’appuie plus précisément sur les activités de programme suivantes :

  • Expansion des entreprises;
  • Innovation;
  • Développement économique des collectivités; et
  • Politique, représentation et coordination.

Les investissements stratégiques de DEO dans ces volets lui permettront de réaliser sa vision :

« Être les maîtres d’œuvre d’une économie plus diversifiée dans l’Ouest canadien, laquelle reposerait sur des entreprises et des collectivités dynamiques, concurrentielles et novatrices ».