Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

WD Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended June 30, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program


Introduction

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Authority, Mandate & Program Activities

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is mandated to “promote the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada and to advance the interests of the West in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation.”

Further information on Western Economic Diversification Canada’s authority, mandate and program activities may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the department’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Planned departmental spending is concentrated in Transfer Payments and Personnel, combined, they account for over 92% of total planned expenditures (refer to fiscal year 2011-2012 pie chart). While this planned spending pattern is expected to continue, when compared to fiscal year 2010-2011 the change in the Transfer Payments/Personnel percentage allocation reflects the overall decrease in funding related to the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) and the Recreational Infrastructure Canada (RInC) Program, both delivered under Canada’s Economic Action Plan (CEAP) initiatives.

(in thousands of dollars)

Text Version: Planned Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2011-2012 / 2010-2011

Statement of Authorities

Total Available for Use for the Year
The “Statement of Authorities” table reflects a significant decline in funding available for use, to $195.5 million for fiscal year 2011-2012, compared to $451.7 million for fiscal year 2010-2011. The majority of the $256.2 million (57%) decrease is due to the wind down of funding for the CEAP initiatives.

Used during the Quarter
There is no significant first quarter change in Vote 1 – Net Operating Expenditures compared to the previous year. Of the $18.6 million first quarter decrease in Vote 5 – Grants and Contributions compared to the same quarter of the prior year, the wind down of the CEAP initiatives account for $11.3 million (61%). The other changes relate mainly to the timing of processing claims for reimbursement of expenditures (Community Futures Program – decrease of $4.6 million) and the completion of another transfer payment initiative (International Vaccine Centre’s Containment Facility – decrease of $2.7 million). By fiscal year-end, a downward trend in Grants and Contributions spending is expected, largely due to the decreased spending on the CEAP initiatives as a result of program wind down.

The significant first quarter increase in the amount of spending on Budgetary Statutory Authorities results from Grants and Contributions (Rick Hansen Foundation – increase of $2.2 million), when compared to the same quarter of the previous fiscal year.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

Planned Expenditures for the Year
The “Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object” table reflects a significant yearly decline in overall planned expenditures for the current fiscal year ($256.2 million) when compared to the year prior, with Transfer Payments and Personnel experiencing the greatest declines of $245.5 million (96%) and $6.5 million (2.5%) respectively. This is largely attributed to the wind down of the CEAP initiatives, and the applicable human and financial resources attributed to the delivery of the CAF and RInC programs.

Expended during the Quarter
The significant first quarter decline in Transfer Payments of $16.4 million relates mainly to the wind down of the CEAP initiatives, which account for $11.3 million (69%) of the decline in spending, when compared to the same quarter of the previous fiscal year. Other notable spending pattern changes include: the timing of processing claims for reimbursement of expenditures (Community Futures Program – decrease of $4.6 million), the completion of another transfer payment initiative (International Vaccine Centre’s Containment Facility – decrease of $2.7 million) and the spending in other transfer payment initiatives (Rick Hansen Foundation – increase of $2.2 million). The timing of processing claims for reimbursement of expenditures is expected to remain on target for the fiscal year although the decreased spending on the CEAP initiatives will result in a downward trend in Transfer Payment spending.

Risks and Uncertainties

The department maintains, and will continue to strengthen its financial management processes such that budget management remains effective. For example, this includes assessing the impact of project timing fluctuations and the process for forecasting multi-year funding requirements. The decision-making process facilitates the reallocation of financial resources to higher priority initiatives.

In Budget 2010 and reiterated in Budget 2011, the Government announced and outlined Cost Containment Measures aimed at reducing the rate of growth of operating expenses. These Measures included the freezing of departmental operating budgets for fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2012-2013, at their 2010-2011 levels. Expenses subject to the operating budget freeze include departmental personnel costs (e.g., salaries) and a variety of other operating costs (e.g., transportation, professional services, materials, supplies).

The department manages its operating budget within a well-defined framework of accountabilities, policies and procedures, and has the necessary system of budgets, reporting and other internal controls to manage within available resources and Parliamentary authorities. The department regularly reviews “actual” and “forecast” reports to ensure resource utilization remains within established targets, such that adjustments can be made on a timely basis.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The majority of the decrease in departmental spending from the 2010-2011 to 2011-2012 fiscal year was related to the funding for CEAP initiatives, which were completed on March 31, 2011. As a result quarterly and yearly expenditure activity will continue to reflect a decrease in fiscal year 2011- 2012 (when compared to fiscal year 2010-2011).

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

 

 

_________________________
Daniel Watson
Deputy Minister

 

______________________
Jim Saunderson
Chief Financial Officer

Edmonton, Canada
Date: August 15, 2011

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2011-2012
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating expenditures 44,995 11,012 11,012
Vote 5 - Grants and contributions 140,862 12,570 12,570
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plan 5,171 1,293 1,293
Grants and contributions 4,500 2,175 2,175
Other 2 1 1
Total authorities 195,530 27,051 27,051

 

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2010-2011
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net Operating expenditures 54,895 11,523 11,523
Vote 5 - Grants and contributions 377,383 31,188 31,188
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plan 5,873 1,468 1,468
Grants and contributions 13,500 - -
Other 2 1 1
Total authorities 451,653 44,180 44,180

More information is available in the attached table.

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2011-2012
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 33,902 10,214 10,214
Transportation and communications 3,900 624 624
Information 325 31 31
Professional and special services 8,600 800 800
Rentals 991 42 42
Repair and maintenance 500 28 28
Utilities, materials and supplies 650 69 69
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,300 236 236
Transfer payments 145,362 14,745 14,745
Other subsidies and payments - 262 262
Total net budgetary expenditures: 195,530 27,051 27,051

 

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2010-2011
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 40,418 10,621 10,621
Transportation and communications 4,840 654 654
Information 570 57 57
Professional and special services 10,267 1,164 1,164
Rentals 1,255 159 159
Repair and maintenance 465 40 40
Utilities, materials and supplies 900 98 98
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,875 34 34
Transfer payments 390,883 31,188 31,188
Other subsidies and payments 180 165 165
Total net budgetary expenditures: 451,653 44,180 44,180

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport financier trimestriel de DEO pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes


Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Autorisations, mandat et activités de programme

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) a le mandat de « promouvoir le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien et de faire valoir les intérêts de cette région lors de l'élaboration et de la mise en oeuvre d'orientations, de programmes et de projets dans le cadre de la politique économique nationale. »

On trouvera plus d’information à propos des autorisations, du mandat et des activités de programme de DEO dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et le Budget des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Les dépenses prévues par le Ministère se sont concentrées sur les paiements de transfert et le personnel; combinées, elles représentent plus de 92 % de l’ensemble des dépenses prévues (voir le diagramme à secteurs pour l’exercice 2011-2012). On prévoit que cette tendance à la répartition des dépenses prévues va se poursuivre. Quand on fait une comparaison avec l’exercice 2010-2011, on constate que le changement de pourcentage représentant la part des paiements de transfert/du personnel reflète une baisse généralisée des fonds liés au Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) et au programme Infrastructure de loisirs du Canada (ILC) Program, administrés tous les deux dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du Canada (PAEC).

(en milliers de dollars)

Version textuelle : Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice 2011-2012 / 2010-2011

État des autorisations

Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice
Le tableau « État des autorisations » révèle une forte baisse des fonds utilisables, qui sont passés de 451,7 millions de dollars en 2010-2011 à 195,5 millions de dollars pour 2011-2012. La majeure partie de la baisse de 256,2 millions de dollars (57 %) est imputable à la réduction des fonds alloués aux initiatives du PAEC.

Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre
On n’observe pas de changement important au premier trimestre pour le crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement par rapport à l’exercice précédent. Sur la baisse de 18,6 millions de dollars observée au premier trimestre pour le crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions par rapport au même trimestre de l’année précédente, la réduction touchant les initiatives du PAEC représente 11,3 millions de dollars (61 %). Les autres changements touchent principalement le moment où l’on traite les demandes de remboursement des dépenses (Programme de développement des collectivités – baisse de 4,6 millions de dollars) et l’exécution d’une autre initiative de paiements de transfert (installation de confinement du Centre international de recherche sur les vaccins – baisse de 2,7 millions de dollars). D’ici la fin de l’exercice, on prévoit une baisse des dépenses allouées aux Subventions et contributions, largement imputable à la diminution des dépenses affectées aux initiatives du PAEC à la suite d’une réduction progressive des activités du PAEC.

Au premier trimestre, on observe une forte augmentation des dépenses allouées aux Autorisations législatives budgétaires – imputable aux Subventions et contributions (Rick Hansen Foundation – augmentation de 2,2 millions de dollars), par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice
Le tableau « Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant » reflète l’importante baisse des dépenses globales prévues pour l’exercice en cours (256,2 millions de dollars) par rapport à l’exercice précédent, les paiements de transfert et le personnel affichant les plus fortes diminutions, avec respectivement 245,5 millions de dollars (96 %) et 6,5 millions de dollars (2,5 %). Cette baisse est largement imputable à la réduction progressive des activités du PAEC, et à l’affectation des ressources humaines et financières applicables à l’exécution du PAC et du Programme ILC.

Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé
La forte baisse de 16,4 millions de dollars qui a touché les paiements de transfert au premier trimestre est principalement attribuable à la réduction progressive des initiatives du PAEC, qui représente 11,3 millions de dollars (69 %), par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent. Les autres changements notables touchant les dépenses sont les suivants : moment où l’on traite les demandes de remboursement des dépenses (Programme d’adaptation des collectivités – baisse de 4,6 millions de dollars), exécution d’une autre initiative de paiements de transfert (installation de confinement du Centre international de recherche sur les vaccins – baisse de 2,7 millions de dollars) et dépenses affectées à d’autres initiatives de paiements de transfert (Rick Hansen Foundation – augmentation de 2,2 millions de dollars). On prévoit que les demandes de remboursement des dépenses seront traitées dans les délais prévus pour l’exercice, même si la baisse des dépenses allouées aux initiatives du PAEC va faire baisser celles qu’on affecte aux paiements de transfert.

Risques et incertitudes

Le Ministère maintient et va continuer de renforcer ses processus de gestion financière pour que sa gestion budgétaire demeure efficace. Par exemple, on évaluera l’impact des changements de dates de mise en oeuvre des projets et le processus de prévision des besoins de financement pluriannuel. Le processus décisionnel facilite la réaffectation des ressources financières à des initiatives ayant un niveau de priorité plus élevé.

Dans le Budget 2010, puis dans le Budget 2011, le gouvernement a annoncé et décrit des mesures de limitation des coûts visant à réduire la croissance des dépenses de fonctionnement. Ces mesures comprenaient le gel des budgets ministériels alloués aux dépenses de fonctionnement pour les exercices 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 au niveau de 2010-2011. Les dépenses visées par ce gel budgétaire comprennent les coûts liés au personnel du Ministère (p. ex. les salaires) et divers autres coûts de fonctionnement (p. ex. transports, services professionnels, fournitures, approvisionnements).

Le Ministère gère son budget de fonctionnement au sein d’un cadre bien défini d’obligations de rendre compte, de politiques et de procédures, et dispose des budgets, des rapports et des autres contrôles internes nécessaires à la pratique d’une gestion avec les ressources et les autorisations parlementaires existantes. Le Ministère examine régulièrement les rapports portant sur les dépenses « réelles » et « prévues », afin de s’assurer que l’utilisation des ressources respecte les objectifs établis, de sorte que les modifications puisent être apportées en temps opportun.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

La majeure partie de la diminution des dépenses ministérielles entre l’exercice 2010-2011 et l’exercice 2011-2012 est liée au financement des initiatives du PAEC qui ont pris fin le 31 mars 2011. Les dépenses trimestrielles et annuelles vont donc continuer d’afficher une diminution durant l’exercice 2011- 2012 par rapport à l’exercice 2010-2011.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

 

 

_________________________
Daniel Watson
Sous-ministre

 

_________________________
Jim Saunderson
Dirigeant principal des finances

Edmonton, Canada
Date : le 15 août 2011

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2011-2012
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 44 995 11 012 11 012
Crédit 5 - Subventions et contributions 140 862 12 570 12 570
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Régime d'avantages sociaux 5 171 1 293 1 293
Subventions et contributions 4 500 2 175 2 175
Autres 2 1 1
Autorisations totales 195 530 27 051 27 051

 

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2010-2011
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 54 895 11 523 11 523
Crédit 5 - Subventions et contributions 377 383 31 188 31 188
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Régime d'avantages sociaux 5 873 1 468 1 468
Subventions et contributions 13 500 - -
Autres 2 1 1
Autorisations totales 451 653 44 180 44 180

De l'information supplémentaire est fournie dans le tableau ci-joint.

*N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2011-2012
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 33 902 10 214 10 214
Transports et communications 3 900 624 624
Information 325 31 31
Services professionnels et spéciaux 8 600 800 800
Location 991 42 42
Services de réparation et entretien 500 28 28
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 650 69 69
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 300 236 236
Paiements de transfert 145 362 14 745 14 745
Autres subventions et paiements - 262 262
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 195 530 27 051 27 051

 

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2010-2011
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 40 418 10 621 10 621
Transports et communications 4 840 654 654
Information 570 57 57
Services professionnels et spéciaux 10 267 1 164 1 164
Location 1 255 159 159
Services de réparation et entretien 465 40 40
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 900 98 98
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 875 34 34
Paiements de transfert 390 883 31 188 31 188
Autres subventions et paiements 180 165 165
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 451 653 44 180 44 180