Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Findings and Recommendations

Governance Structure and Strategic Directions

Criteria: An appropriate governance framework exists in the region to ensure fulfilment of their mandate aligned with departmental strategic objectives, plans and priorities. Policies and procedures are in place, consistent with Treasury Board policies and communicated to staff with financial management responsibilities. Regional oversight bodies have clearly defined mandates including terms of reference, which is well documented and appropriately communicated. The oversight bodies perform their responsibilities as required by the terms of reference. Regional and departmental strategic objectives, plans and priorities are effectively communicated to staff and other stakeholders.

The Senior Management Committee in the Manitoba Region is responsible for providing strategic and management oversight to regional activities and to set priorities for the region. This committee, chaired by the Assistant Deputy Minister for the region, includes regional members of senior management. Records of decision are taken and recorded from the meetings.

In addition to the Senior Management Committee, the Manitoba Region also has a Regional Management Committee. This committee is responsible to review the management of all regional activities, and to review priorities for the region to achieve strategic outcomes. The Regional Management Committee is chaired by the Assistant Deputy Minister and includes the same members as the Senior Management Committee, plus some additional managers. Records of decision from the Regional Management Committee are recorded including both decisions and actions to be taken.

Unlike some of the other regions, the Manitoba Region has not established a grants and contributions review committee. Managers interviewed indicated that the number of projects developed in the region tended to be small and informal discussions are ongoing between project officers, managers and monitoring and payments officers for all projects. Directors interviewed stated that a formalized process involving a grants and contributions review committee would not add value or to be an improvement on the process already in place.

Overall, an appropriate governance framework was in place for effective decision making in the region. Staff were included and involved in business planning, setting goals, targets, and strategies. Workshops were held mid-year to discuss performance and course corrections. In addition, the region prepares and distributes to all employees a one page quarterly report card outlining progress made towards goals and identifying any gaps where action is required to meet targets.

Planning, Budgeting, Forecasting and Reporting

Criteria: Financial planning processes are in place to identify financial resource requirements and to develop annual budgets consistent with priorities. Financial policies, comprehensive monitoring and internal financial reporting that provides senior management with timely information, analysis, and options on resource utilization exist. Compliance with both Treasury Board and departmental policies is monitored in the region.

Corporate Finance annually notifies the Manitoba region in writing of their budgets for grants and contributions, salaries, and operating and maintenance. The responsibility of the region is to determine how to allocate their regional budget within those basic categories given the particular priorities and programs of the region. The region has financial planning and allocation processes in place. Prior to the start of a new fiscal year, the Regional Finance Manager requests managers to identify their unit’s resource requirements. All the requests are consolidated and presented to the Regional Senior Management Committee for consideration and Assistant Deputy Minister’s approval.

The auditors observed the trend that the majority of the grants and contributions funds allocated are spent in the final quarter of the year. During the 2009-10 fiscal year, 64% of the spending for grants and contributions in the Manitoba Region occurred in the last quarter of the year. The auditors also noted that Manitoba was the recipient of a significant influx of additional funds in the fourth quarter. In 2009-10, Corporate Finance transferred an additional $6.6 million in grants and contributions from the corporate Strategic Investment Fund and from other regions that could not fully utilize their allocations. Even though Manitoba received a 15% increase in its grants and contributions budget from fourth quarter transfers, Manitoba’s budget variance at year end was low, because they had sufficient projects to absorb the additional funds on behalf of the department as a whole.

Criteria: Guidelines, tools, systems and data are available and adequate to support the allocation of resources in a consistent and transparent manner.

The region follows the departmental requirements and guidelines for reporting of financial information and forecasts. Corporate Finance communicates guidelines to the regions for preparing headquarters reports, and a standardized reporting template is used. Manitoba Region’s financial results, budgeting and forecasting reports are prepared in accordance with these guidelines using the standardized template.

Regions are required to report in accordance with the financial planning cycle requirements outlined in the management framework guidelines. Manitoba Region prepared the required reports in accordance with the financial planning cycle. Corporate Finance coordinates regional reporting to ensure receipt of the required information on a timely basis for completion of financial reports for Executive Committee approval.

Criteria: Financial monitoring reports are prepared on a periodic and timely basis and supported by sufficient evidence.

Regional Finance prepares financial monitoring reports for regional management on a periodic basis. The reporting schedule and format is similar to that used for submission to Corporate Finance, although the regional report is more detailed. The region follows Treasury Board and departmental policies to ensure that transactions entered are valid and accurate. Financial reports are prepared using the corporate financial information system data. The Finance Manager verifies and reviews reports to ensure accuracy. On a regular basis Regional Finance solicits input from managers to complete the forecasts; however, Regional Finance will challenge management assumptions and override their forecasting if it is felt that the forecasted numbers are not supported. The auditors observed that variances were very low for the region as a whole, between the forecasted and actual numbers and that those variances were analysed, explained and communicated by the Regional Finance team.

Criteria: A process is in place to review financial monitoring reports to reallocate resources as needed and to take corrective actions.

The auditors found that the Manitoba Regional office has an active and effective process in place to review financial monitoring reports in order to reallocate resources as needed and to take corrective action. Regional managers and finance officers are actively involved in monitoring forecasts and reviewing financial information. Analysis is timely to support decision making, and financial opportunities within the region or department are identified in a timely fashion to support reallocation.

Monthly regional financial reports are presented to the Regional Management Committee for discussion, review and decision- making. There is active, ongoing coordination between Regional Finance and Corporate Finance for identifying and responding to resource needs. Regional needs or surpluses are identified, are rolled up by Corporate Finance, and brought forward to Executive Committee for any reallocation decisions.

Results and Performance Reporting

Criteria: Performance measurement results in the region are documented, reported corporately and factored into decision making. Monitoring to assess the success of regional operations in contributing to overall corporate strategies is undertaken and appropriate steps are taken in response to variances or deviations from goals and objectives.

The Manitoba Region has good management practices and processes related to results and performance reporting in place. Regional management and staff are actively involved in the business planning process, establishing regional goals and objectives, plans and priorities, performance targets, and strategies along with actions to achieve performance targets. Regional management and staff are actively engaged in monitoring and reporting results against planned strategies and performance targets. Departmental and regional goals and objectives, performance targets, planned strategies and actions are specified in the regional business plan. Manitoba Region had formally documented their approach to planning and reporting, and regional management and staff follow the established guidelines. An all staff workshop is held to formulate strategies and actions for departmental program sub-activities. A separate workshop is held where the Regional Management Committee develops management strategies respecting the Management Accountability Framework.

Manitoba Region adopts the WD Performance Measurement Framework and provides regional output and outcome targets to Headquarters for corporate performance measurement. Regional Policy, Planning and External Relations prepare quarterly performance reports. The Regional Management Committee and staff are actively engaged in the reporting process.

The Regional Management Committee assesses mid-year status of each business plan strategy. In the third and fourth quarters, the Regional Management Committee re-evaluates their assessment of business plan strategies and makes changes as needed. Since the fourth quarter of 2009-10, the region had significantly streamlined its quarterly regional performance report. A new quarterly report card highlights the region’s output targets and results, full-time equivalent positions, planned spending, actual commitments, expended funds, and key results achieved under all program activities. The status of each planned strategy is indicated as strong, opportunity for improvement or attention required. Planned actions to fulfill strategies are highlighted. Service standard targets and results are included in quarterly report cards.

The auditors found that the report card for the fourth quarter of 2009-10 did not include reasons for significant variances from targets and service standards, and actions planned to address the gaps. Several strategies and actions were assessed as “Attention Required”; however, the auditors could not find any documented evidence of any planned corrective action or of the reasons for being off target. Documentation of reasons for significant variances from established targets or service standards, and planned management strategies/actions to address gaps would enhance effectiveness and usefulness of performance reporting for regional senior management decision-making.

Recommendation # 1: The Manitoba Region should improve its performance reporting framework by documenting reasons for any significant variances from established targets or service standards, and actions planned to address any gaps.

Transaction Processing and Coding

Criteria: Financial transactions are coded correctly and processed in an efficient and timely manner.

The auditors performed an analytical review of coding for all third party grants and contributions payments for fiscal year 2009-10. No exceptions were identified.

The auditors selected a judgemental sample of 20 high dollar transactions from all grants and contributions programs and five operating and maintenance transactions for review of transaction processing and coding. One exception was identified in the sample selected. In that exception, costs for that project were to be coded to capital, as the expense related to capital equipment purchases for a third party non-profit organization, yet this transaction was coded to operating. This exception identified is a control weakness that is likely to occur throughout the population, however this coding does not appear in any of the regional financial reports and it is unlikely to have any material impact.

Delegation of Authorities

Criteria: Authorized individuals approve transactions in compliance with Treasury Board and departmental policies, directives and guidelines.

The sample payments examined had the approval of regional staff with proper financial signing authority. The training requirements of Treasury Board policy for delegation of authorities have been met. Regional Finance actively monitors compliance with Treasury Board and departmental policies, directives and guidelines related to financial controls.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Constatations et recommandations

Structure de gouvernance et orientations stratégiques

Critère : La région dispose d’un cadre de gouvernance approprié afin de s’assurer que son mandat reflète les objectifs stratégiques, les plans et les priorités du ministère. Des politiques et procédures, conformes aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor, sont mises en œuvre et communiquées aux employés qui assument des responsabilités en matière de gestion financière. Les organismes de surveillance régionaux se sont dotés de mandats clairs, qui sont bien étayés et bien communiqués. Ils s’acquittent de leurs responsabilités conformément à leur mandat. Les objectifs stratégiques, les plans et les priorités de la région et du ministère sont efficacement communiqués aux employés et aux autres intervenants.

Dans la région, le comité de la haute direction est chargé de la surveillance stratégique et de gestion des activités régionales et d’établir des priorités pour la région. Présidé par le sous-ministre adjoint de la région, il comprend des membres de la haute direction régionale. On conserve un compte rendu des décisions prises lors de ses réunions.

La région possède également un comité régional de gestion, chargé d’examiner la gestion de toutes les activités régionales et d’examiner les priorités de la région pour la réalisation des objectifs stratégiques. Il est présidé par le sous-ministre adjoint et comprend les mêmes membres que le comité de la haute direction, plus quelques gestionnaires supplémentaires. Le compte rendu de ses décisions prises pendant ses réunions comprend, en outre, les suites à donner.

À la différence des autres régions, celle du Manitoba n’a pas constitué de comité d’examen des subventions et contributions. Les gestionnaires interrogés ont mentionné que le nombre de projets élaborés dans la région était plutôt faible et que, pour l’ensemble d’entre eux, on tenait des discussions restreintes, à la bonne franquette, entre les agents de projets, les gestionnaires, les agents chargés de la surveillance et les agents payeurs de tous les projets. D’après les directeurs interrogés, un processus officiel qui ferait intervenir un comité d’examen des subventions et contributions n’ajouterait rien, quantitativement ou qualitativement, au processus déjà en place.

En général, la région disposait d’un cadre de gouvernance approprié pour une prise efficace des décisions. Le personnel participait à la planification stratégique, à l’établissement d’objectifs immédiats et intermédiaires ainsi qu’à l’élaboration des stratégies. On organisait, au milieu de l’exercice, des ateliers pour discuter de rendement et de petits changements de direction. En outre, la région prépare et distribue à tous les employés un compte rendu trimestriel, d’une seule page, dans lequel on expose les progrès réalisés vers l’atteinte des objectifs et la détermination des lacunes qui exigent des mesures de résorption.

Planification, établissement de budgets, prévision et production de rapports

Critère : Des processus de planification financière sont en place pour préciser les besoins de cette nature et élaborer des budgets annuels qui tiennent compte des priorités. Des politiques financières, des rapports financiers internes et des rapports de contrôle exhaustifs fournissent à la haute direction une information opportune, des analyses et des options sur l’utilisation des ressources. La conformité aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du ministère fait l’objet d’un suivi dans la région.

Chaque année, le service ministériel des Finances informe par écrit la région des montants prévus dans son budget pour les subventions et contributions, les salaires, le fonctionnement et l’entretien. Il incombe à la région de déterminer la répartition de son budget régional en fonction des principales rubriques, compte tenu de ses priorités et programmes particuliers. La région dispose de processus de planification et d’affectation des ressources financières. Avant le début d’un nouvel exercice budgétaire, le gestionnaire régional des finances demande aux gestionnaires de chiffrer les besoins en ressources de leur unité. Il rassemble ces données et il les soumet à l’examen du comité régional de la haute direction et à l’approbation du sous-ministre adjoint.

Les vérificateurs ont remarqué la tendance qui fait que la majorité des fonds prévus pour les subventions et contributions sont dépensés au dernier trimestre de l’année. Au cours de l’exercice 2009‑2010, c’est ce qui est arrivé pour 64 % des dépenses de la région à ce titre. Les vérificateurs ont également remarqué que le Manitoba bénéficiait également, au dernier trimestre, d’un apport notable de fonds supplémentaires. Au cours de l’exercice 2009‑2010, le service ministériel des Finances a transféré un montant supplémentaire de 6,6 millions $ sous forme de subventions et de contributions, qui provenaient du Fonds d’investissements stratégiques et d’autres régions qui ne pouvaient pas utiliser la totalité de leurs crédits. Même si ces transferts de dernière minute ont gonflé de 15 % le budget des subventions et des contributions de la région, l’écart budgétaire, à la fin de l’année, était faible parce que la région disposait d’un nombre suffisant de projets pour absorber le surplus pour le compte de tout le ministère.

Critère : Des lignes directrices, des outils, des systèmes et des données sont disponibles pour étayer l’allocation des ressources de façon uniforme et transparente, et ils sont jugés adéquats.

La région observe les exigences et directives ministérielles en ce qui a trait à la production de rapports financiers et aux prévisions. Le service ministériel des Finances communique aux régions les lignes directrices sur la préparation des rapports destinés à l’administration centrale, et un modèle normalisé est proposé à cette fin. Les rapports de la région sur les finances, les budgets et les prévisions sont élaborés conformément à ces directives, à l’aide du modèle.

Les régions doivent produire des rapports conformément au cycle de planification financière décrit dans les lignes directrices régissant le cadre de gestion. La région a préparé les rapports exigés conformément à ce cycle. Le service ministériel des Finances coordonne la production des rapports régionaux afin d’obtenir les renseignements exigés à temps pour rédiger les rapports financiers qui seront soumis à l’approbation du Comité exécutif.

Critère : Les rapports de contrôle financier sont produits périodiquement et de façon opportune, et ils sont étayés par suffisamment d’éléments probants.

Le service régional des Finances prépare périodiquement des rapports de contrôle financier destinés aux membres de la direction régionale. La présentation matérielle et le calendrier des publications sont semblables à ceux des rapports destinés au service ministériel des Finances, mais le rapport régional est plus détaillé. La région observe les politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du ministère pour s’assurer que les transactions saisies sont valides et exactes. Les rapports financiers sont produits à l’aide des données tirées du système d’information financière du ministère. Le gestionnaire des Finances vérifie et étudie ces rapports afin d’en garantir l’exactitude. Régulièrement, le service régional des Finances demande la participation des gestionnaires pour compléter les prévisions; cependant, il contestera les hypothèses de la direction et ignorera leurs prévisions s’il estime que les chiffres ne sont pas étayés. Les vérificateurs ont remarqué que les écarts étaient minimes, pour l’ensemble de la région, entre les valeurs prévues et les valeurs réelles et que ces écarts ont été analysés, expliqués et communiqués par l’équipe régionale des Finances.

Critère: Un processus est en place pour examiner les rapports de contrôle financier afin de permettre une nouvelle allocation des ressources, au besoin, et la prise de mesures correctives.

Les vérificateurs ont constaté que le bureau régional du Manitoba disposait d’un processus efficace pour examiner les rapports de contrôle financier afin de réallouer les ressources, au besoin, et de prendre des mesures correctives. Les gestionnaires et les agents financiers régionaux surveillent activement les prévisions et étudient tout aussi activement l’information financière. L’analyse se fait en temps opportun pour appuyer la prise de décision tandis que les occasions qui s’offrent à la région ou au ministère, en matière financière, sont reconnues en temps opportun pour appuyer la réaffectation des ressources.

Les rapports financiers régionaux mensuels sont présentés au comité régional de gestion, pour discussion, examen et prise de décisions. Entre le service régional et le service ministériel des Finances, la coordination est permanente pour la détermination des besoins en ressources et la réponse à donner à ces besoins. Les besoins ou les excédents de la région sont identifiés, le service ministériel des Finances les rassemble et il les soumet aux éventuelles décisions de réaffectation du comité exécutif.

Rapports sur les résultats et le rendement

Critère: Les résultats des mesures du rendement dans la région sont documentés, rapportés à l’échelle ministérielle et pris en compte lors de la prise de décisions. Le contrôle permet d’évaluer la contribution des opérations régionales aux stratégies ministérielles globales, et on prend les mesures appropriées pour résorber les écarts observés par rapport aux buts et aux objectifs.

La région possède de bonnes pratiques et de bons processus de gestion concernant les rapports sur les résultats et le rendement. Sa direction et son personnel participent activement au processus de planification stratégique, à l’établissement de buts et d’objectifs, de plans et de priorités régionaux, d’objectifs de rendement et de stratégies ainsi que de mesures pour atteindre les objectifs de rendement. Ils sont engagés dans la surveillance et la communication des résultats par rapport aux stratégies et aux objectifs de rendement. Les buts et objectifs du ministère et de la région, les objectifs de rendement, les stratégies et les mesures sont précisés dans le plan stratégique régional. La région a fait officiellement connaître la voie à suivre pour la planification et la production de rapports, et sa direction et son personnel suivent les lignes directrices établies. On organise un atelier qui s’adresse à l’ensemble du personnel pour formuler des stratégies et des mesures pour les sous-activités du programme du ministère. Un atelier séparé est organisé pour l’élaboration de stratégies de gestion par le comité régional de gestion concernant le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion.

La région adopte le Cadre de mesure du rendement de DEO et elle communique ses résultats et ses objectifs à l’administration centrale pour la mesure du rendement du ministère. L’unité régionale de la Politique, de la planification et des relations extérieures rédige des rapports trimestriels de rendement. Le comité régional de gestion et le personnel sont activement engagés dans le processus de production de rapports.

Le comité régional de gestion évalue, au milieu de chaque exercice, chaque stratégie du plan stratégique. Au cours des troisième et quatrième trimestres, il réévalue son évaluation des stratégies et apporte les modifications nécessaires. Depuis le quatrième trimestre de 2009‑2010, la région a sensiblement rationalisé son rapport régional trimestriel sur le rendement. Un nouveau compte rendu trimestriel permet de souligner les objectifs de production de la région et ses résultats, les postes dits équivalents temps plein, les dépenses prévues, les engagements réels, les fonds dépensés et les principaux résultats obtenus en vertu des activités de tous les programmes. La situation de chaque stratégie est qualifiée de bonne, de perfectible ou d’à surveiller. On met également en évidence les mesures prévues pour réaliser les stratégies. Ces comptes rendus parlent également des objectifs et des résultats concernant la norme de service.

Les vérificateurs ont constaté que le compte rendu du quatrième trimestre de 2009‑2010 n’expliquait pas suffisamment les écarts notables par rapport aux objectifs et aux normes de service et ne précisait pas les mesures prévues de redressement. Plusieurs stratégies et mesures étaient censées devoir être surveillées; pourtant, les vérificateurs n’ont pas pu trouver de preuves écrites de mesures prévues de redressement ni d’explications des écarts. Ces explications et l’énoncé de ces mesures amélioreraient l’efficacité et l’utilité des rapports sur le rendement pour la prise de décisions par la haute direction de la région.

Recommandation no 1 : Que la région du Manitoba améliore son cadre d’établissement de rapports sur le rendement en expliquant les écarts notables par rapport aux objectifs établis ou aux normes de service et en précisant les mesures destinées à les résorber.

Traitement et codage des transactions

Critère : Les transactions financières sont correctement codées et sont traitées de façon efficace et opportune.

Les vérificateurs ont effectué un examen analytique du codage de toutes les subventions et contributions versées à des tiers pendant l’exercice 2009‑2010. Ils n’ont décelé aucun cas aberrant.

Les vérificateurs ont choisi un échantillon discrétionnaire de 20 transactions mettant en jeu des montants élevés et liées à tous les programmes de subventions et de contributions, ainsi que 5 transactions associées au fonctionnement et à l’entretien afin d’en examiner le traitement et le codage. Ils ont décelé un cas aberrant dans l’échantillon retenu. Il s’agit du codage des coûts d’un projet qui devait être classé sous la rubrique immobilisations, parce que c’était une dépense concernant des achats d’équipement pour un tiers qui était un organisme sans but lucratif. Or la transaction devait être codée sous la rubrique fonctionnement. Ce cas aberrant est à imputer à un contrôle insuffisant, qui est susceptible de survenir dans l’ensemble statistique. Cependant, ce codage ne paraît dans aucun des rapports financiers de la région et n’est pas susceptible d’avoir de répercussions substantielles.

Délégation de pouvoirs

Critère : Les personnes autorisées approuvent les transactions, conformément aux politiques, directives et lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor et du ministère.

Les paiements de l’échantillon examiné ont été approuvés par les employés de la région, à qui ont été adéquatement délégués les pouvoirs de signer des documents financiers. Les exigences en matière de formation, précisées dans la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la délégation de pouvoirs, ont été satisfaites. Le service régional des Finances vise à ce que les opérations soient conformes aux politiques, directives et lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor et du ministère relativement aux contrôles financiers.