Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Findings and Recommendations

Governance Structure and Strategic Directions

Criteria: An appropriate governance framework exists in the region to ensure fulfilment of their mandate aligned with departmental strategic objectives, plans and priorities. Policies and procedures are in place, consistent with Treasury Board policies and communicated to staff with financial management responsibilities. Regional oversight bodies have clearly defined mandates including terms of reference, which is well documented and appropriately communicated. The oversight bodies perform their responsibilities as required by the Terms of Reference. Regional and departmental strategic objectives, plans and priorities are effectively communicated to staff and other stakeholders.

The Alberta Senior Management Committee is responsible for providing overall management and strategic oversight for the region, to ensure outcomes are achieved, and to set priorities for the region to achieve those outcomes. The committee, chaired by the Assistant Deputy Minister, includes all executives and functional leads. The Senior Management Committee operates with terms of reference that outlines the mandate, outcomes, role, and membership of the committee. Agendas are prepared for the meetings which are held weekly. Minutes including records of decisions are prepared.

In addition to the Senior Management Committee in the Alberta Region, there is also a Grants and Contributions Committee. The terms of reference for this committee indicate the purpose of the committee is to act as a venue for collective review and advice on potential grants and contributions investments in the region. The Grants and Contributions Committee supports the due diligence process by providing assurance that projects funded are sound and support the strategic outcomes of the department. Membership of the committee which is chaired by the Director General Operations or a designate, include all interested Alberta Region staff. The committee typically meets once per month and records of decision are documented at those meetings.

The Assistant Deputy Minister has identified and posted his roles and responsibilities on the intranet where staff can access and read it. Regular town hall meetings were held in the region as a means of including all staff in regional issues.

Overall, the audit found that there was an appropriate governance framework in the region to support decision making in the region. Project officers were included in the decision making process through attendance at the regular Grants and Contributions Committee meetings. Town hall meetings solicited input from all regional staff.

Planning, Budgeting, Forecasting and Reporting

Criteria: Financial planning processes are in place to identify financial resource requirements and to develop annual budgets consistent with priorities. Financial policies, comprehensive monitoring and internal financial reporting that provides senior management with timely information, analysis, and options on resource utilization exist. Compliance with both Treasury Board and departmental policies is monitored in the region.

The region has processes to identify financial resource requirements for delivering on departmental priorities. Corporate Finance notifies the regions in writing of their budgets for grants and contributions, salaries, and operating and maintenance. The responsibility of the region is to determine how to allocate their regional budget within those basic categories given the particular priorities and programs of the region. For operating and maintenance and salaries, the base budget is determined considering historical data as well as anticipated additional fixed costs. The remaining amount is then allocated based on program requirements with a reserve set aside for future discussion and decision-making at Alberta Senior Management meetings. Input was solicited from all managers to identify priorities and pressures for their current year budgets. Grants and contributions budget allocations were determined as part of the regional planning process. Senior management established regional priorities in accordance with the corporate plan for the department.

The auditors observed a trend whereby the bulk of the funds allocated were spent in the final quarter of the year. During the 2009-2010 fiscal year, 81% of Alberta Region's expenditures for grants and contributions programs occurred in the last quarter of the year.

Criteria: Guidelines, tools, systems and data are available and adequate to support the allocation of resources in a consistent and transparent manner.

The region follows departmental requirements and guidelines for reporting of financial information and forecasts. Corporate Finance communicates guidelines to the regions for preparing headquarters reports, and a standardized reporting template is used. Alberta Region's financial results, budgeting and forecasting reports are prepared in accordance with these guidelines using the standardized template.

Regions are required to provide reports to Corporate Finance in accordance with the financial planning cycle requirements outlined in the management framework guidelines. Alberta Region prepared the required reports in accordance with the financial planning cycle. Corporate Finance coordinates regional reporting to ensure receipt of the required information on a timely basis for completion of financial reports for departmental Executive Committee approval.

Criteria: Financial monitoring reports are prepared on a periodic and timely basis and supported by sufficient evidence.

Regional Finance prepares monthly financial monitoring reports for operating and maintenance and salary to regional management. Budget and forecast data is entered in the financial system so the reporting system is able to provide managers information in real time. In addition, monthly budget reports are prepared which roll up the financial system data from the detailed level of the responsibility center to the executive summary branch level.

Grants and contribution reports are prepared in accordance with the financial planning cycle by the Finance Officer for reporting to Corporate Finance showing the year-end forecast. A separate set of reports are prepared monthly by the Manager of Monitoring and Payments for internal operational review showing the forecast at a point in time.
The internal reporting on grants and contributions is very comprehensive. In addition to monitoring commitments and expenditures against budget these reports aid in planning and project development. Individual projects and project status information under each subprogram area are linked to strategic outcomes. Detailed and high level summary information allows management to assess where they are on achieving strategic outcomes as well as look at the projects in development according to those outcomes.

The region follows Treasury Board and departmental policies to ensure that transactions entered are valid and accurate. Financial reports are prepared using the departmental financial information system data.

Criteria: A process is in place to review financial monitoring reports to reallocate resources as needed and to take corrective actions.

The auditors found that the Alberta Regional office has an active process in place to review financial monitoring reports in order to reallocate resources as needed and to take corrective action.

The Alberta Regional Finance team meets on a monthly basis with Regional Managers to discuss salary and operating and maintenance information, update forecasts and challenge managers to explain how unused free balances will be utilized. For grants and contributions, financial updates are provided at mid month and at month end and are also presented monthly to the Grants and Contributions Committee for discussion, review and decision making. The Grants and Contributions Committee meeting minutes are on a shared directory that can be accessed by all Alberta Region staff.

Alberta's forecasted information was very accurate at predicting year end actual results as the variance between actual and forecast at year end for salary and operating and maintenance was less than 1%.

Results and Performance Reporting

Criteria: Performance measurement results in the region are documented, reported corporately and factored into decision making. Monitoring to assess the success of regional operations in contributing to overall corporate strategies is undertaken and appropriate steps are taken in response to variances or deviations from goals and objectives.

The Alberta Region has good management practices and processes related to results and performance reporting. Regional senior managers, middle managers and staff are actively involved in the business planning process, including establishing regional goals, objectives, plans and priorities, strategies and performance targets. Managers are actively engaged in monitoring and reporting results against established performance targets, planned strategies and actions.

The Alberta Region adopts the departmental Performance Measurement Framework and provides annual regional output and outcome targets to Headquarters for corporate performance measurement. The performance targets are well-documented and appropriately approved. The region prepares mid-year and third quarter performance reports, monthly grants and contributions status reports and year-end grants and contributions results summary. The performance results are communicated in the region through meetings and e-mail. The region shares its performance reports with other regions and Headquarters through the departmental Performance Integration Team comprised of regional and corporate staff members. There is a process in place to effectively monitor the departmental service standards related to grants and contributions.

The auditors reviewed the mid-year, third quarter performance reports, and year-end grants and contributions results summary for 2009-2010. The mid-year and third quarter reports provided clear assessment of the region's performance against business plans and strategies, and established output targets. However, the outcome results, reasons for significant variances from output targets, and any actions planned to address the gaps were not included in the reports. In addition, the reports did not specify the planned actions for the strategies that were at risk and required management attention to meet the targets by fiscal year-end. The year-end grants and contributions results summary included the output results and key achievements but not the outcome results and the assessment of strategies adopted. The regional discussions of the progress of the business plans, strategies, output targets and variances were documented in the minutes of the grants and contributions meetings. However, the outcome results, reasons for significant variances from output targets and planned actions to meet targets were not contained in the minutes.

Performance reporting would be more effective and useful for regional senior management's decision making if outcome results, reasons for significant variances from established targets and actions planned to address any gaps are reported and documented.

Recommendation # 1: The Alberta Region should enhance its performance reporting framework by:

  • tracking and reporting on results against outcome targets, and
  • documenting the reasons for any significant variances and actions planned to address the gaps.

Transaction Processing and Coding

Criteria: Financial transactions are coded correctly and processed in an efficient and timely manner.

Internal Audit selected a judgemental sample of 20 transactions from all grants and contributions programs and five transactions from operations and maintenance for review of transaction processing and coding. The coding for the individual sample payments examined was accurate. No exceptions were identified.

In addition to the sample selected, auditors performed an analytical review of coding for all third party grants and contributions payments for fiscal year 2009-2010. The auditors found the coding to be accurate for three of the four third party delivery programs. The coding allocation for the Community Futures Network was not compliant with the program guidelines, resulting in an immaterial misstatement of reported strategic outcomes.

Delegation of Authorities

Criteria: Authorized individuals approve transactions in compliance with Treasury Board and departmental policies, directives and guidelines.

The sample payments examined had the approval of regional staff with proper financial signing authority. The training requirements of Treasury Board policy for delegation of authorities have been met. Regional Finance actively monitors compliance with Treasury Board and departmental policies, directives and guidelines related to financial controls.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Constatations et recommandations

Structure de gouvernance et orientations stratégiques

Critère : La région dispose d’un cadre de gouvernance approprié afin de s’assurer que son mandat reflète les objectifs stratégiques, les plans et les priorités du ministère. Des politiques et des procédures, conformes aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor, sont en place et sont communiquées aux employés qui assument des responsabilités en matière de gestion financière. Les organismes régionaux de surveillance possèdent des mandats clairs, qui sont bien étayés et qui sont bien communiqués. Ils s’acquittent de leurs responsabilités conformément à leur mandat. Les objectifs stratégiques, les plans et les priorités de la région et du ministère sont efficacement communiqués aux employés et aux autres intervenants.

Le comité de la haute direction est chargé de la gestion et de la surveillance stratégique générale de la région, pour assurer l’atteinte des résultats et fixer les priorités à cette fin pour la région. Présidé par le sous-ministre adjoint, il comprend tous les cadres et les administrateurs fonctionnels. Son cadre de référence expose son mandat, ses résultats, son rôle et sa composition. Des ordres du jour sont préparés pour ses réunions hebdomadaires. On en rédige le procès-verbal, qui comprend le compte rendu des décisions.

La région compte également un comité des subventions et contributions, chargé, d’après son mandat, de l’examen collectif et de la prestation de conseils sur les éventuelles subventions et contributions dans la région. Le comité appuie le processus de diligence raisonnable en donnant l’assurance que les projets financés sont sérieux et qu’ils contribuent aux résultats stratégiques du ministère. Présidé par le directeur général des opérations ou un remplaçant désigné, le comité comprend tout le personnel intéressé de la région de l’Alberta. Généralement, il se réunit une fois par mois. On dresse, à cette occasion, le compte rendu de ses décisions.

Le sous-ministre adjoint a identifié ses rôles et responsabilités sur l’intranet, où le personnel peut en prendre connaissance. On a organisé dans la région des assemblées publiques où tous les employés peuvent discuter des enjeux régionaux.

Dans l’ensemble, la vérification a permis de constater que, dans la région, la structure de gouvernance appuyait la prise de décisions. Des agents de projet ont participé au processus de décisions en assistant aux réunions régulières du comité des subventions et contributions. Les réunions publiques des employés ont permis de faire participer tout le personnel de la région.

Planification, établissement de budgets et de prévisions, production de rapports

Critère : Des processus de planification financière sont en place pour préciser les besoins en matière de ressources financières et élaborer des budgets annuels qui tiennent compte des priorités. Des politiques financières, des rapports financiers internes et des rapports de contrôle complets permettent à la haute direction de recevoir de l’information, des analyses et des options opportunes sur l’utilisation des ressources. La conformité aux politiques du ministère et du Conseil du Trésor fait l’objet d’une surveillance dans la région.

La région a mis en place des processus pour cerner les besoins financiers afin de concrétiser les priorités du ministère. Le service ministériel des Finances informe les régions par écrit des budgets qui leur sont alloués pour les subventions et contributions, les salaires, le fonctionnement et l’entretien. Il incombe à la région de déterminer la répartition de son budget en fonction des principales rubriques établies pour ses priorités et programmes. Pour le fonctionnement et l’entretien ainsi que les salaires, le budget de base tient compte des budgets antérieurs ainsi que des frais fixes supplémentaires prévus. Le reliquat est alors alloué en fonction des besoins des programmes, un montant étant mis de côté, pour discussion et décision futures aux réunions de la haute direction régionale. On a demandé à tous les gestionnaires de cerner les priorités et les facteurs de pression qui s’exercent sur les budgets de l’exercice en cours. Le budget des subventions et contributions a été déterminé dans le cadre du processus de planification régionale. La haute direction a établi les priorités régionales conformément au plan intégré du ministère.

Les vérificateurs ont noté une tendance qui fait que la plupart des fonds alloués ont été dépensés au cours du dernier trimestre de l’exercice. En 2009-2010, 81 % des dépenses de la région au poste des programmes de subventions et de contributions ont eu lieu au cours du dernier trimestre.

Critère : Des lignes directrices, des outils, des systèmes et des données permettent de bien étayer l’allocation des ressources de façon uniforme et transparente.

La région observe les exigences et lignes directrices du ministère en ce qui concerne la production de rapports et les prévisions financières. Le service ministériel des Finances communique aux régions les lignes directrices à suivre pour la préparation des rapports destinés à l’administration centrale, pour lesquels on utilise un modèle normalisé. Les rapports de la région sur les résultats financiers, l’établissement des budgets et les prévisions sont préparés conformément aux lignes directrices, à l’aide du modèle.

Les régions doivent produire les rapports conformément au cycle de planification financière décrit dans les lignes directrices régissant le cadre de gestion. La région de l’Alberta s’est pliée à cette exigence. Le service ministériel des Finances coordonne la production des rapports régionaux afin d’obtenir les renseignements exigés en temps opportun pour la réalisation des rapports financiers à soumettre à l’approbation du comité exécutif du ministère.

Critère : Les rapports de contrôle financier sont produits périodiquement et de façon opportune, étayés par suffisamment d’éléments probants.

Le service régional des Finances prépare les rapports mensuels de contrôle financier sur les frais de fonctionnement et d’entretien ainsi que les salaires. Ces rapports sont destinés à la direction régionale. Les données budgétaires et prévisionnelles sont saisies dans le système financier de manière à ce que le système de production de rapports puisse renseigner les gestionnaires en temps réel. En outre, les rapports mensuels sur le budget rassemblent les données détaillées des systèmes financiers, au niveau du centre de responsabilité, pour les synthétiser en un sommaire destiné au niveau de la direction générale.

Les rapports sur les subventions et contributions sont préparés conformément au cycle de planification financière, par l’agent financier, pour communiquer au service ministériel des Finances les prévisions de fin d’exercice. Un jeu séparé de rapports est préparé mensuellement par le gestionnaire de la surveillance et des paiements, pour examen opérationnel interne, dans lequel il fait le point sur les prévisions à un moment donné.
Les rapports internes sur les subventions et contributions sont très complets. Outre la surveillance des engagements et des dépenses par rapport au budget, ces rapports aident à planifier le développement et à en faire des projections. Chaque projet dépendant de chaque sous‑programme et l’information relative à sa situation sont reliés à des résultats stratégiques. Des renseignements détaillés et sommaires à haut niveau permettent à la direction de faire le point de sa progression vers l’atteinte des résultats stratégiques, de même que d’examiner les projets de développement en fonction de ces résultats.

La région se conforme aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du ministère pour assurer la validité et l’exactitude des transactions saisies. Les rapports financiers s’appuient sur les données du système d’information financière du ministère.

Critère : un processus est en place pour examiner les rapports de contrôle financier afin de permettre la réaffectation des ressources, au besoin, et d’appliquer des mesures correctives.

Les vérificateurs ont constaté que le bureau régional de l’Alberta disposait d’un processus efficace pour examiner les rapports de contrôle financier afin de modifier, au besoin, l’allocation des ressources et d’appliquer des mesures correctives.

L’équipe des finances de la région de l’Alberta rencontre mensuellement les gestionnaires de la région pour discuter de l’information sur les salaires ainsi que les frais de fonctionnement et d’entretien, actualiser les prévisions et amener les gestionnaires à expliquer comment seront utilisés les soldes inutilisés disponibles. En ce qui concerne les subventions et contributions, des actualisations financières sont produites à toutes les quinzaines, puis communiquées mensuellement au comité des subventions et contributions pour discussion, examen et décision. Le procès-verbal des réunions du comité est archivé dans un répertoire partagé accessible à tout le personnel de la région.

L’Alberta a été en mesure prévoir de façon très juste les résultats de fin d’exercice, l’écart avec la réalité des salaires ainsi que des frais de fonctionnement et d’entretien ayant été de moins de 1 %.

Rapports sur les résultats et le rendement

Critère : Les résultats des mesures du rendement dans la région sont étayés, communiqués à l’échelle du ministère, et il en est tenu compte dans la prise de décisions. On procède à un contrôle pour évaluer le succès des opérations régionales dans leur contribution aux stratégies ministérielles globales, et on prend les mesures appropriées pour remédier aux écarts observés relativement aux buts et aux objectifs.

La région de l’Alberta possède de bonnes pratiques et de bons processus de gestion en ce qui concerne les rapports sur les résultats et le rendement. La haute direction régionale, les gestionnaires intermédiaires et le personnel participent tous activement au processus de planification stratégique, y compris à l’établissement de buts, d’objectifs, de plans et de priorités régionales, de stratégies et d’objectifs de rendement. Les gestionnaires sont mobilisés dans la surveillance et la communication des résultats en fonction des objectifs établis de rendement, des stratégies et des mesures prévues.

La région de l’Alberta adopte le cadre de mesure du rendement du ministère et communique à l’administration centrale les objectifs annuels de résultat et de production de la région pour la mesure intégrée du rendement. Les objectifs de rendement sont bien documentés et convenablement approuvés. La région prépare les rapports sur le rendement de mi-exercice et du troisième trimestre, les rapports mensuels provisoires sur les subventions et contributions ainsi que le sommaire de fin d’exercice sur les résultats concernant les subventions et contributions. Les résultats sur le rendement sont communiqués dans la région à la faveur de réunions et par courriel. La région communique ses rapports sur le rendement à d’autres régions et à l’administration centrale, par le truchement de l’équipe ministérielle d’intégration du rendement, constituée de membres du personnel des régions et des services intégrés. Un processus est en place pour surveiller de façon efficace les normes de service du ministère touchant les subventions et contributions.

Les vérificateurs ont examiné les rapports sur le rendement de mi-exercice et du troisième trimestre, le sommaire des résultats de fin d’exercice sur les subventions et contributions, pour l’exercice 2009-2010. Les rapports de mi-exercice et du troisième trimestre ont permis une évaluation claire du rendement de la région par rapport aux plans d’activités et aux stratégies ainsi qu’aux objectifs établis de production. Cependant, ces rapports ne disaient rien des résultats visés, des raisons expliquant les écarts importants par rapport aux objectifs de production et des mesures correctives éventuelles. En outre, ils ne précisaient pas les mesures prévues pour les stratégies menacées d’échec et l’attention que la direction devait leur apporter pour atteindre les objectifs d’ici la fin de l’exercice. Le sommaire des résultats de fin d’exercice concernant les subventions et contributions traitait des résultats produits et des principales réalisations mais ne disait rien des résultats visés ni de l’évaluation des stratégies adoptées. Les discussions tenues au niveau régional sur l’évolution des plans d’activités, des stratégies, des objectifs de production et les écarts étaient reproduites dans le procès-verbal des réunions sur les subventions et contributions. Cependant, ces procès-verbaux étaient muets sur les résultats visés, ils n’expliquaient pas les écarts importants par rapport aux objectifs de production et ils ne mentionnaient pas les mesures prévues de redressement.

Les rapports sur le rendement seraient plus efficaces et utiles pour la prise de décisions par la haute direction régionale si les résultats visés, l’explication des écarts importants par rapport aux objectifs établis et les mesures prévues de redressement étaient signalés et étayés.

Recommandation no 1 : La région de l’Alberta devrait améliorer son cadre d’établissement de rapports sur le rendement par les moyens suivants :

  • en faisant le suivi des résultats par rapport aux objectifs visés et en faisant rapport sur ces résultats;
  • en expliquant les écarts notables et les mesures prévues de redressement.

Traitement et codage des transactions

Critère : Les transactions financières sont codées correctement et traitées efficacement et rapidement.

Les vérificateurs ont choisi un échantillon discrétionnaire composé de 20 transactions dans les programmes de subventions et de contributions et de 5 transactions relatives au fonctionnement et à l’entretien, afin d’en examiner le traitement et le codage. Le codage de chaque paiement de l’échantillon était juste, sans aucune exception.

Outre l’échantillon choisi, les vérificateurs ont effectué un examen analytique du codage de tous les paiements de subventions et de contributions à des tiers pendant l’exercice 2009-2010. Ils ont constaté que le codage était exact pour trois des quatre programmes exécutés par des tiers. Le codage du Réseau des sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités n’était pas conforme aux lignes directrices du programme, ce qui s’est traduit par un énoncé erroné, mais sans grande importance, des résultats stratégiques annoncés.

Délégation de pouvoirs

Critère : Les personnes autorisées approuvent les transactions, conformément aux politiques, directives et lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor et du ministère.

Les échantillons de paiements examinés étaient autorisés par le personnel de la région possédant le pouvoir nécessaire de signature. Les exigences de la politique du Conseil du Trésor en matière de formation pour la délégation des pouvoirs étaient respectées. Le service régional des Finances surveille activement le respect des politiques, directives et lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor et du ministère concernant les contrôles financiers.