Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Governance

The WD Internal Audit Charter was most recently approved by the Deputy Minister in March 2009. The Departmental Audit Committee reviews the charter on a periodic basis. The charter establishes and defines the purpose and scope of the Internal Audit function within WD. The charter establishes Internal Audit’s purpose, authority, responsibilities, accountability, independence, and objectivity within WD. The Internal Audit function is further guided by the standards of internal audit practices adopted by the Government of Canada, which include the standards of the Institute of Internal Auditors.

The Departmental Audit Committee is an essential part of the Department’s governance structure and audit regime. The Audit Committee ensures that the Deputy Minister has independent and objective advice on the adequacy of the Department's control and accountability processes. The Audit Committee exercises active oversight of core areas of departmental control and accountability in an integrated and systematic manner.

WD’s Audit Committee consists of an external chair, two external members, and the Deputy Minister in an ex-officio capacity. The Chief Audit Executive reports directly and exclusively to the Deputy Minister.

Organization

The Internal Audit activity is a function within the Audit and Evaluation branch at WD.

Audit and Evaluation Branch – Organizational Chart

Audit and Evaluation Branch – Organizational Chart

Role of Internal Audit

The primary role of Internal Audit is to provide independent and objective assurance and consulting activity designed to add value and improve WD’s operations. Internal Audit helps WD to accomplish its strategic objectives by bringing systematic, disciplined approach to evaluate and improve the effectiveness of:

  • Risk management;
  • Control; and
  • Governance practices.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Gouvernance

La Charte de vérification interne de DEO a été récemment approuvée par le sous-ministre, en mars 2009. Le Comité ministériel de vérification révise la Charte régulièrement. La Charte précise et définit le but et la portée de la fonction de Vérification interne au sein de DEO. La Charte établit le but, les pouvoirs, les responsabilités, l’obligation de rendre compte, l’indépendance et l’objectivité de Vérification interne au sein de DEO. La fonction de Vérification interne est également guidée par les normes relatives aux pratiques de vérification interne adoptées par le gouvernement du Canada, qui comprennent les normes de l’Institut des vérificateurs internes.

Le Comité ministériel de vérification est une composante essentielle de la structure de gouvernance du Ministère et de son système de vérification. Le Comité veille à ce que le sous-ministre reçoive un avis indépendant et objectif sur le caractère adéquat des processus de contrôle et de reddition de comptes. Le Comité exerce une supervision active, de façon intégrée et systématique, des principaux secteurs de contrôle et de responsabilité du Ministère.

Le Comité de vérification de DEO comprend un président externe, deux membres externes et le sous-ministre, qui agit d’office. Le dirigeant principal de la vérification DPV relève directement et exclusivement du sous-ministre.

Organisation

Vérification interne relève de la Direction générale de la vérification et de l’évaluation de DEO.

Direction générale de la vérification et de l’évaluation – Organigramme

Direction générale de la vérification et de l’évaluation – Organigramme

Rôle de Vérification interne

Le rôle principal de Vérification interne est de fournir des services de certification et des conseils indépendants et objectifs destinés à augmenter la valeur des activités de DEO et à les améliorer. Vérification interne aide DEO à atteindre ses objectifs stratégiques en adoptant une approche systématique et rigoureuse afin d’évaluer et d’améliorer l’efficacité des éléments suivants :

  • la gestion des risques;
  • le contrôle;
  • les pratiques de gestion.