Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Introduction

The Risk Based Audit Plan defines the approach that Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) has used to identify and select upcoming audits from the WD audit universe. This Risk Based Audit Plan covers the three-year period of 2011-12 to 2013-14. It provides the direction and authority for the scope, objectives and timing of internal audits and their associated resources.

The following are the major characteristics of this plan:

  • This internal audit plan is multi-year (three years) and will be updated on a regular, periodic basis;
  • The plan uses a risk-based methodology, including identification of an audit universe, risk assessment and prioritization of potential areas of planned audit work;
  • The planned audit coverage addresses areas of highest identified risk over the life of the plan, and takes into consideration planned Office of the Comptroller General horizontal audit activity and other federal government assurance providers activities;
  • The plan identifies audit projects, their rationale, timetable, and associated resources. The focus is on audit assurance work; and
  • The audit plan has been reviewed and recommended by the department audit committee to the Deputy Minister, who in turn approved it and provided a copy to the Comptroller General.

Purpose

Risk based audit planning is a systematic process whereby auditable entities are identified, prioritized and scheduled for the conduct of audit activities. The plan identifies the priorities of the internal audit activity over the three-year period of 2011 to 2014.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Introduction

Le Plan de vérification axé sur les risques définit la perspective utilisée par Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) pour déterminer et choisir les prochaines vérifications pour DEO. Le Plan couvre une période de trois exercices, de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014. Il donne l’orientation des vérifications internes à mener et en précise la portée, les objectifs et le calendrier, ainsi que les ressources qui seront nécessaires pour les réaliser.

Les principales caractéristiques du plan sont les suivantes :

  • il est pluriannuel (trois ans) et sera mis à jour périodiquement;
  • il repose sur une méthode axée sur les risques qui comprend la définition d’un univers de vérification, l’évaluation des risques et la hiérarchisation des secteurs potentiels à vérifier;
  • l’étendue prévue de ces vérifications tient compte des secteurs où les risques sont jugés les plus élevés pendant la durée du plan, ainsi que des activités prévues de vérification horizontale menées par le Bureau du contrôleur général et d’autres activités des certificateurs du gouvernement fédéral;
  • il décrit les projets de vérification, leur justification, leur calendrier et les ressources connexes (en mettant l’accent sur le travail de certification);
  • il a été examiné par le Comité ministériel de vérification et recommandé par ce dernier au sous-ministre, qui l’a approuvé et en a remis un exemplaire au contrôleur général.

Objet

La planification de la vérification axée sur les risques est un procédé systématique où les entités à vérifier sont déterminées, hiérarchisées et inscrites dans un calendrier. Le plan fixe les priorités en matière de vérification interne pour la période s’étalant sur trois exercices, de 2011 à 2014.