Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Building Capacity for Defence Procurement Opportunities

What are Industrial and Technological Benefits?

The Industrial and Technological Benefits (ITB) Policy was announced in February 2014 as part of the Government of Canada’s Defence Procurement Strategy (DPS) to ensure that federal defence and security procurement is leveraged to create jobs and economic growth in Canada. A core element of the ITB policy is a rated and weighted Value Proposition component under which bidders compete on the basis of the economic benefits to Canada associated with defence procurement projects.

Industry Canada is responsible for the administration of the ITB Policy, as well as the previous Industrial and Regional Benefits (IRB) policy that will continue to be applied to procurement contracts awarded prior to the February 2014 announcement of the DPS.

What’s the WD connection?

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is mandated through the Western Economic Diversification Act, to “guide, promote and coordinate the policies and programs, including those related to industrial benefits, of the Government of Canada in relation to the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada.”

WD fulfills this mandate by:

  • Developing and implementing the Value Proposition and ITB requirements through providing information on company capabilities, and services, and capacities of industry in Western Canada;
  • Participating in the review and evaluation of the Value Proposition and ITB plans for Canadian defence and security procurements;
  • Connecting global companies that have ITB obligations with world-class Canadian capabilities and technologies; and,
  • Working to support Canadian companies in their efforts to export into foreign defence and aerospace markets.

How can small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) get involved?

It can be challenging for SMEs to participate in global value chains, as prime contractors are increasingly seeking to work with larger companies that have the capacity to undertake Research and Development (R&D) and share in project risks. However, under the ITB policy, prime contractors will be expected to involve SMEs in fulfilling generally 15% of their ITB obligation, and may encounter incentives to exceed this floor. SMEs can ensure their capabilities are known by taking advantage of early engagement opportunities such as Industry Days; following the Government Procurement website; reviewing the Defence Acquisition Guide developed by the Department of National Defence; and engaging with a WD defence procurement contact.

What opportunities are available?

Federal defence procurement projects provide significant business opportunities for Canadian industry. The opportunities available depend on the value of the contracts awarded and the amount of unallocated ITB or IRB obligations of the prime contractor.
Please visit the Industry Canada website for more information on current and potential ITB projects, as well as previous projects with IRB opportunities.

Who can I contact for more information?

WD Regional Offices have lead officers that are the best points of contact for western Canadian companies. For additional information on defence procurement, please contact us at the regional office in your area:

British Columbia

Evin Lebrun
Telephone: (604) 562-8392
E-mail: evin.lebrun@canada.ca

Katrina Siddons
Telephone: (604) 363-0301
E-mail: katrina.siddons@canada.ca

Alberta

Elliot Hewitt
Telephone: (780) 495-8679
E-mail: elliot.hewitt@canada.ca

Saskatchewan

Rick LaBrash
Telephone: (306) 203-0985
E-mail: rick.labrash@canada.ca

Manitoba

Brent DePape
Telephone: (204) 227-3833
E-mail: brent.depape@canada.ca

Ottawa

Andrew Fraser
Telephone: (613) 325-9159
E-mail: andrew.fraser@canada.ca

Peter Hoek
Telephone: (613) 220-4489
E-mail: peter.hoek@canada.ca

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Renforcement des capacités relatives aux possibilités de marchés de défense

Quelles sont les retombées industrielles et régionales?

La Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques (RIT) a été annoncée en février 2014 dans le cadre de la Stratégie d’approvisionnement en matière de défense (SAMD) du gouvernement du Canada pour faire en sorte que l’approvisionnement fédéral en matière de défense et de sécurité crée des emplois et favorise la croissance économique au Canada. La proposition de valeur pondérée et cotée constitue un élément de base de la Politique des RIT au moyen de laquelle les soumissionnaires rivalisent quant aux retombées économiques que peuvent produire les projets d’approvisionnement en matière de défense au Canada.

Industrie Canada est chargé d’administrer la Politique des RIT ainsi que la précédente Politique des retombées industrielles et régionales (RIR), qui continuera d’être appliquée aux contrats d’approvisionnement attribués avant l’annonce de la SAMD, en février 2014.

Quel est le rôle de DEO?

De par son mandat, tel qu’il est défini dans la Loi sur la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, DEO « oriente, valorise et coordonne la politique et les programmes du gouvernement du canada en matière de développement et de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, et notamment en ce qui concerne les retombées industrielles ». DEO accomplit son mandat de la manière suivante :

  • en formulant et en mettant en application les exigences relatives aux RIT et à la proposition de valeur en fournissant de l’information sur les compétences, les capacités et les services des entreprises de l’industrie de l’Ouest canadien;
  • en participant à l’examen et à l’évaluation des plans de RIT et de proposition de valeur pour les approvisionnements en matière de défense et de sécurité du Canada;
  • en faisant la promotion des capacités et technologies de calibre mondial du Canada auprès d’entreprises internationales qui ont des obligations au titre de la Politique des RIT;
  • en soutenant les entreprises canadiennes dans leurs efforts visant à exporter sur les marchés de la défense et de l’aérospatiale étrangers.

Comment les PME peuvent-elles participer?

Pour les PME, il peut s’avérer difficile de participer aux chaînes de valeur internationales, car les entrepreneurs de premier plan souhaitent de plus en plus travailler avec de plus grandes entreprises capables de lancer des activités de recherche et développement (R-D) et de partager les risques inhérents aux projets. Cependant, au titre de la Politique des RIT, les entrepreneurs de premier plan devront permettre aux PME de remplir généralement 15 % de leur obligation liée à cette politique et pourraient se voir proposer des incitatifs pour dépasser ce seuil. Les PME peuvent veiller à faire connaître leurs capacités en tirant parti de possibilités d’engagement précoce, telles les Journées de consultation de l’industrie, en consultant régulièrement le site Web du gouvernement sur l’approvisionnement, en examinant le Guide d'acquisition de la défense élaboré par le ministère de la Défense nationale et en discutant avec une personne-ressource de DEO chargée des approvisionnements en matière de défense.

Quelles sont les possibilités offertes?

Les projets fédéraux d’approvisionnement en matière de défense offrent d’importants débouchés commerciaux à l’industrie canadienne. Ces débouchés dépendent de la valeur des contrats adjugés et du montant des obligations de l’entrepreneur de premier plan liées aux RIT et aux RIR qui ne sont pas encore attribuées.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les projets de RIT actuels et potentiels ainsi que sur les projets antérieurs liés aux possibilités de RIR, veuillez visiter le site Web d’Industrie Canada.

À qui puis-je m’adresser pour obtenir plus de renseignements?

Dans les bureaux régionaux, des agents responsables des RIT et aux RIR sont disponibles pour répondre aux questions des entreprises de l’Ouest canadien. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’approvisionnement en matière de défense, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de DEO de votre région :

Colombie-Britannique

Evin Lebrun
Téléphone : 604-562-8392
Courriel : evin.lebrun@canada.ca

Katrina Siddons
Téléphone : 604-363-0301
Courriel : katrina.siddons@canada.ca

Alberta

Elliot Hewitt
Téléphone : 780-495-8679
Courriel : elliot.hewitt@canada.ca

Saskatchewan

Rick LaBrash
Téléphone : 306-203-0985
Courriel : rick.labrash@canada.ca

Manitoba

Brent DePape
Téléphone : 204-227-3833
Courriel : brent.depape@canada.ca

Ottawa

Andrew Fraser
Téléphone : 613-325-9159
Courriel : andrew.fraser@canada.ca

Peter Hoek
Téléphone : 613-220-4489
Courriel : peter.hoek@canada.ca