Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Section I: Organizational Overview

Organizational Profile

  • Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development:
    The Honourable Navdeep Bains, P.C., M.P.
  • Minister of Science:
    The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, P.C., M.P.
  • Minister of Small Business and Tourism and Leader of the Government in the House of Commons:
    The Honourable Bardish Chagger, P.C., M.P.
  • Institutional Head:
    Dylan Jones
    • Daphne Meredith (responsible Deputy Minister for 2015-16)

  • Ministerial Portfolio:
    Innovation, Science and Economic Development
  • Enabling Instrument:
    Western Economic Diversification Act : link 1,v R.S.C. 1985, c.11, (4th Supplement)

  • Year of Incorporation / Commencement:

  • Other:
    On August 4, 1987, Western Economic Diversification Canada was created as a special operating agency and officially became a federal department through the Western Economic Diversification Act : link 2, which came into force June 28, 1988.

    Headquarters - Edmonton, Alberta

    Offices - Vancouver, British Columbia
    Edmonton and Calgary, Alberta
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Ottawa, Ontario