Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Section I: Organizational Expenditure Overview

Organizational Profile

Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development
The Honourable Navdeep Bains, P.C., M.P.

  • The Honourable Rona Ambrose, P.C., M.P. (responsible Minister for 2014-15)
  • The Honourable Michelle Rempel, P.C., M.P. (responsible Minister of State for 2014-15)

Minister of Science:
The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, P.C., M.P.

Minister of Small Business and Tourism:
The Honourable Bardish Chagger, P.C., M.P.

Deputy Head: Daphne Meredith

Ministerial Portfolio:
Western Economic Diversification Canada

Enabling Instrument: Western Economic Diversification Act[i]

Year of Incorporation / Commencement: 1987

WD was created on August 4, 1987 as a special operating agency and officially became a federal department through the Western Economic Diversification Act, which came into force June 28, 1988.

Headquarters: Edmonton, Alberta

Vancouver, BC
Edmonton and Calgary, AB
Saskatoon, SK
Winnipeg, MB
Ottawa, ON